ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Travel and Places»
  • Visiting North America

Pueblos Of Puerto Rico-Part 14

Updated on January 28, 2016
Froggy213 profile image

A Gringo who moved to Puerto Rico, Greg loves writing about the island he now resides on. He and Maria also wrote several bilingual books...

Well, we are continuing our journey giving all of you a "virtual tour" of this beautiful island of Puerto Rico.

Puerto Rico is located between the Atlantic Ocean and the Caribbean Ocean and is a territory of the United States.

All citizens of Puerto Rico are United States citizens also. You don't need a passport to visit here.

I strongly recommend a vacation to this wonderful island!

On this journey, Maggie and I will start at the Northwest edge of Puerto Rico and move inland into the mountains.

Learn about each Pueblo and some of the characteristics of it. I am taking pictures and describing some about each.

This island is rich in culture and I believe every American should know about what may become our 51st State.

Join the Frog and Butterfly on this 14th journey and be sure and read all the other Pueblo hubs!

show route and directions
A markerAguada Puerto Rico -
Aguada, Puerto Rico
get directions

B markerMoca Puerto Rico -
Moca, Puerto Rico
get directions

C markerSan Sebastian Puerto Rico -
San Sebastián, Puerto Rico
get directions

D markerLas Marias Puerto Rico -
Las Marías, Puerto Rico
get directions

E markerLares Puerto Rico -
Lares, Puerto Rico
get directions

Click thumbnail to view full-size


Aguada claims to be the arrival point of Columbus on his 2nd journey to the new world. Aguada's nickname is La Villa de Sotomayor or The Village of Sotomayor. This is because Cristóbal de Sotomayor received control of Aguada from Ponce de León.

Aguada was founded in 1508 and the mayor is Hon. Luis A. "Berty" Echevarria.

Aguada has a lot of history and I recommend it as a stop when you visit.

Aguada is made up of 18 distinct barrios; they are:

  • Aguada Pueblo
  • Asomante
  • Atalaya
  • Carrizal
  • Cerro Gordo
  • Cruces
  • Espinar
  • Guanábano
  • Guaniquilla
  • Guayabo
  • Jagüey
  • Lagunas
  • Mal Paso
  • Mamey
  • Marías
  • Naranjo
  • Piedras Blancas
  • Río Grande

Click thumbnail to view full-size


We drove East into the Pueblo of Moca.

Moca was founded in 1772 and is known as Capital del Mundillo or the Capital of Lace. Much lace is made there.

Moca covers 51.4 square miles and the mayor is Hon. José E. Aviles Santiago.

This beautiful Pueblo is made up of 12 distinct barrios: they include:

  • Aceitunas
  • Capá
  • Cerro Gordo
  • Cruz
  • Cuchillas
  • Centro
  • Marías
  • Naranjo
  • Plata
  • Pueblo
  • Rocha
  • Voladoras

Click thumbnail to view full-size

San Sebastián

San Sebastián was another few miles East. This beautiful Pueblo which is also rich in history was founded in 1752.

San Sebastián is known as San Sebastián Del Pepino or The Cucumber Town.

The mayor of this Pueblo is Javier Jiménez and it covers 71.7 square miles.

San Sebastián is made up of 25 distinct barrios; they are:

  • Altozano
  • Aibonito
  • Bahomamey
  • Calabazas
  • Cibao
  • Cidral
  • Culebrinas
  • Eneas
  • Guacio
  • Guajataca
  • Guatemala
  • Hato Arriba
  • Hoya Mala
  • Juncal
  • Magos
  • Mirabales
  • Perchas I
  • Perchas II
  • Piedras Blancas
  • Pozas
  • Robles
  • Saltos
  • Saltos II
  • San Sebastián Pueblo
  • Sonador

Click thumbnail to view full-size

Las Marías

South we drove into some beautiful countryside. Oranges growing and bananas. The smell was delightful!

Las Marías is known as Pueblo de la China Dulce or the Pueblo of Sweet Oranges.

This Pueblo was founded in 1871 and covers 44.07 square miles.

The mayor of Las Marías is Hon. Edwin Soto Santiago.

Las Marías is made up of 16 distinct barrios; they are:

  • Alto Sano
  • Anones
  • Bucarabones
  • Buena Vista
  • Cerrote
  • Chamorro
  • Espino
  • Furnias
  • Las Marías Pueblo
  • Maravilla Este
  • Maravilla Norte
  • Maravilla Sur
  • Naranjales
  • Palma Escrita
  • Purísima Concepción
  • Río Cañas

Click thumbnail to view full-size


We made our way East into one of the most famous Pueblos in Puerto Rico; Lares. In 1868, a major uprising for independence was held in Lares. It is known as the Grito de Lares and is celebrated there yearly.

Lares was found in 1827 and the mayor is Hon. Roberto Pagán Centeno.

This Pueblo covers 62.23 square miles and it is made up of 12 distinct barrios; they are:

  • Bartolo
  • Buenos Aires
  • Callejones
  • Espino
  • Lares
  • Lares Pueblo
  • La Torre
  • Mirasol
  • Pezuela
  • Piletas
  • Pueblo
  • Río Prieto


This was a magnificent journey and I hope you enjoyed it too.

Be sure and check out the rest of the hubs in this series; learn about Puerto Rico.

As with hubs before I am putting a piece on a famous individual from one of the Pueblos listed. This piece is dedicated to the memory of one of the greatest pro-independence fighters in Puerto Rico history; Lolita Lebron from Lares.

Enjoy the music and may Lolita rest in peace and know the country she fought for is delightful to this frog.

© G.L. Boudonck

© 2012 Greg Boudonck


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Claudia Tello profile image

      Claudia Tello 5 years ago from Mexico

      I like the fact that you have shared so many pictures, thanks!