ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Le Manoir Sainte Victoire Review: Bayeux, France

Updated on March 14, 2017
bdegiulio profile image

Traveling has always been one of my passions. It exposes us to new cultures, experiences, and makes the world a better, more tolerant place.

Le Manoir Sainte Victoire

Le Manoir Sainte Victoire
Le Manoir Sainte Victoire | Source

If your travels are taking you to the Normandy Coast of France and you plan to spend a few days in the area then I have a wonderful place for you to consider staying at. Le Manoir Sainte Victoire is a 15th to 17th century manor that offers three of the most comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms that you will find in the region. The three rooms, all of which are located in the “tower” are accessed by a beautiful stone spiral staircase. You get the feeling that you are staying in a medieval castle as you climb the winding stairs and you are greeted by the most amazing view of the nearby cathedral.

Le Manoir Sainte Victoire is perfectly located in the heart of historical Bayeux and you are literally just a few minutes from the towering Notre-Dame Cathedral of Bayeux and just 4-miles or so from the Normandy Coast and the English Channel.

Bayeux Notre-Dame Cathedral

Bayeux Notre-Dame Cathedral
Bayeux Notre-Dame Cathedral | Source

Given its proximity to the beaches of Normandy, Bayeux is often thought of as a base and launching point for tours of the D-Day sites that liter this region of France. Most visitors to Normandy come via the early train from Paris, take their tour, and then head back to Paris on the late train. If you are not on a tight schedule then consider planning a stay in charming Bayuex.

This ancient community traces its origins back to the 1st century BC and in addition to the Notre-Dame Cathedral it is also the home of the world famous Bayeux Tapestry, the Bayeux Memorial Museum of the Battle of Normandy, and the largest British WWII Military Cemetery in France. The tapestry, which is one of the largest in the world, is nearly 230 feet long and depicts the historical events leading up to the Norman conquest of England and the Battle of Hastings.

A markerLe Manoir Sainte Victoire, 32 Rue de la juridiction, 14400 Bayeux, France -
32 Rue de la Juridiction, 14400 Bayeux, France
get directions

Are you familiar with the Bauex Tapestry?

See results

Bayeux itself is a quaint and very walkable town with Manoir Sainte Victoire located on a quiet street right in the heart of this historical community. Le Manoir is secluded from the street by a gate and this gives visitors privacy when sitting in the beautiful courtyard, which is a great place to unwind and relax with a glass of wine. The courtyard has an interesting arrangement of plants, flowers and colorful ivy covered walls and a couple of sitting areas to enjoy. It's a very relaxing setting and we enjoyed our time in the courtyard planning our time in Bayeux.

Courtyard

Le Manoir Sainte Victoire Courtyard
Le Manoir Sainte Victoire Courtyard | Source
The Courtyard
The Courtyard | Source
Breakfast/Common Room
Breakfast/Common Room | Source

In addition to the three bedrooms in the tower, there is also a common room where breakfast is served and the room is appointed with a number of interesting pieces of artwork, paintings, a large fireplace and a couple of grandfather clocks.

Breakfast is served by owner Jean-Pierre Aitaoudia and includes homemade tarts, breads, biscuits, yogurt, jams, fruit, and a wide variety of beverages to satisfy every taste. Jean-Pierre is a delightful man who goes out of his way to make your stay comfortable and pleasant. He speaks excellent English and he will be more than happy to help you plan your stay, recommend a restaurant, or organize a tour of the Normandy landing sites for you. Even though we organized our Normandy tour on our own, Jean-Pierre gladly called our tour guide to re-confirm our pickup time for the next morning. He is just a very pleasant and very helpful man.

Breakfast/Common Room

Breakfast/Common Room
Breakfast/Common Room | Source

The Cocteua Room

The Cocteua Room
The Cocteua Room | Source
  • Jean Cocteua: French poet, playwright, painter and filmmaker: July 5, 1889 - October 11, 1963.
  • Joan Miro': Catalan Spanish painter: April 20, 1893 - December 25, 1983.
  • Louis Toffoli: Italian artist: October 16, 1907 - February 18, 1999.

