ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Nettop Computer: Acer Veriton N260G Review

Updated on December 12, 2014

Nettop Computer Review: Acer Veriton and Aspire Intel Atom Based Computers

Nettop computers are the new fashion: inexpensive, very low power-consumption; very small and quiet (making them ideal for use as a media-centre PC) They are also ideal as a second computer or for the kids to use and can be left on all day without damaging the planet too much.


These computers became popular when the Asus Eee PC was launched in 2008, which was based on the new Intel Atom single-core (N230 and N280), low power consumption processor (also used in Asus Netbook computers), which used a tiny fraction of the power of the dual-core higher clock-rate CPUs popular in laptops.


The newly launched (July 2009) Acer Aspire and Acer Veriton N Series nettops are an improvent on this original idea, but with some additional media-centre friendly additions, such as HDMI output (so you can plug it into you television and home theater (i.e. home cinema) system) The Acer Veriton uses a similar Intel Atom processor and the Acer Aspire has the faster Nvidia graphics processor. They come in a variety of models:

Acer Aspire Revo R3600 Desktop, which has an Intel Atom N230 1.6 GHz, 1 GB of RAM and just 8 GB of SSD memory (i.e. no optical disk) and with Linux installed

Acer Veriton N260G Desktop, which has an Intel Atom N280 1.66 GHz, 1 GB of RAM and Microsoft XP Home Edition (Office Ready)

Acer Aspire Revo R3600 Desktop, which has an Intel Atom N230 1.6 GHz, 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB HDD and with Vista Home Premium installed


Various other permutations exist with more RAM and different operating systems. All come with a keyboard and a mouse.


Here is a review of the Acer Veriton N260G Desktop which I have purchased as a media-pc and photo album which I have networked with Apple macbooks and iMacs (details of how to do this below) What is the difference between the Acer Aspire Revo and the Acer Veriton N260G?

Nettop Computing

Acer Veriton N260G

Nettop computers, based on the Intel Atom processor, are not powerful/fast, but use very little power and can be left running for long periods without damaging the environment. The new Acer Veriton N series computers however have an integrated Intel GMA 4500M graphics processor, whereas the Acer Aspire Revo R3600 has the more powerful Nvidia ION graphics processor which makes it fast enough to handle HD video without stuttering and therefore makes it ideal for Home Theater/Cinema applications or as a media-pc i.e. you can store all of your music, photos, videos and also store television programmes, either downloaded from the internet or from terrestrial digital TV e.g. Freeview (via an adaptor)

Specifications: Veriton N260G

OS: Windows XP Home Edition

CPU: Intel Atom processor N280

RAM: 1GB DDR2

HDD: 160GB

Optical: None

Video: Intel GMA 4500M Integrated

LAN: Wireless LAN

Modem: None

Keyboard: PS2

Mouse: USB

Speaker: None

BIOS: P01-A2

I bought the Acer Veriton N260G mid-range model with 160 GB disc and Microsoft XP installed. This has good storage space, but avoids the cost of an expensive operating system, such as Vista. I paid about £160 (excl. VAT) The computer is tiny at just 3 kg in weight and just 180 (L) x 180 (H) x 30 (W) mm in size (7" x 7" x 1.5")

The difference between the Acer Aspire Revo and the Acer Veriton N260G nettop computers: Veriton versions do not have the NVIDIA Ion graphics processor, but do have the faster Intel Atom N280 cpu, otherwise these computers are very similar.

Acer Veriton N260G Setup and use

Acer Veriton N260G Setup

and file-sharing with Apple iMac, Macbook and Windows XP

The setup of the Acer Veriton N260G is very simple. Plug in the keyboard, mouse, power-cable, HDMI (or VGA) to the television or monitor and press the power-button. It really is that simple. You then have a standard Windows XP Home computer. It even connected to the wireless network without any problems, so internet browsing was possible straight away.

The only problems I had were trying to get it to talk to my other computers on the network: Apple Macbooks. I am running Mac OSX 10.5 and did finally manage to setup file sharing with the XP, but I had to do the following:

How to file share between Apple Mac and Acer Veriton of Aspire with Microsoft XP Home

System-Preferences -> Security -> Firewall: "Allow all incoming connections"

System-Preferences -> Network -> Locations: "Edit Locations"

create a copy of the default "Automatic" location the create a new work-group: MSHOME

Advanced...WINS->Workgroup: "MSHOME"

System-Preferences -> File Sharing-> On (and mark folders you want to share with read access)

On the PC I created a new network place linking to the shared folder on the Mac and was able to copy file between the two.

