ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Travel and Places»
  • Visiting North America

Pueblos Of Puerto Rico-Part 11

Updated on December 28, 2014
Froggy213 profile image

A Gringo who moved to Puerto Rico, Greg loves writing about the island he now resides on. He and Maria also wrote several bilingual books...

We just keep driving and driving; taking pictures and having fun.

Come along with Froggy and his wife, Lastheart as they visit all the pueblos of the island of Puerto Rico.

Froggy has made 11 other hubs on pueblos they have visited so far. Make sure and read them.

Good pictures and some information on each pueblo. This virtual tour is meant to get your mouth watering to come visit Puerto Rico.

Puerto Rico is a commonwealth to the United States. You don't need a passport to visit. It just may be the 51st State before long.

Well, come along on this visit starting at beachfront; going inland and ending at beachfront. This visit will take you through North Central Puerto Rico.

show route and directions
A markerCatano Puerto Rico -
Cataño, Puerto Rico
get directions

B markerToa Baja Puerto Rico -
Toa Baja, Puerto Rico
get directions

C markerToa Alta Puerto Rico -
Toa Alta, 00953, Puerto Rico
get directions

D markerNaranjito Puerto Rico -
Naranjito, Puerto Rico
get directions

E markerCorozal Puerto Rico -
Corozal, Puerto Rico
get directions

F markerVega Alta Puerto Rico -
Vega Alta, 00692, Puerto Rico
get directions

Click thumbnail to view full-size


As you drive from San Juan to the small Pueblo of Cataño, you will notice a large factory. It is where Bacardi rum is made and bottled.

Cataño is just across the bay from San Juan (see the pictures).

This Pueblo is only 7.04 square miles in size. It's nickname is El Pueblo Que Se Negó a Morir or The People Who Refused To Die. They never would let San Juan take it over.

Cataño was founded in 1927 and the mayor is Jose Rosario.

You really need to see this wonderful Pueblo if you come to Puerto Rico. They have a ferry that runs from Cataño to San Juan.

Cataño is made up of 14 barrios; they are:

  • Cataño Pueblo
  • Residencial Rosendo Matienzo Cintron
  • Palmas (sectors)
  • Urb. Las Vegas
  • Urb. Marina Bahia
  • Urb. Vista del Morro
  • Barrio Cucharillas
  • Barrio Juana Matos
  • Barrio Puente Blanco
  • Bay View
  • Bahia
  • Urb. El Coqui 2
  • Barrio La Puntilla
  • Barrio EL Coqui 1

May Cataño last forever!!

Click thumbnail to view full-size

Toa Baja

We drove West into the pueblo of Toa Baja.

Toa Baja is known as Ciudad Bajo Aguas or City Under Water. It has its flooding problems.

This Pueblo covers 41.7 square miles and the mayor is Aníbal Vega Borges.

Toa Baja was founded in 1745.

Toa Baja is made up of 16 distinct barrios; they include:

  • Ingenio
  • Campanillas
  • Candelaria
  • San José
  • Media Luna
  • Sabana Seca
  • Toa Baja Pueblo
  • Macun
  • Villa Olga
  • Capitán
  • Lapra
  • Covadonga
  • San Pedro
  • Colinas
  • El Plantío
  • Levitown


Toa Alta

Just somewhat inland is the Pueblo of Toa Alta.

Toa Alta is known as "Cuna de Poetas" or The Cradle of Poets.

As you can see from the pictures, I had taken these on a different trip when we had to go to this Pueblo for something else.

Toa Alta was founded in 1751; you can see it in the construction.

This Pueblo covers 27.44 square miles and the mayor is Hon. Luis Collazo "Jumbo".

Toa Alta is made up of 10 distinct barrios; they are:

  • Contorno
  • Galateo
  • Mucarabones/Bucarabones
  • Ortiz
  • Piñas
  • Quebrada Arenas
  • Quebrada Cruz
  • Río Lajas
  • Sector los charriez
  • Cuco

Click thumbnail to view full-size


Further inland and into mountainous territory is the Pueblo of Naranjito.

Naranjito is known as La Ciudad de los Colores or The City of Colors. It IS quite colorful!

Naranjito covers 28.4 square miles and it was founded in 1824.

This Pueblo's mayor is Hon. Orlando Ortiz Chevres and it is made up of 8 distinct barrios. They are:

  • Achiote
  • Anones
  • Guadiana
  • Lomas
  • Cedro Abajo
  • Barrio Nuevo
  • Pueblo
  • Cedro Arriba

Click thumbnail to view full-size


Driving West from Naranjito you will reach the Pueblo of Corozal. Be careful though, it is mountainous terrain and narrow roads.

Corozal is known as La Cuna del Voleibol or The Crib of Volleyball. They love volleyball in Corozal.

This beautiful Pueblo was founded in 1795 and the mayor is Hon. Roberto Hernández Vélez.

Corozal covers 42 square miles and is made up of 12 distinct barrios; they are:

  • Abras
  • Cibuco
  • Cuchillas
  • Dos Bocas
  • Magueyes
  • Maná
  • Negros
  • Padilla
  • Palmarejo
  • Palmarito
  • Palos Blancos
  • Pueblo

Click thumbnail to view full-size

Vega Alta

Our last Pueblo for this hub is back along the beach front.

Vega Alta's nickname is Pueblo de los Ñangotaos or The City of Squatters. People used to squat waiting for the train which got it this name.

Vega Alta was founded in 1775 and covers 27.75 square miles.

The mayor of Vega Alta is Isabelo Molina.

Vega Alta is made up of 8 distinct barrios; they are:

  • Bajura
  • Candelaria
  • Cienegueta
  • Espinosa
  • Maricao
  • Mavilla
  • Sabana
  • Pueblo (downtown)


As with hubs before this, I hope you are enjoying the virtual tour.

I am leaving you with a video and song by Roy Brown-Rio De Corazal our Oubao Moin.

May you have a great day!

© G.L. Boudonck

© 2012 Greg Boudonck


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Froggy213 profile image

      Greg Boudonck 5 years ago from Will soon return to an Isla Del Sol - Puerto Rico Will Rise Strong

      Thanks Kenneth

    • profile image

      Kenneth McLean 5 years ago

      Glad to see Maria and you are having a great time. God Bless