ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Globetrotter Calling Card Review

Updated on July 4, 2011

One of the best reliable prepaid calling cards I've been using is called Globetrotter. I like that their advertised minutes are accurate and the call qualities are excellent for where ever I needed to call. I kind of look at the Globetrotter phone card as the all around handy man, or a Swiss pocket knife with many unique tools.

Another reason why I'm not afraid to recommend Globetrotter phone card is because it's only carried by a company called Speedy Pin. It's the only company that offers a 100% guarantee on all of their products.

You can watch a video review of Speedy Pin that I made where you can watch me log into my account.

I will also list some other good points about Globetrotter as well as the bad points. I have always stated in my articles that there is no such thing as a perfect prepaid phone card.

Speedy Pin's Website
Speedy Pin's Website

Globetrotter Phone Card Details

I already mentioned that I use Globetrotter phone card because there is a 100% guarantee offered by it's carrier Speedy Pin.

But there is a deeper underlying reason why I use and highly recommend this phone card. And the reason is, there is absolutely no fees.

If you've read my blog or other articles about the phone card industry then you know I only recommend consumers to use phone cards with no fees or to use a phone card with the least amount of fees if you don't have any other choice.

Usually phone cards with fees have low call per minute rates, which is the reason why people buy them. But later on they'll find out that they've been bitten in the ass with absurd fees.

What I find interesting is that Globetrotter has a great balance of no fees and low call per minutes rates for the most popular called countries. Here are some sample rates below (All rates are based on calls made from Continental USA to a land line):

  • Argentina (Buenas Aires) - 1.54¢/minute
  • China - 1.98¢/minute
  • France - 2.42¢/minute
  • Germany - 2.09¢/minute
  • Guatemala - 10.48¢/minute
  • India (Major cities) 3.8¢/minute
  • Japan - 3.2¢/minute
  • Mexico (Major cities) - 3.86¢/minute
  • Pakistan - 9.4¢
  • Philippines - 18.33¢/minute
  • Russia (Moscow) 1.32¢/minute
  • South Korea - 3.42¢/minute
  • Thailand (Bangkok) 2.09¢/minute
  • United Kingdom - 1.76¢/minute

Globetrotter's network is provided by NTC very reliable company that provides excellent call quality.

The only con about Globetrotter is they don't offer toll free access numbers, only local access. I know it's not a big deal for most, but there are many households who still have to pay per minute for local access. I use VOIP from Vonage so my local access calls are unlimited.

Check Out a Short Video Review of Speedy Pin

Have you ever used Globetrotter before?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Calling cards india 

      7 years ago

      Thanks for sharing a useful information.

    • profile image

      Sean 

      8 years ago

      Thanks for this review ... however I was hoping to learn a little more about any possible additional fees associated with calling cellular phones.

      I found that the Globetrotter card was offering a mere 2.1 cents per minute to call cellular phones in france... that is around 75% less than the next cheapest card. This naturally led me to believe that it must be too good to be true, but I can't find anything to suggest that it is not.

      Any help is welcome!

    • Edwin Clark profile imageAUTHOR

      Edwin Clark 

      8 years ago from Thailand by way of New York

      I paris I apoligize for the late reply. I suggest asking your hotel how much they charge for international calls. Some might charge you more or some might charge you less. If you consider the rates too high from the hotel than look into using a payphone in Paris. Have Fun!

    • profile image

      Paris Bound 

      8 years ago

      What kind of card do you recommend calling from La Garenne France back to the US. Is it better to call from a payphone rather than the hotel phone?

    • Edwin Clark profile imageAUTHOR

      Edwin Clark 

      9 years ago from Thailand by way of New York

      Hi Traveler, according to the chart in Speedy Pin's website there are no fees. If you want to double check you can call Globetrotter at 1-888-662-3506. From what I know there is a fee if you're using a pay phone, however that fee is charged by the pay phone company, not Globetrotter. Thanks for reading my hub!

    • profile image

      traveler 

      9 years ago

      Do you know what the fees are for calling from a hotel in Portugal back to the US?

    • Edwin Clark profile imageAUTHOR

      Edwin Clark 

      9 years ago from Thailand by way of New York

      Hi Farmer, I think it would, but it would probably cost more. Your best option is to choose a card specifically for dialing within the US such as a long distance phone card, instead of an international phone card such as Globe Trotter, good luck!

    • profile image

      Farmer 

      9 years ago

      Edwin, will these cards call within the US ? Thanks, Farmer

    • Edwin Clark profile imageAUTHOR

      Edwin Clark 

      9 years ago from Thailand by way of New York

      Hi Dasha, thanks for visiting. Not sure which part of Europe you're from but usually when I'm in Germany I get charged a $1USD payphone fee which it states in Globetrotters card details. So .37 cents is probably a deal :)

      Since I know this phone card works for a lot of countries it's probably best for you to call and check how much the payphone fees are exactly.

    • profile image

      Dasha 

      9 years ago

      If you're using Globetrotter to call from Europe to the US there are a bunch of fees, notably to call from a pay phone is an extra 37cents in Italy, something not mentioned when you purchase the card.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)