ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Best Ultrabooks under $800, $700 or $900 (2014 update)

Updated on September 14, 2014
Source

The Best Thin, Lightweight Laptops - Ultrabooks under $800 for 2014

Do the new thin laptops have you drooling, because they are so lightweight and fast, but your budget is $800or even less? If so, then you will need to know what are the current best Ultrabooks under 800, and the specs of each of the best Ultrabooks to buy so that you end up with a laptop you are happy with.

Since the ultrabooks came out about a year ago, the Ultrabooks coming out each month have consistently surpassed the previous months, as the year progressed the prices have been dropping too.

Now you can even get a good Ultrabook for less than $600, while the specs on the Ultrabooks less than $800 are comparable to much higher priced Ultrabooks a year ago.

As the specs and performance improve, getting a head-start at the good ones will help you with your ultimate choice. I hope the following reviews as well as the other Ultrabooks just showcased here will set you on the right track.

The following Ultrabook reviews should help you choose the best ultrabooks under $800.

Top Three Ultrabooks Under $800

Top 3 Bestselling Ultrabooks For Less Than $800

Lenovo Twist S230u 12.5-Inch Ultrabook (Black)

ASUS VivoBook S400CA-DH51T 14.1-Inch Touch Ultrabook

VIZIO CT15-A5 15.6-Inch Thin + Light Ultrabook

___________________________________________________________


Laptop Price Categories

Best Ultrabook Under $700

Best Ultrabook Under $800

Best Ultrabook Under $900

An Affordable Touchscreen Laptop under $800

Great Value for the Money

The Sony VAIO T Series SVT13134CXS 13.3-Inch Touchscreen Ultrabook is one of the most value for the money ultrabooks and is also one of the few touchscreen ultrabooks available right now. Comes with a 3rd generation Intel Core i3-3227U Processor and weighs in at 3.7 pounds so is quite light.

This thin laptop only measures 0.71 inches when closed. For storage you get a good HDD, 5400 RPM 500 GB hard disk drive as well as a 32 GB solid state drive (SSD) . The battery life is quite reasonable with up to 5.5 hours. Plus it has rapid wake-up and start up times.

  • SD Card Slot - This will greatly expand your storage options, SD memory cards can be stored or filed away.
  • Bluetooth: At least Bluetooth 3.0--This is by far the best way to connect headphones, mouse and other peripherals
  • Ethernet RJ 45 Jack If you travel, you will need to have this, those public hotel networks can be mighty unreliable
  • Full HDMI jack:
  • Backlit keyboard: while you can do without this if you only use your laptop in full light it is something to consider and is very useful in low light situations, and many ultrabooks don't come with it.
  • Multimedia: Headphone / speaker / mic jack, handy for VOIP apps like Skype and Google Phone.
  • battery life: At least 5 hours of battery life
  • Screen size: Get 13 inch screen at least if you want to do ten finger typing, and with the lightweight of these ultrabooks you can get a larger screen without having to lug a ton.
  • USB ports: you will need both a USB 3.0 port(s) and USB 2.0 port(s) for some backward compatibility.
  • Weight: Ultrabooks have to be lightweight to be considered legitimate ultrabooks as opposed to the more generic non-specific ultraportables or ultrathins.

Best Ultrabook Under $700

Best Ultrabooks Under $700

The best ultrabooks under 700 dollars are made to take the best advantage of the new ultrabook Intel Core technology and other improvements in technology to create a laptop that is fast, thin and cheap for the value. In this section you will also find ultrabooks under $600 and sometimes depending on discounts even ultrabooks under $500.

To keep both the size and price low, some of these do not have an internal CD/DVD drive, and may either have an optical CD drive or need you to get an optional Blu-ray Disc player or an external CD/DVD drive via one the USB ports.

Best Selling Ultrabooks under $700

Vizio CT14-A0 14-Inch Thin Light Ultrabook Laptop PC (1.80GHz Intel Core i3-3217U Processor, 4GB RAM 128GB SSD Windows 7 Home Premium) Silver
Vizio CT14-A0 14-Inch Thin Light Ultrabook Laptop PC (1.80GHz Intel Core i3-3217U Processor, 4GB RAM 128GB SSD Windows 7 Home Premium) Silver

This is a very reliable ultrabook, a very good buy for the money.

With it's 1.7 GHz Intel Core i5-3317U ultra-low voltage, dual-core processor, 14 inch screen and 6GB of RAM, you can use this laptop for most everyday uses as well as most games and multimedia programs.

Also comes with 500GB Hard drive and Window 8 OS.

Cons: While claiming 5.6 hours battery life -- looks like it usually only gives about 4 hours.

 

Best Ultrabook Under $800

Best Ultrabooks Under $800

The best ultrabooks under 800 dollars are still aimed for the budget buyer who needs speed and a lightweight fully functional laptop. In generally do have an internal CD/DVD drive and a reasonably sized hard-drive and about 4GB RAM.

More Lightweight Ultrabooks less than $800 - Lenovo ThinkPad Twist S230u 12.5-Inch Touchscreen Ultrabook (Black)

Lenovo Twist S230U (33472HU) 12.5" Multi-Touch Ultrabook - Core i5 500GB HDD 24GB SSD 4GB RAM Windows 8
Lenovo Twist S230U (33472HU) 12.5" Multi-Touch Ultrabook - Core i5 500GB HDD 24GB SSD 4GB RAM Windows 8

Combining a laptop and tablet this is a great choice for anyone who keeps finding themselves shleping both around.