My Computer->Network Places

Alternatives to the Acer Veriton N260G and Acer Aspire Revo

Apple Mac Mini vs Acer Veriton/Aspire

The Acer Veriton and Aspire build quality is reasonably good, especially when you consider the very low price, but not in the same league as an Apple Mac (which cost far more) they can however be tucked away behind the television or monitor (although mine had very low WiFi signal strength there and had to be moved to under the TV, where it was fine. The computer dimesions are tiny at just 3 kg in weight and just 180 (L) x 180 (H) x 30 (W) mm in size (7" x 7" x 1.5") The plastic used for the case feels quite cheap, but looks reasonably stylish, partly because of the unusual trapezoidal shape and the slim design (and lack of optical drive) The stand which allows the Acer computers to stand up is flimsy, but works fine and there is also a bracket that allows the computer to be mounted on the back of the monitor. The keyboard and mouse provided and effectively free (Apple Mac mini doesn't come with either) but despite that they are quite useable and far from the worst I have used.

An alternative to the Acer Aspire and Veriton computers could be the Apple Mac Mini computers. These are beautifully made and will also work straight out of the box. They have also an optical drive (but not Blu Ray, although the Acer models have no optical drive) and look excellent in the lounge. The Mac mini is also a tiny machine at a similar total volume to the Acer computers.

Please Leave Some Feedback

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • AstroGremlin profile image

      AstroGremlin 5 years ago

      Thanks for sharing your most lucrative lens. Can see why readers found it helpful enough to make a buying decision.

    • MarcoG profile image

      Marc 5 years ago from Edinburgh

      Nice lens - I'm much more of a Mac boy though :)

    • profile image

      renevpayne 5 years ago

      Yes, this is very helpful, specially i'm planning to buy a laptop and my choice of brand is the acer since i've heard some good reviews about that certain brand. but is this durable against viruses and being broken? Because when that happens, that's going to be a big problem, maybe i'll search through the net, i've heard before that there are so many good remote online pc repair, fast, reliable and fix the problems in an instant, without leaving the comfort of your own home.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Very nicely reviewed. Was planning on upgrading my laptop and frankly had not considered an Acer till now!

    • vekoslavr lm profile image

      vekoslavr lm 5 years ago

      Very informative lens. Thank.

    • bikerministry profile image

      bikerministry 5 years ago

      This is so informative. Always hard to know which product will be around a few years after purchase. I appreciate your research here. Blessings.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      Originally netbook was created to target education market or consumers who might want a second computer, netbooks are gaining a broader consumer base now that budgets are tight and consumers around the world are starting to feel comfortable using applications and media in the cloud. Find more on scanners at negative scanner.

    • gypsyman27 lm profile image

      gypsyman27 lm 6 years ago

      I picked this lens to read because I wanted information on the nettop. You did a wonderful job on filling in the blanks for me on this relatively new technology. I then noticed the layout of your lens, it's really nice and has many items of interest besides the main topic. I'm learning from the best! See you around the galaxy...

    • sukkran trichy profile image

      sukkran trichy 6 years ago from Trichy/Tamil Nadu

      well presented review on nettop computers. i think acer aspire revo R3600 is cool and going to be my next option. thanks for the info.

    • sukkran trichy profile image

      sukkran trichy 6 years ago from Trichy/Tamil Nadu

      well presented review on nettop computers. i think acer aspire revo R3600 is cool and going to be my next option. thanks for the info.

    • jvsper63 profile image

      jvsper63 6 years ago

      Hi, Nice item's. Very good review. Well done!! Good lens Joni

    • thesuccess2 profile image

      thesuccess2 6 years ago

      Something I never see quoted is how long the battery will hold up if you don't use (or charge) your netbook.

    • tropicalmonsoon1 profile image

      tropicalmonsoon1 6 years ago

      Nice lens although I prefer full size (13" +) computers.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      Looks like a cool gadget and a great gift

    • TonyPayne profile image

      Tony Payne 7 years ago from Southampton, UK

      Sounds like an interesting machine. I would love to build myself a small machine as a media centre, but don't have the money to justify it right now.

