ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Technology»
  • Computers & Software»
  • Computer Buying Guides

Micromax funbook tablet Review

Updated on August 15, 2013
Source

The budget tablet market is rising...This month has seen the entry of two more tablets... The HCL ME U1 and the Micromax Funbook....Here is a review on the Micromax Funbook...



First Look At Micromax Funbook

OPERATING SYSTEM

The Micromax Funbook runs on Android 4.0.3 which is the latest OS Ice Cream Sandwich. Its way better compared to the Gingerbread version and is less buggy. It has a very user friendly interface.

PROCESSOR

The Micromax Funbook is powered by the CORTEX A8 processor at a speed of 1.2 GHz which can handle many application with ease.It also comes with a Dual Mali GPU for fast and efficient multiedia processing. It has 512 MB of DDR3 RAM.

PROPORTIONS OF THE TAB

Source

DISPLAY

It comes with a 7" capacitative touch screen with an aspect ratio of 16:9. The resolution of the screen is 800x480 which means that you can play all your videos and enjoy them with great picture quality. It supports 720p as wells 1080p videos. It played these videos like a charm.The touch response is a bit on the lower side. There is nothing great about the viewing angles. You can watch a movie and enjoy it, but a friend sitting next to you wont have the same experience.


DESIGN

The Micromax Funbook has been desisgned really well. It fits into your hand perfectly and is easy to carry around. Its very slim and sleek. And the proportions are 192mm x 122mm x 10mm. Its available in two colors that is grey and midnight black. The Funbook claims to be the thinnest tablet in India. It's also very light weighing just below 350 grams.

Source

CONNECTIVITY

The Funbook has all the connectivity options. It comes with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and a 3G dongle for seamless web browsing. It has HDMI port for connecting to a TV or projector. It also has a 3.5mm jack for connecting headphones. A major drawback is that its doesn't have a USB nor a micro USB but a mini USB which no gadgets in the market uses as of now. You'll have to buy a separate adapter for connecting devices.

Source

MEMORY

The Funbook has internal memory of 4 GB but can be extended upto 32 GB with a microSD.

MULTIMEDIA

Funbook comes with a front facing VGA camera (0.3 Megapixel). Its not provided with a rear camera. This is one of its drawbacks. But at the price of Rs.6499 what more can you ask. It can play all the video as well as audio formats. 1080p videos can also be played at 30 fps, which is really good. No video lag was found. Plays most of the video formats.

SENSORS

Micromax Funbook comes with gravity sensor and accelerometer.

BATTERY

The problem that the Micromax Funbook is facing is its battery life. It is powered by a 2800MaH battery which is the lowest in its category. It can give you a browsing time of 5 hrs. But with the use of 3G, Wi-Fi and other apps it can manage only upto 2-3 hrs.

PLACES WERE MICROMAX FUNBOOK DEFEATS HCL ME U1

The Micromax Funbook defeats the HCL ME U1 in these areas:

Faster processor
Access to Android marketplace
Lighter
Available in 2 colors
2 finger pinch zoom
Access to a lot of educational content

VERDICT

On the whole if you want a tablet and if you're not ready to spend big bucks go for the Micromax Funbook. Other than its low battery life and projecting buttons its a very good tablet. It has the most powerful processor in its category beating the BSNL tab, HCL ME U1 tab and the Reliance 3G Tab.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • brajeev profile image
      Author

      Aswin Rajeev 5 years ago from Cochin, India

      Thanks Arun Rana, and you're right Micromax is doing really great.

    • profile image

      Arun Rana 5 years ago

      I think Micromax doing a great job , also launched canvas hd and going to launch A111 and A115 canvas smartphone , Source : http://speakjournal.com .

    • brajeev profile image
      Author

      Aswin Rajeev 5 years ago from Cochin, India

      Prameel Arjun, Thanks for your feedback.

    • profile image

      Prameel Arjun 5 years ago

      Nice review! Keep going!

      I prefer Auxus to fun book!

      http://techhover.com

    • brajeev profile image
      Author

      Aswin Rajeev 5 years ago from Cochin, India

      Thank you sprinkletest for your valuble feedback!!!

    • profile image

      sprinkletest 5 years ago

      really a nice Blog with Great Information

    • profile image

      Alfred Joseph 6 years ago

      i found this REALLY useful!! now i know a lot more bout' this tab.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)