ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Review of Blue Wave Adventures Dolphin Tour in Myrtle Beach

Updated on July 26, 2012

Dolphin Tour in Myrtle Beach

The small craft used by Blue Wave Adventures allows visitors to get close to the dolphins.
The small craft used by Blue Wave Adventures allows visitors to get close to the dolphins. | Source

Blue Wave Adventures Dolphin Cruise Ratings

3.6 out of 5 stars from 5 ratings of Blue Wave Adventures Dolphin Tour

Dolphin Cruises in Myrtle Beach

There are many things to do in Myrtle Beach, and dolphin cruises are a fantastic option for seeing wildlife off the South Carolina coast. Our family visited Myrtle Beach in the Spring, and we decided to take our two boys on a dolphin tour to see Atlantic Bottlenose Dolphins in the wild.

While there are jet ski tours available, we decided against that type of tour due to the ages of our children (six and four years of age). We didn't like the idea of the large "Sea Screamer" type boats with more than 100 people packed on board, either. We found the best dolphin tour for families with small children through Blue Wave Adventures. They operate a small craft (named The Osprey) with inflatable sides - everyone is safe and dry on the boat, and the tour group size is limited.

The weather in April is quite variable in Myrtle Beach, and the high temperature was only 72°F on the day of our tour. While this sounds warm on land, the tour operators advised us that the air can feel as much as ten degrees colder out on the water. We were packed our sweatshirts, cameras, and sunscreen in a backpack before heading out to Murrell's Inlet.

Our Dolphin Cruise

The water was very placid on the day we took our dolphin cruise. We arrived at the Crazy Sister's Marina in Murrell's Inlet an hour before our tour to eat lunch - the tour company requires visitors to arrive a half hour prior to the start of the cruise. Check-in was very simple and we were told to meet Captain Mark and Amy near The Osprey.

We arrived early for our tour, since our slated time was for 11:30am. Our two young boys generally eat lunch during this time period, so we brought a picnic lunch at ate it at the picnic tables at the Crazy Sisters Marina. This was an excellent idea, as our dolphin tour ran from 11:30am-1:00pm, and our boys would have been cranky if they had not had lunch prior to the trip.

Our boys were thrilled to see the boat, and we seated them on a seat at the stern. My younger son wears hearing aids, and this seat on the boat was more likely to keep his ears nice and dry. Children must be at least 2 years old to take this dolphin tour, and children must be at least 54" tall to ride on the inflatable sides of the craft.

Myrtle Beach Dolphin Tour Photos

Click thumbnail to view full-size
These Atlantic Bottlenose Dolphins were very close to our tour boat. The Osprey, our dolphin cruise boat.My six year old son looks on in awe as we zoom out of Murrell's Inlet.A jellyfish in the ocean, next to our boat.Huntington Beach State Park, as viewed from our dolphin cruise.
These Atlantic Bottlenose Dolphins were very close to our tour boat.
These Atlantic Bottlenose Dolphins were very close to our tour boat. | Source
The Osprey, our dolphin cruise boat.
The Osprey, our dolphin cruise boat. | Source
My six year old son looks on in awe as we zoom out of Murrell's Inlet.
My six year old son looks on in awe as we zoom out of Murrell's Inlet. | Source
A jellyfish in the ocean, next to our boat.
A jellyfish in the ocean, next to our boat. | Source
Huntington Beach State Park, as viewed from our dolphin cruise.
Huntington Beach State Park, as viewed from our dolphin cruise. | Source

Video from Blue Wave Adventures Dolphin Tour

Environmentally Friendly Dolphin Cruise

Blue Wave Adventures never uses feeding or a technique known as "shrimp netting" to attract the dolphins. They abide by the Marine Mammal Protection Act and are extremely conscientious when the craft nears wild dolphins.

Since the crew does not lure dolphins, there is no guarantee that visitors will see dolphins on any one day in particular. The crew is very knowledgeable about the animals and the area, however, so the likelihood for dolphin sightings is great.

