ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Top 5 Facebook Travel Application (Widget) Reviewed by Kango

Updated on September 18, 2007

Are you using them to share your trip?

Since Web 2.0 era starts, travel is no just about visiting a destination, participating an activity or doing nothing but relaxing on a beach. It is also about sharing your trips with your friends or strangers through photos, trip plan/itinerary, reviews. Further more, you want to share your travel history and your travel knowledge and more.

Kango Alex reviewed five most popular facebook application related online travel. Top 3 of these applications are all about sharing "where have you been" on a world map, either by city or by country. Here the the detailes:

#1: "Where I've Been"

By: Craig Ulliott

Users: 2,177,407

Description: "A detailed, interactive world map, show everyone where you've been, where you have lived and where you want to go." Overall: "Googlesque" in its simplicity and interface. Provides "fast facts" for most countries and states which include: population, GDP, life expectancy, unemployment rate, and a brief national history. As of now, this is the Facebook Travel App. I would like to see a photo album (possible user generated) for each country providing a taste of the landscapes.

K-Rating: *****

# 2: "Cities I've Visited"

By: TripAdvisor

Users: 786,897

Description: "Where have you traveled? Create an interactive travel map to share with your friends and help them plan their trips." Overall: Very simple concept and delivery. Type in city and a thumbtack is stuck on the map. Adding locations is very quick as a list of possible cities is displayed by popularity and then narrowed as more letters are entered. Unfortunately, once you've entered in your cities, there's not much more to do with this app.

K-Rating: *** 1/2

#3: "Countries Visited Map"

By: TravBuddy

Users: 488,309

Description: "Create your own travel map and see what percent of the world you have visited. Lightweight, straight-forward, simple; loads 3x faster than other maps, no bloat on your profile page." Overall: Quick and clear-cut check box style of choosing countries and states visited, organized alphabetically within each continent. Unlike most applications, you must become a travbuddy.com member before accessing map, which is a mild initial annoyance.

K-Rating: ***

# 4: "Traveler IQ Challenge"

By: TravelPod.com

Users: 233,104

Description: "In this fun (and addictive) challenge, you'll be asked to pinpoint where famous places, cities, and travel destinations are located. We'll then calculate your Traveler IQ based on how close you were and how quickly you found the spot." Overall: A fun and quick-hitting quiz for the traveller looking to test their geography intellect. At the end of Facebook's "geography bee", you are given a Traveler IQ and shown where you rank amongst your friends (bragging rights!). You may play the original world challenge or focus on a specific continent or theme (i.e. World Capitals). I found it difficult to exactly pinpoint the location in question due to a slow and jittery cursor on the map.

K-Rating: ****

# 5: "Trips"

By: SideStep, Inc.

Users: 199,104

Description: "Plan upcoming trips with your friends. Share your past travel adventures on your profile. What trips have you been on, who'd you go with, and when. Then attach a photo album. See your trips on a map. Where have you been? Where are you going next?" Overall: This ambitious app aims to cover all things surrounding the "Trip". You can create a future trip and invite your pals to join you on the venture, post travel pics from a past spring break south of the border, or contact strangers with similar trip styles to yourself. "Trips" is function over form at this point and I expect/hope to see more efficient applications, similar in objective, as the Facebook Platform grows out of infancy.

Rating: ***1/2

Reated review: TechCrunch's Interns' 10 Favorite Facebook Apps for more FB App. reviews.

“Where I’ve Been”
“Where I’ve Been”
“Cities I’ve Visited”
“Cities I’ve Visited”
“Countries Visited Map”
“Countries Visited Map”
“Traveler IQ Challenge”
“Traveler IQ Challenge”
Trips
Trips

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Ray 

      5 years ago

      very informative site. www.England Airport Cars.com

      TAXI in London low-cost & reliable service.Add Your Comment...

    • profile image

      clementj24 

      6 years ago

      Like the apps mentioned in this article...if you did to check out the travelmapper at the itunes store. This app allows you to electronically track your trips...and you don't need to use the internet to do it! Sweet!

    • profile image

      Andrea Riga 

      7 years ago

      One more travel app on Facebook:

      Http://apps.facebook.com/visityourfriends

    • profile image

      Cico Gnone 

      7 years ago

      A new social travel app! http://apps.facebook.com

    • profile image

      Cico Gnone 

      7 years ago

      A new social travel app in Beta!

    • profile image

      Jason 

      7 years ago

      Yes but Where I Have been is so unorganized still that it is not useful gaining knowledge of each location to plan an itinerary. There is so much fluff posted you are better off researching it on your own and posting it in Google Maps. The other apps I have not tried. Cheers for making this site so I at least know Where I Have Been is currently the Best.

    • profile image

      Travel Map App 

      10 years ago

      Those are some great apps, but I wish someone would take a look at other travel apps than the ones that everyone reviews :(

    • Angela Harris profile image

      Angela Harris 

      10 years ago from Around the USA

      These sound so cool. Thanks for the review. I'm going to have to become more active on Facebook.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)