It has the processing power of a good laptops, but is able to be converted into a tablet look which is great for presentations and some games.

Comes with a ntel Core i5 3317U 1.7 GHz processor and 4 GB DIMM RAM.

The 12.5 inch screen is maybe a little small for my ideal min laptop screen size of 13 inches, but is on the large size for a tablet.

Hard disk has a 500GB capacity and is loaded with Windows 8 as the OS.

 
HP Envy 4-1030us 14-Inch Ultrabook (Black)
HP Envy 4-1030us 14-Inch Ultrabook (Black)

This is basically good ultrabook, fast lightweight mostly but it does seem to have some WiFi problems--though this seems to only to be an issue for some.

Comes with Intel Core i5-3317U Processor 1.70GHz processor and 4GB of RAM.

Hard disk capacity is 500GB and the OS is Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit.

 

Best Ultrabook Under $900

Best Ultrabooks Under $900

The best ultrabooks under 900 dollars are even faster and thinner then the previous price ranges, have an internal CD/DVD drive and longer battery life. You have more choices on what features you can have and the screens are a better quality.

One of the latest offerings from HP this ultrabook is one fast machine, with its 4th gen i5 processor it runs all the latest programs seamlessly, multitasking with great pomp.

Being an ultrabook, the weight is super lightweight (4.66 lbs), yet not too small, making it both a great entertainment machine as well as highly portable.

Sound is crisp and clear, 8 GB RAM makes running multiple programs is seamless and fast. With 750 GB let you have plenty of storage s[ace for all your files be they videos, pictures, audio as well as the more regularly sized files.

General Features:

  • 3-cell 50WHr lithium-ion battery (up to 5 hrs, 45 mins of battery life)
  • 4th generation Intel Core i5-4200U Processor
  • 1.6GHz with Turbo Boost up to 2.6GHz
  • 8 GB DDR3 SDRAM
  • 32 GB Solid State Drive (SSD)
  • 750 GB Hard Drive
  • Intel HD 4400 Graphics

Ultrabooks under $500

While getting an Ultrabook under $500 might seem like a pipedream at the moment, you may be luck and get a new or used one on eBay. so check some of these options. All Ultrabooks listed here will be less than $500

Would you get an Ultrabook? - What do you think of the choices available?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • wrapitup4me profile image

      wrapitup4me 4 years ago

      I just got an ASUS and I love it.

    • profile image

      Dell3 4 years ago

      Lots of info here Thanks

      P.S. I have new Dell XPS 12 Ultrabook tablet and very satisfied

    • randomthings lm profile image

      randomthings lm 4 years ago

      They look great!

    • BestRatedStuff profile image
      Author

      BestRatedStuff 4 years ago

      @nifwlseirff: Just for a bit longer I'm convinced, before we know it, they will be the gamers' laptop of choice.

    • profile image

      nifwlseirff 4 years ago

      I'd love an ultrabook, or ultra-thin laptop, but I also want to use it for gaming. Most don't have the graphics/processing power or enough RAM, so I'm stuck with a clunky, larger laptop, at least for now!

    • Bill Armstrong profile image

      Bill Armstrong 4 years ago from Valencia, California

      Got mine already, some nice stuff here, thanks for sharing

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      The in depth information on each computer makes it easy to compare models. It's obvious you put some real work into this lens. Good job.

      I bought a laptop recently. For the money, I didn't think the Ultrabooks were the best choice for my needs. As geek, however, I did drool for some time before I made a more responsible (for me) choice.

    • ismeedee profile image

      ismeedee 4 years ago

      Yes, I'd love one!

    • profile image

      ohcaroline 4 years ago

      This is a wonderful product review. Lots of information to consider. Thanks.

    • profile image

      jonnyquarts 4 years ago

      I wonder if you personally own an ultrabook. If yes, which one?

    • Squidpress profile image

      Squidpress 4 years ago

      one little thing is, I had the first macbook air available in Europe and I'm fairly sure it was already equipped with Intel chips. Apple has been using Intel chips for awhile, so it might not be their fault the other's were late to the party with the ultrabooks :)

    • profile image

      Thamisgith 4 years ago

      Nice lens. Thanks for the info. I fancy one of these at the next upgrade.

    • SailingPassion LM profile image

      SailingPassion LM 5 years ago

      Lots of info here - thanks :-)

    • aesta1 profile image

      Mary Norton 5 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      I wanted to get one but the one I picked was out of stock so I settled for the MacAir and am really happy with it.

    • MatijaB LM profile image

      MatijaB LM 5 years ago

      Thank you for sharing this great info with this lens.

    • profile image

      aaanetsolution 5 years ago

      It's a great lens to read with. Got tons of great HP updates and solutions.

    • sharonbellis profile image

      Sharon Bellissimo 5 years ago from Toronto, Ontario, Canada

      Great info here, I didn't know the name for these thin laptops was ultrabook! My daughter just bought the Samsung, she was looking for a netbook but there weren't any really.

    • bilafond lm profile image

      bilafond lm 5 years ago

      This is a good lens with great recommendations for the time though I am sticking with Apple Air :-)

    • BestRatedStuff profile image
      Author

      BestRatedStuff 5 years ago

      @stephenes: Great, aren't they?

    • profile image

      stephenes 5 years ago

      I have got 1 of them for me :)

    • profile image

      stephenes 5 years ago

      I have got 1 of them for me :)

    • WaynesWorld LM profile image

      WaynesWorld LM 5 years ago

      Yes when the time is right, my little netbook is a tiche small.