ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Review Of The ORION 46 Class LED-LCD HDTV

Updated on February 13, 2013
Took this pic from my Orion TV, nice, Right?
Took this pic from my Orion TV, nice, Right? | Source
Looking at a part of the menu screen.
Looking at a part of the menu screen. | Source

ORION HDTV Is A Great Buy.

I was at Walmart shopping for a new TV and was surprised to see that they had an ORION HDTV. To be exact the ORION 46" Class LED-LCD HDTV. I was interested right away, as I had owned an ORION some years ago, before they came out with flat screen TV's. I owned it for quite a few years, before giving it away, while still in good working order.

Anyway I had intended to buy a vizio or Samsung TV, that is until I saw the ORION HDTV, which is 46 inches, verses the Vizio which was 42 inches, and the Samsung which was 40 inches. Plus the ORION was on sale, cheaper than both of the other two TV's. So knowing ORION was a good brand I went ahead and bought it. I was definitely not disappointed. I have owned the ORION 46" Class LED-LCD HDTV for a little over three weeks now, and just love this TV. The picture is so clear and crisp, the colors are so vibrant, and you can really tell, as I watch a lot of cooking shows, and just looking at the food makes me just want to sit down and eat it.

So I got the TV home, and out of the box, and attached the base, which is only 5 screws ,and a phillip screwdriver. I plugged the cord into the back of the TV, and hooked up the cable, and put the batteries in the remote control. I turned the TV on and began the setup process., which was very easy, and I followed the instructions in the booklet which comes with the TV. You should always read the instructions first, so you know what you are doing.

About The ORION HDTV:

The Features:

*** Intergrated Digital Tuner ( ATSC, Clear QAM )

*** Mercury Free

*** USB Playback ( JPEG/ Motion JPEG )

*** 3D comb filter

*** HDMI/ Component/ PC Input

*** Headphone/ Digital audio output ( coaxial )

More Features:

*** Convenience functions

*** Channel setup

*** Labeling channels

*** Setting the Lock

*** Closed caption

*** CC options

*** Aspect Ratio

*** Media playback

A lot more features, that I have not listed, but good deal for the $$'s!


Now we have the TV already, and we turn it on. The first thing that comes on the screen is the "Setup Wizard" menu, and this will assist you with the air/ cable hookup setting, and will automatically program the channels for you. The booklet will tell you everything you need to do all this. It is simple as that. I really don't want to bore you with everything that can be done on the Orion HDTV. Nobody ever remembers all that stuff anyway.


If you need more information on the company. They are located in Olney, Illinois, and you can visit the website at www.sansuiproducts.com They are also available for additional help and customer service.

So all in all, I just have to say once again, how very happy I am with my Orion HDTV, and I still have yet to explore all the features that this TV has to offer, but I am looking forward to finding out. But until then, I will so enjoy watching my Orion!! One word of advice however, try to always read reviews or go with what you know when picking out any product, even reliable word of mouth is a good thing. This is what I go by. Well see ya all, till my next product review, so stay tuned.



Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      ggraue 4 years ago

      How do I get the white rings (1/4 circle rings show on black screen/dark colors) to go away?

    • profile image

      Unsatisfied 4 years ago

      I bought it last week..beautiful picture but volume is not do good...thinking about returning

    • lucybell21 profile image
      Author

      Bonny OBrien 4 years ago from Troy, N.Y.

      Really? The volume on mine is great! As with any cable station it can vary in the sound volume. We have 3 T.V.'s in my home, and all are different. Though it could just be that you could get another T.V. of the same brand. I have found with other brand products, things can be inco nsistant.

    • profile image

      Cody 4 years ago

      Seems to lag on games

    • lucybell21 profile image
      Author

      Bonny OBrien 4 years ago from Troy, N.Y.

      Sorry Cody I don't play games on mine at the moment, but was thinking of getting a wii. What kind of games do you play, and do you rely on your local cable company for your connection.

    • profile image

      Cody 4 years ago

      Since a wii doesn't have a hdmi port it might look funny. I don't have Internet at the moment. I use a ps3. So if you want to play wii games in hd just get a wiiu because it also plays regular wii games.

    • profile image

      jdc 4 years ago

      Great for the $. Good picture, fyi different volume setting on menu setup. Try the difference.

