ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Xolo Q800 Review and Full Specifications

Updated on March 21, 2013

Xolo has finally decided to make the move. The Indian smartphone market is flooded with single, dual and quad core phones. And here is the latest addition to the quad core category. It is dubbed as the Xolo Q800 and it is part of their new series. They will be launching a series of quad core smartphones under the Q series and this is the first of them. This phone features a lot of stuff inside it and it is sure to give some competition to the Micromax A116 Canvas HD and Karbonn S1 Titanium. Let’s take a look at this phone and how it matches up with its competitors.

Xolo Q800
Xolo Q800

My Rating:

5 stars for Xolo Q800

Looks:

The phone looks amazing, just amazing. Xolo has done a great job in designing this phone as it looks premium. Looks quite like a 30K phone, if you ask me. The dimensions of this phone are 67x135.5x9.6 mm. It is quite thick, but the phone as a whole looks cool. At the front there is the ear piece and the secondary camera. There are three touch sensitive buttons for home, back and menu. At the back there is the camera and the Xolo logo and the loudspeaker is placed at one corner. The phone is shaped really nicely and the curved edges look nice.

Back
Back

Hardware:

This is where the Xolo Q800 will have to prove itself and it does prove itself. The hardware stuffed into this beast is of great class. It comes with a quad-core processor clocked at 1.2 GHz. This will perform really well and it is sure that it will keep you happy. The phone also has a PowerVR SG544 GPU. This is also a great addition to the quad-processor and it can take care of HD games really well. The most important thing to top it all off is the RAM and Xolo has provided the Q800 with 1 GB of RAM. Until now, this phone has not failed to impress us. Will it take all way? Read on. There is 4 GB of internal storage which can be expanded up to 32 GB via microSD. Benchmarks have given it really high ratings. Antutu score – 12,500, Benchmark – 3800, Nenamark2 – 58 fps.

Screen:

One of the best parts of this mobile. The 4.5 inch screen is a sight to behold. It is a qHD display with a resolution of 960x540. It has 5 point touch capability. The screen is made of an IPS panel. This is will surely ensure great viewing angles. The screen looks great under low light and it will be one the selling points of this phone. The pixel density of this phone is 250 pixels per inch. This is slightly less than the A116 HD which has 294 pixels per inch.

Camera:

This is the next best thing after the screen and the processor. The Xolo Q800 boasts of an 8 megapixel camera. This camera is better than that compared to the Micromax A116. Micromax A116 HD’s camera is not of great quality. It gives quality less than what we expect. Xolo Q800’s camera performs really well and gives great quality images. In the front we have a 1 megapixel camera for video calling. The rear camera has a BSI sensor and it can record fullHD videos.

Battery:

The battery of the Xolo Q800 is too good. It has a 2100 mAh battery and it will last you for a couple of days for sure. The A116 Canvas HD has a higher screen resolution and larger screen, so the battery hardly lasts for a day. Xolo Q800 has a larger battery than the Micromax A116, and it coupled with a slightly smaller screen of slightly lower resolution. So battery life is great.

My Verdict:

I’m rating this phone - 5 stars, because it is quite good in almost all the categories. Nothing disappointed me. And anyone planning to buy this phone please don’t think twice. You will have no complaints with this phone whatsoever. Karbonn and Micromax, Xolo is coming for you!!!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • brajeev profile imageAUTHOR

      Aswin Rajeev 

      5 years ago from Cochin, India

      Thank you Mobiles Bug.

    • profile image

      Mobiles Bug 

      5 years ago

    • brajeev profile imageAUTHOR

      Aswin Rajeev 

      5 years ago from Cochin, India

      Thank you Irfan for your feedback. Contact their customer care, they might be able to help you with this.

    • profile image

      Irfan 

      5 years ago

      Hello everyone I've a Xolo q800 and I am impressed with it. I have done a long (3 month) research before buying it. Gaming performance awesome, speed awesome camera awesome recommend to all but I face one problem in its WiFi it needs to be reconnect again and again if anyone have solution so please let me know on my mail id irfanstranger@yahoo.com. Mr. Admin If you have any solution regarding my problem so please help me.

    • brajeev profile imageAUTHOR

      Aswin Rajeev 

      5 years ago from Cochin, India

      I will do it soon Abhishek. Thanks for your feedback.

    • profile image

      Abhishek 

      5 years ago

      will u plz compare q700 and q800.,sir?

    • brajeev profile imageAUTHOR

      Aswin Rajeev 

      5 years ago from Cochin, India

      Mohit, Get it to a service center. I've never encountered such a problem. I mean, I haven't used it for a long time, I just took it for the review.