    • profile image

      anonymous 7 years ago

      Good lens, nice review. I am in the market. I am waiting for the sales on Black Friday at the end of November.

    • profile image

      RebeccaE 7 years ago

      great information, thanks for this. Learned a lot abotu a new technology

    • profile image

      morach2009 7 years ago

      Best laptop prices reading laptop reviews ,check prices comparison and buy cheap laptops.

    • aesta1 profile image

      Mary Norton 7 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      Good feature here. I recently got one and it is much lighter than any of our laptops so I can easily go around with it. Really happy I got it. Will feature this in my lens on mobile lifestyle. Thanks for the visit.

    • aesta1 profile image

      Mary Norton 7 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      Good feature here. I recently got one and it is much lighter than any of our laptops so I can easily go around with it. Really happy I got it. Will feature this in my lens on mobile lifestyle. Thanks for the visit.

    • ElizabethJeanAl profile image

      ElizabethJeanAl 7 years ago

      Great information.

      Thanks for sharing

      Lizzy

    • profile image

      anonymous 7 years ago

      Love how you constructed this lens Andy. Stopped by to wish you a Happy Easter! Been thinking of you, but like you...I'm pretty busy. Have a GREAT DAY!!!

      Susie

    • profile image

      anonymous 7 years ago

      This lens is awesome. I love it. I am going to tell my editors on my Thai News website to write something about this lens and probably feature it.

      I will comment here again once we do.

      Great Work

    • Kiosks4business profile image

      Kiosks4business 7 years ago

      Great lens with lot of information - Fantastic!

      http://www.squidoo.com/Rack-Mount-LCD-Monitor

    • RuthCoffee profile image

      RuthCoffee 7 years ago

      Sounds like a great little device, something I definitely should consider.

    • Andy-Po profile image
      Author

      Andy 8 years ago from London, England

      [in reply to Tipi] Congratulations on the new wings and thank you very much for the blessing. Glad to hear that you had a good vacation.

    • ElizabethJeanAl profile image

      ElizabethJeanAl 8 years ago

      I need a second, maybe even a third computer. A little one would be nice.

    • profile image

      anonymous 8 years ago

      Hi AndyPo-Po! I got these ~angle-wings~ today and thought I'd fly around Squidoo just being a blessing to some of the good folks and nice lenses. I can do that now! This is going to be fun being more of a blessing to others. Shelly is pretty excited for me...what a nut. I was so busy last month on Squidoo that I taught her how to edit lenses for me. Now when she proof-reads she can just do the corrections herself, which is much wiser on our part...should have done that to begin with. I decided I needed to let someone know how to get my pay-outs too just in case some-thing happened to me. ~ Had a nice vacation the 1st weekend on Oct. to go see my mom. Shelly and her husband traveled there too to see me. My Mom is planning on giving me the house someday. I have wanted to move back home and now I'll be able to, don't know when, but that's my plan to live at Kabetogama. Gives me something to look forward to and makes me a bit happier knowing. ~ Best wishes to you! :)

    • profile image

      julieannbrady 8 years ago

      You know, I had an Acer computer at my last job -- it is just so amazing HOW MANY computers there are to pick from today! Just amazing.

    • kathysart profile image

      kathysart 8 years ago

      ~~*~~

      Very interesting lens.

      FIVE ACED STARS

      ~Kathy

      ~~*~~

    • profile image

      anonymous 8 years ago

      Techno-geek!!! :) --- My Squidoo security word is "geektoes"!

    • profile image

      anonymous 8 years ago

      I have a Acer Aspire one notebbook. I was getting a free ride on the internet with it for awhile, but they moved or some dang thing. My son has wanted it, for a deal of course and I finally told him I would sell it to him. Its a sweet little computer and I love.

      Thank you for all of this information Andy, it is helpful to me. I mostly use a Everex PC right now, until I need or can get something better. Thinking that I will add some memory to it and that should keep it going for a good while. - ( Remember to change the oil on your cars! :)

      Susie

    • ElizabethJeanAl profile image

      ElizabethJeanAl 8 years ago

      Excellent review!

    • Dianne Loomos profile image

      Dianne Loomos 8 years ago

      I've been hearing about these little computers. Great reviews!