Our tour took off from Murrell's Inlet and we had a fantastic view of Myrtle Beach from the ocean. Within a few minutes, we were surrounded by a pod of dolphins. Captain Mark turned off the motor and we idled while the dolphins swam past. A few dolphins did tail slaps to the water. As the pod moved on, the captain revved up the motor again and took us to a different location.

We spent an hour and a half out on the water, watching the dolphins swim by, viewing different types of birds on the buoys, and seeing several jellyfish in the water. The crew takes visitors on a tour of the immediate coastline, showing guests Drunken Jack's Island and Huntington State Beach. We had a fantastic time showing our children the wild dolphins and getting a thrilling ride on the boat. The wind was quite cold out on the ocean, and we were all thankful we had worn sweatshirts!

Myrtle Beach Dolphin Tour Tips

  • Plan in advance: tours fill up quickly, particularly more intimate dolphin cruises like the Blue Wave Adventures tour. Call to reserve tickets several days prior to your planned cruise.
  • If you have children under the age of two years, don't plan a dolphin tour. The majority of cruise operators will not accept infants.
  • Bring sunscreen, even on a cloudy day. The ocean reflects sunlight and you may get a sunburn without it!
  • Bring a jacket, particularly in the spring or on cooler days in the summer. The temperature out on the water is much cooler than on land, and the wind generated from the dolphin cruise may be cold!

Location of Blue Wave Adventures Dolphin Tour

A
Murrell's Inlet, SC:
Murrells Inlet, SC, USA

get directions

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • leahlefler profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah Lefler 

      4 years ago from Western New York

      We really enjoyed our dolphin tour in Myrtle Beach, John - it was fun (though the weather was cold on the day we went)! I would love to return in the summer when the weather is nicer!

    • profile image

      Johnd805 

      4 years ago

      This actually answered my drawback, thank you! adbckdabbdeb

    • leahlefler profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah Lefler 

      5 years ago from Western New York

      The crew was very good about maintaining a respectful distance from the dolphins. When a pod was spotted, they slowly approached and turned off the boat's motor. We had several dolphins swim very close to the boat, as they were curious about us! We also had a tour of the local coastline and saw jellyfish and other sea creatures. It was a fun tour (though a bit chilly in early spring)! I hope you have a great time on your trip, FlourishAnyway!

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      5 years ago from USA

      Great information on a reputable tour company. I have avoided going on these because of concerns about interference with the dolphins' environment and feeding them, but it sounds like this company did a fine job of honoring them and you had a good time. If I can peel my 13 year old away from the beach this would be lovely to do. Voted up and useful.

    • leahlefler profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah Lefler 

      6 years ago from Western New York

      The boat ride was so much fun. We hoped there would be dolphins, and we were surrounded by them (including a baby with a spotted tail). The captain was wonderful - he did a donut in the water, much to my boys' delight!

    • leahlefler profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah Lefler 

      6 years ago from Western New York

      Myrtle Beach is a great place to visit, sawyershaw! We had a blast with our family!

    • teaches12345 profile image

      Dianna Mendez 

      6 years ago

      Beautiful pictures of the ocean and the opportunity to see the dolphins adds to the ride. This would be a great trip to make as a family. Thanks for posting the useful tips, sunscreen is a must on sunny or cloudy days.

    • sawyershaw profile image

      sawyershaw 

      6 years ago from West Palm Beach

      Can't wait to visit!

    • leahlefler profile imageAUTHOR

      Leah Lefler 

      6 years ago from Western New York

      It is a wonderful place to visit, bdegiulio. The South Carolina coast is a great respite for us, since we still have snow and winter-like weather in April. The "cold" temperatures in the 60's were delightful for us!

    • bdegiulio profile image

      Bill De Giulio 

      6 years ago from Massachusetts

      Great info for a visit to Myrtle Beach. Look forward to getting there someday soon.

      Thanks for sharing.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)