    • profile image

      mohit 

      5 years ago

      brajeev, my phone q800 is getting restart when m charging it or m on call.

      pls tell me what to do?

    • brajeev profile imageAUTHOR

      Aswin Rajeev 

      5 years ago from Cochin, India

      Thanks for your feedback, Ashish. It is disappointing that Q800 doesn't support OTG.

    • profile image

      Ashish 

      5 years ago

      Hi Brajeev, It's a very good phone. But it doesn't support OTG, which is slightly disappointing.

    • profile image

      sushant 

      5 years ago

      Hi

      Pls let me know that is xolo have service centre in pune

      And what about after sale service

      Pls reply

    • brajeev profile imageAUTHOR

      Aswin Rajeev 

      5 years ago from Cochin, India

      Manesh, most of the people that have commented on this article have bought it from Mirchimart. And all of them have got the product delivered to them.

    • profile image

      manesh 

      5 years ago

      No stock in flipkart only available in mirchimart is it reliable anyone know pls answer me

    • brajeev profile imageAUTHOR

      Aswin Rajeev 

      5 years ago from Cochin, India

      I don't know whether there are any authorised dealers in Kerala. You can purchase it online. It is one of the best ways to buy phones nowadays.

    • profile image

      Sanjish 

      5 years ago

      Manesh,

      i,m from kerala, i purchased the Q800 through flipkart on 15th march.

    • profile image

      manesh 

      5 years ago

      Brajeev sir place answer me if this avavailable on Cochin pls enter the shop I'd

    • profile image

      manesh 

      5 years ago

      Its not available in kerala how can I buy this mobile

    • brajeev profile imageAUTHOR

      Aswin Rajeev 

      5 years ago from Cochin, India

      It's a great phone, I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

    • profile image

      Anil 

      5 years ago

      Hi there !

      I saw the review of Xolo Q800 here - http://www.techjunction.in/2013/03/xolo-q800-unbox...

      That review prompted me to go for it.

      Hope it is a good buy !!

    • profile image

      Asish 

      5 years ago

      I too facing the same issue; restarts automatically. Xolo CC picking up my phone today for servicing...

    • profile image

      jitu 

      5 years ago

      dear rajeev..bought q800 last week...my phone restarts multiple times while charging...else everything is fine.....any specific reason for that...should i complain to customer care

    • brajeev profile imageAUTHOR

      Aswin Rajeev 

      5 years ago from Cochin, India

      Thanks jaganp, for your insight into this topic. Hope your cousin is enjoying his new Xolo Q800.

    • profile image

      jaganp 

      5 years ago

      i got a Q800 for my cousin yesterday and it is great for the price. no lags full snappy. cam quality is good too... waited for MMX canvas hd... but heard few issues with it and delayed delivery so got a xolo finally...

    • brajeev profile imageAUTHOR

      Aswin Rajeev 

      5 years ago from Cochin, India

      Krishna, not only Xolo phones most of the Android phones have heating issues. They heat up while running applications for quite some time. If you are running memory consuming apps, it will heat up faster.

    • profile image

      krishna 

      5 years ago

      Hi Brajeev.. thanks for ur useful review. wat about the battery ... In most of the reviews i found that Xolo mobiles having heating issue in moderate usage & while charging. Could u plz giv us feedback on this.

    • brajeev profile imageAUTHOR

      Aswin Rajeev 

      5 years ago from Cochin, India

      Thanks Vikrant, there is Wi-fi tethering and hot spot feature in the Xolo Q800.

    • profile image

      vikrant 

      5 years ago

      Nice review! could you confirm if it has wifi hot spot? Thanks.

    • profile image

      maulik 

      5 years ago

      can it be connect to otg cable

    • brajeev profile imageAUTHOR

      Aswin Rajeev 

      5 years ago from Cochin, India

      Thanks for the pleasing comment. Let me see what I can do.

    • profile image

      theeta 

      5 years ago

      Great review.. can you comment on the software side too.. (like the smoothness, any lags and any major modifications from the stock android)

      If possible, it would be great if you can upload a video too demoing the software.

      thanks.

    • brajeev profile imageAUTHOR

      Aswin Rajeev 

      5 years ago from Cochin, India

      Pranav, thanks for the feedback. The Yamaha music system is great and of very high quality.

    • profile image

      Pranav 

      5 years ago

      Can u pl comment on a YAMAHA 168 PA music system in Q 800 for enhanced audio experience.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)