The Tower Spiral Staircase
The Tower Spiral Staircase | Source

Each of the three bedrooms is dedicated and named after a famous European painter: Miro’, Toffoli and Cocteua. The beds are all queen size and extremely comfortable and the rooms are very large by French standards, large enough for a sitting area and a small kitchenette. The use of stone and other natural materials throughout the rooms just adds to the medieval ambience.

The very clean bathrooms are ensuite with walk-in showers, separate toilets, and all rooms have a towel warming rack, which is handy for drying clothes. All of the towels and linens are monogramed with Le Manoir Sainte Victorie, which just adds to that special touch.

Each room has a view of the Cathedral towers with the best views coming the higher you go in the tower. Internet access is available in the bedrooms and the breakfast area and each room also has a flat panel television.

Jean-Pierre and his wife Catherine really have thought of everything to help make your stay a pleasant one. And don’t worry about your stay breaking the vacation budget; rooms are just 89 euro per night with a discounted rate of 80 euro for the third night or longer. There is also a 1 euro local tax per person per night. If you’ve done your homework you know this is a great deal.

2014 TripAdvisor Travelers Choice Winner

Le Manoir Sainte Victoire
Le Manoir Sainte Victoire | Source

Le Manoir Sainte Victoire

4.3 out of 5 stars from 4 ratings of Le Manoir Sainte Victoire

If you are planning a trip to Normandy please do not overlook beautiful Bayeux, which is a destination in and of itself. Bayeux is just the right size with plenty of restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. This small medieval community has so much to offer and it makes the perfect base for touring not only the Normandy D-Day Beaches and Memorials but also stunning Mont St. Michel, which is just an hour and fifteen minutes away.

If you are like me and you do your research before making accommodations you will no doubt find that Le Manoir Sainte Victoire is the number one rated Bed & Breakfast in Bayeux and a TripAdvisor 2013 and 2014 Traveler’s Choice Winner. Believe everything you read because it’s all very true. Le Manoir Sainte Victoire is the real deal. Book it before it’s taken.

Au Voir

A markerBayeux, France -
14400 Bayeux, France
get directions

© 2014 Bill De Giulio

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • bdegiulio profile image
      Author

      Bill De Giulio 23 months ago from Massachusetts

      Hi Phyllis. I think you would love Bayeux. Plenty of old world charm and loaded with history. Le Manoir Siante Victoire was a great find. The hosts were so nice and the tower where the rooms are located felt like we were staying in a medieval castle. So glad you enjoyed the tour. Our visit to Bayeux and Normandy was certainly one of the many highlights of our trip to France.

    • Phyllis Doyle profile image

      Phyllis Doyle Burns 23 months ago from High desert of Nevada.

      My gosh! I so love Bayeux and the Manoir Sainte Victoire. I am also very happy, Bill, that you write about these lovely places you visit. Thank you for another great tour.

    • bdegiulio profile image
      Author

      Bill De Giulio 2 years ago from Massachusetts

      Hi Glimmer. Thank you. We do a lot of research upfront before we book a place and it almost always pays off. Most people go to Normandy for just a day to see the WWII site and then hop on the train back to Paris. We discovered that there was a lot to see besides the landing beaches so we decided to stay a few nights and it worked out great. Thanks for stopping by, it's grey here today also.

    • Glimmer Twin Fan profile image

      Glimmer Twin Fan 2 years ago

      What a lovely place to visit. How do you find these places? The surrounding area interests me as well. Another gorgeous article Bill. Thanks for brightening this grey Sunday afternoon here.

    • bdegiulio profile image
      Author

      Bill De Giulio 2 years ago from Massachusetts

      Hi Carter. Thank you. This is a great little B&B and a great little town to stay in when visiting Normandy. Jean-Pierre and his wife have done a wonderful job in creating the most comfortable home away from home. Thanks so much for the pin. Hope all is well.

    • carter06 profile image

      Mary 2 years ago from Cronulla NSW

      Thanks for this fab write up Bill..hopefully heading back over that way around this time next year and will be looking for accommodation so will def keep this in mind..great pics btw Le Manoir looks most inviting & would love to explore Bayeux..will pin this my board 'Beautiful Places to Visit'..Cheers

    • bdegiulio profile image
      Author

      Bill De Giulio 2 years ago from Massachusetts

      Hi Dianna. Thank you. This place was classic French in every respect. A true gem that we were lucky to find. Thanks for stopping by, have a great week.