    • profile image

      Norsegod 4 years ago

      Thanks for the info... They have this Orion 46" LED TV on Groupon for $299.00, which is a great price! As far as volume, most modern TV's have crappy sound... I think it is because they expect that you are going to connect them to a surround sound system. And if you do, sound is not an issue... However, most modern TVs use really crappy speakers, which is why the sound is bad.

    • lucybell21 profile image
      Author

      Bonny OBrien 4 years ago from Troy, N.Y.

      Norsegod. I have to say the sound on mine is good. I am more about an awesome picture and color to be honest.

    • profile image

      Kim 4 years ago

      I'm having problems with playing games (COD Black Ops 1/2) online and offline on the PS3. Is their away to fix this?

    • profile image

      Amber Linquist 3 years ago

      I bought a 46inch t.v. at walmart and am having trouble with it. I got it in late feb.of this year. Could some one contact me 952 290 6124

    • profile image

      Ashley 3 years ago

      DON'T GET ONE!

      It's okay for the price. Volume does suck. BUT!! Mine broke and I only had it for 10 months. Nothing happened- it just decided not to turn on anymore. When I called Orion, they weren't surprised and even said there was a back order on the part needed to fix it. So obviously lots of their tv's are duds.

    • lucybell21 profile image
      Author

      Bonny OBrien 3 years ago from Troy, N.Y.

      I am sorry to hear that. I have had mine for over a year with no problems at all. It's a hard choice when choosing a product. I always read reviews before buying something. And I have found every product seems to have something wrong with it. Some turn out to be duds.while others may last for years.

    • profile image

      Amber 2 years ago

      I have a 46in orion as well, bought it at Walmart about 1 1/2 yrs ago, I loved it till about a week ago, when I turned it on the screen would blink then it would be fine, now I have sound but a black screen, not sure what the problem is, or even to contact to find out what is wrong, help me please!

    • lucybell21 profile image
      Author

      Bonny OBrien 2 years ago from Troy, N.Y.

      Wow Amber sorry to hear about your TV. I have no idea what could be wrong with it.perhaps you could contact the company

    • profile image

      amber 2 years ago

      Do you know the number to the company?

    • lucybell21 profile image
      Author

      Bonny OBrien 2 years ago from Troy, N.Y.

      Amber sorry I don't. Did you save all t e info t t came with the TV. You would be able to find the number there, plus any other info they may need..

    • profile image

      ryan 2 years ago

      I am having the same issue with it not turning on I unplug it a couple times and it works again.

    • lucybell21 profile image
      Author

      Bonny OBrien 2 years ago from Troy, N.Y.

      Ryan have you contacted the company?

    • profile image

      Frank A. 2 years ago

      Contrast definition a big problem. Bigger problem the tint and caption are greyed out and cannot be accessed for adjustment. Blue hue around subjects eyes is very annoying. Was able to change screen resolution using an ATT UVerse Remote. Nothing on- line or You Tube to help resolve problems. Unless I am proven wrong you get what you pay for; in this case it appears cheap.

    • profile image

      feleciaquiales@ymail.com 2 years ago

      I got NY TV almost two years ago n now it won't turn . it stopped working over four months ago .I paid for insurance but they won't fix .all itdose is a bblack screen nothing else I paid almost six hundred for it in 2013

    • profile image

      bigduck 2 years ago

      I bought mine about 3-4 yrs ago and I am watching it right now and it is still just as nice as the day I bought it from Wally world, I play my 360 on and off line with no issues I gave $400.00 for this t.v. and I am very happy with it. Great picture and sound and HIGHLY offordable.

    • lucybell21 profile image
      Author

      Bonny OBrien 2 years ago from Troy, N.Y.

      Mine is still working great as Well. Have had not problems with it.

    • profile image

      ryan 2 years ago

      Im having problems with hooking up surround sound system via the red and white coax cables. I have them plugged into the surround system, but it will not send the audio out, it only plays through the tv speakers. Anyone have a way to fix this.

    • profile image

      T Pic 10 months ago

      I turned mine off and now it won't come back on I did as the manual said and unplugged it for 8 yes 8 hours and it still won't come back on now what

    • lucybell21 profile image
      Author

      Bonny OBrien 10 months ago from Troy, N.Y.

      T Pic, sorry you are having problems with it. Perhaps there is a reset button on the TV. I don't know where my manual is or I would look it up.

    Click to Rate This Article