ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Travel and Places»
  • Travel Activities & Ideas

Bring Your Wallet and Leave Your Sweet Tooth at Home: A Review of Farrell’s Ice Cream Parlour in Brea, California

Updated on December 4, 2012
Source

I remember eating at a Farrell’s in another state when I was much, much younger. Since that branch closed well-over 30 years ago, the memory of the restaurant’s good times and tastes long-since faded into oblivion. So it was with some excitement that I anticipated the opening of a branch of this same establishment about a month ago, just before Christmas. Much of the county seemed to feel the same way, since the line outside the doors meant waits of at least 45 minutes or more.

© 2012 by Aurelio Locsin.

A markerFarrells 215 South Brea Boulevard, Brea, California -
215 S Brea Blvd, Brea Downtown, The Gateway - Downtown Brea, Brea, CA 92821, USA
get directions

Entering

We decided to go one lunch after the New Year started to avoid all the vacationing school kids who made such waits inevitable. Ten parties were ahead of us when the doors opened at 11 AM. Despite a cavernous interior populated by over a dozen straw-hatted staff, it took over 10 minutes for us to reach a table.

This was due to their inefficient seating procedure. One or more of the servers would first greet people in line and take down names, number in the party and any special occasion celebrations. They would then go inside and, presumably, distribute the lists to the staff. And then one staff member would come out, call out a name and escort that party to a table. Then another staff member would come out and repeat the process. In no case, did two or more servers come out and seat several parties at once.

Inside

The interior seemed as festive as I remembered with its red walls, globe lights and tufted vinyl seating. A Statue of Liberty, player piano and soda fountain counter added to the faux-Victorian atmosphere. Ragtime music played in the background, slightly noticeable above the din of patron’s. We received the newsprint menu, which was covered with an old-time font and line engravings.

Next to the expected ice cream extravaganzas were sandwiches, burgers, pizzas, soups, salads and appetizers. Nearly everything cost close to $10 and above. This could easily mean a family of four spending over $100, once you included entrees, the required ice cream and drinks.

Our server, smiling behind her braces, eventually appeared to take our order and bring my Diet Coke. Then she mysteriously disappeared for long stretches. Despite the constant rushing of waiters and waitresses, service seemed slower than it should be. My glass remained empty of a refill until I managed to flag our waitress, who appeared from distant corner. She then disappeared again for awhile before returning with a new glass of soda.

My partner and I decided to split the Napa Valley Spinach Salad. We purposely ordered this light repast to prepare for the caloric assault of dessert later. After another long wait, the server brought the large white salad bowl, an extra plate and the fat-free Italian dressing on the side.

As was typical, I did not add dressing to the mix of baby spinach, sliced cucumber, sliced red onion, bleu cheese crumbles, roasted almonds, dried cranberries and mandarin oranges. The freshness and variety of ingredients proved delicious. My partner was not so lucky, having spread the dressing all over his half of the meal. The chemical concoction seemed scraped from a bottle that was scrounged at the bargain bin of the local 99-cent store.

The Show

The reason for the slow service soon became apparent. Every once in a while, the servers would gather around the table with much fanfare and beating of a bass drum. Then came a fulsome introduction of the celebrant, who was obliged to stand on a chair to be more visible. Finally, the gathered crowd would sing “Rockin’ Robbin,” suitably modified to cheer a birthday or anniversary. And in the meantime, sandwiches got cold on serving trays, ice cream sundaes melted on the counter and people in line outside wondered when they’d be getting in.

Dessert

From over two-dozen desserts, I ordered the Parlour’s Tin Roof, a 10-inch high delight with two scoops of vanilla ice cream, supporting hot fudge, Spanish peanuts, whipped cream and a cherry. My partner settled on a Choffee Ice Cream Soda, which combined chocolate soda with coffee ice cream. Only one word could possibly describe these visual masterpieces:

Tasteless.

The only thing in my sundae with any pretense of flavor in my sundae were the peanuts. Otherwise, I briefly wondered if my tongue was suffering from some disease that dissolved taste. As for the Choffee Soda, I normally disdain coffee, but I gulped down this liquid since it tasted like finely-crushed ice. The so-called chocolate ice cream tasted identical to my vanilla ice cream, which tasted identical to frozen parsley.

Conclusions

The wait, combined with indifferent, slow service, and over-hyped, bland ice cream, made me grateful that I wasn’t there celebrating a big occasion on a weekend night with a group of friends. Downtown Brea has at least two cheaper and more delicious alternatives within a couple of blocks:

  • Among many waffle desserts, Bruxie has two types of sundaes made from Belgian chocolate or caramel.
  • Red Brick Pizza offers at least eight flavors of house-made gelato, either in a cup, or as part of more fanciful desserts.

I’m never returning to Farrell’s, even after the next 30 years have dulled my unsavory memories of the place.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • MarleneB profile image

      Marlene Bertrand 5 years ago from USA

      Tasteless? Wow! That's pretty bad for an ice cream parlor. Once again, thanks for the warning. Another excellent review. I enjoyed reading it. So sorry you didn't enjoy your dessert.

    • alocsin profile image
      Author

      alocsin 6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      Bi argument form me, JEOrtega, about Gihirardelli's. I love the place for hot fudge.

    • JEOrtega profile image

      JEOrtega 6 years ago from Southern California

      Hey Alocsin!

      There used to be a Farrell's in the city I grew up in. The quality of service and ingredients in dishes were much better then. Its sounds like this new Farrell's did quite expect the reception they received and ended up being short staffed and tried to cut costs by buying less than quality ingredients for their offerings. I still say, the best place for the best hot fudge sundae is Giradelli's in San Francisco.

    • alocsin profile image
      Author

      alocsin 6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      Sundaes are great, as long as you don't eat them at Farrell's. Thanks for reading.

    • ComfortB profile image

      Comfort Babatola 6 years ago from Bonaire, GA, USA

      ooooh, I love sundae with peanuts. Can't wait to have my next serving, right after dinner.

      Thanks for the temptation alocsin!

    • alocsin profile image
      Author

      alocsin 6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      One could always hope that the franchisee would improve things at his restaurant. Obviously, no improvement here at all.

    • Rusticliving profile image

      Elizabeth Rayen 6 years ago from California

      wow.. There was a Farrells on Kauai a very long time ago.. I would say about 30 years. I remember having my little brothers birthday party there when he was (I think 10 or 11) The only thing I remember about it was the "Pig Trough" which some guys ordered at the next table. Was so huge it scared the heck out of me! Service was a little slow as well, but not as bad as you received. Still, is it any wonder that there are so few left? I think Farrells is actually becoming a thing of the past.. menus and all.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)