    • teaches12345 profile image

      Dianna Mendez 2 years ago

      This is why I love reading articles such as this, I can visit these places through great writing and photos. I've never been to France but I would love to some day visit this area in person.

    • bdegiulio profile image
      Author

      Bill De Giulio 2 years ago from Massachusetts

      Hi Marcelle. Thank you. We really loved Normandy, such a beautiful region and Bayeux was a wonderful little town. Lucky you to be traveling in Italy, my favorite place :). Look forward to reading about your travels. Enjoy all that Italy has to offer. Ciao!

    • My Bell profile image

      Marcelle Bell 2 years ago

      Well done hub! I love Normandy and have traveled there so much over the years since I have family there. This B&B sounds like a perfect place to stay. I'm currrently traveling in Tuscany and Rome so I expect to have several hub reviews and recommendations from my travels.

    • bdegiulio profile image
      Author

      Bill De Giulio 2 years ago from Massachusetts

      Hi Linda. It was a wonderful place to stay and we enjoyed both Bayeux and seeing the D-Day sites. I had always wanted to see Normandy and it really was a moving experience seeing the sites and hearing the stories. Thank you and have agreat day.

    • bdegiulio profile image
      Author

      Bill De Giulio 2 years ago from Massachusetts

      Hi Flourish. Thank you. We did our homework to find Manoir Sainte Victoire and it was worth the effort. Just a wonderful place to spend a few days while visiting Normandy or Bayeux. We really felt like we were staying in a medieval castle. Thanks again, enjoy the remainder of the weekend.

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 2 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

      This sounds like a wonderful place to stay, Bill. I love your photos, as usual. I always enjoy the virtual tours that I take by reading your hubs!

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 2 years ago from USA

      What a fabulous review! This is the type of solid, trustworthy article that is sorely needed. In trying to book my trip to France last summer, I would have benefitted tremendously from this. So many of the travel websites provide glamorous photos of B&Bs, brief reviews of questionable authenticity, and then they jump right to the booking. However, you give people a deeper look based on personal experience. Very nicely done. Sounds like a fantastic stay. Pinning and sharing.

    • bdegiulio profile image
      Author

      Bill De Giulio 2 years ago from Massachusetts

      Hi Suzette. This B&B was the perfect place to spend a few days while touring the Normandy D-Day sites. Very quiet, clean, with a real authentic French charm. We stayed in the Cocteua room but they were all beautiful. Thanks for the visit, glad you enjoyed the tour.

    • suzettenaples profile image

      Suzette Walker 2 years ago from Taos, NM

      The Normandy Beaches are something I would like to see one day. Thank you for sharing this quaint and beautiful bed and breakfast with us. I would definitely love to stay there and the price is right. What a lovely place for under 100 euros. That is a bargain. I, of course, would want to stay in the Joan Miro room. Only a three bedroom bed and breakfast I would love and it would be so relaxing. So is the courtyard and the rooms you have pictured here are quaint and charming. And the Bayeux cathedral is magnificent. Thanks so much for the tour of this delightful place.

    • bdegiulio profile image
      Author

      Bill De Giulio 2 years ago from Massachusetts

      Hi Bill. Thank you. This B&B was a true gem. Just lovely people and a beautiful and relaxing place to spend a couple of days. Have a great weekend.

    • bdegiulio profile image
      Author

      Bill De Giulio 2 years ago from Massachusetts

      Hi Sally. Thank you. We really enjoyed this charming B&B. If you ever go to Normandy check them out. Thanks for stopping by, have a great weekend.

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 2 years ago from Olympia, WA

      That just looks lovely, Bill. So peaceful...so overflowing with history...great architecture...another great review by you my friend. Thank you for the mini-tour, and Happy Saturday to you.

    • sallybea profile image

      Sally Gulbrandsen 2 years ago from Norfolk

      Great review on what looks to be lovely place to stay. Definitely something to consider when I am next in the area. The images are lovely. Thank you for sharing.

    Click to Rate This Article