ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Book Review: A Walk In The Woods by Bill Bryson

Updated on December 22, 2017
MacPharlain profile image

MacPharlain enjoys reading good books from many genres. His favorite is historical fiction and his favorite author is Patrick O'Brian.

Rediscovering America on the Appalachian Trail

Journey with travel writer Bill Bryson as he sets off to hike the legendary Appalachian Trail from Georgia to Maine.

Hiking the Appalachian Trail is something I've wanted to do since I was a kid. A thru hike is probably out of the question but I definitely want to hike sections of it. So I was really curious to read a first hand account of it.

Summary of "A Walk In The Woods"

What's this book about?

Home in the US after living abroad for 20 years, Bill Bryson sets out to get to know his country again by hiking the nearly 2,200 mile long Appalachian Trail from Georgia to Maine. Joining him on this quest is an old acquaintance, Stephen Katz, who is completely unprepared for starting their hike in Georgia.

Bryson documents the highs and lows of their adventure in a funny and perceptive style. He also offers plenty of information about the trail. Everything from the trail's history and ecology to its modern day environmental threats.

Bryson has many fears about hiking and living in the woods which he shares freely. The biggest is bears and he devotes several pages to summarizing his research on various bear attacks in the woods.

A Walk in the Woods: Rediscovering America on the Appalachian Trail
A Walk in the Woods: Rediscovering America on the Appalachian Trail

A funny and engaging story of hiking the Appalachian Trail for the first time that I didn't want to end.

 

Thoughts About "A Walk In The Woods"

The first thing I realized is that this isn't a "how to" guide for hiking the AT. It's a comical tale of one guy's journey mixed in with lots of great background on the trail and the country it covers. This book is a must read for anyone planning to hike the Appalachian Trail.

Bryson's very open with his opinions and observations about the trail. He talks about how it's maintained, which states have the best (and worst) trail maps and the impact of the federal government on the trail's usage and the environment. His conversational writing style keeps everything interesting and there's some really good stuff in here for anyone interested in the AT.

Hiking the Appalachian Trail is one of those experiences where you know you're going to meet some interesting people. Bryson does a good job of describing the ones he encountered on the trail.

What I Liked Most About "A Walk In The Woods"

  1. An interesting story that brings the experience of hiking the AT alive and motivated me to get serious about doing it myself.
  2. Very witty and funny writing style.
  3. It's an enjoyably easy read. You can read a few pages or a few chapters at a time.

Have You Hiked The Appalachian Trail?

See results

If you're going to hike the Appalachian Trail - Here's the guide for you...

The Thru-hiker's Handbook 2002: Guide to the Appalachian Trail (Georgia to Maine)
The Thru-hiker's Handbook 2002: Guide to the Appalachian Trail (Georgia to Maine)

Bryson refers to this book as "the one indispensable guide to the AT". Pair it with "A Walk in the Woods" and you'll have all the information you need to successfully hike the trail yourself.

 
5 stars for A Walk in the Woods

My Rating of "A Walk In The Woods"

This book was fun to read and educational at the same time. I highly recommend A Walk In The Woods for anyone planning to hike the AT.

This book easily gets 5 stars from me and I'm looking forward to reading more books by Bill Bryson.

How Do You Rate "A Walk In The Woods"?

See results

"A Walk in the Woods" - The Movie Version

In 2015, "A Walk in the Woods" was made into a movie. If you want a sneak peek of what's in the book, then check out the movie trailer below.

Other Books by Bill Bryson

Bryson is a prolific writer with many other books, including other travel memoirs. After reading A Walk in the Woods, I'm looking forward to reading some of his other works.

Comments

Thanks for reading my review. Please share your thoughts below on A Walk In The Woods, Bill Bryson or your adventures hiking the Appalachian Trail.

Your Trail Notes...

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      tomoxby 

      4 years ago

      I love the sense of humour Bill Bryson brings to all his books. This one is no different and makes for great reading.

    • profile image

      ZombieBodhi 

      5 years ago

      This book is one of my favorites. I just love Bryson's writing style, filled with a lot of interesting historical anecdotes mixed with witty humor. Not only do I learn a great deal from reading Bryson's books but often find myself laughing out loud... in public :)

    • profile image

      Echo Phoenix 

      5 years ago

      I loved this book. I had not read Bill Bryson's books prior to this, it has been several years since I read it and my memory is a wee bit fuzzy yet I do recall enjoying it. I enjoy hiking and have encountered bears, fortunately they were in a friendly mood that day:) I like Bryson's wit and style in weaving his stories.

    • natashaely profile image

      natashaely 

      6 years ago

      I have never read any of his books as I thought they were just travel guides. Having read your review has intrigued me anough to pick one up, I like that it is funny and not just for those who want to travel there although i am sure by the end of it I will want to. Another well written and personal page.

    • profile image

      katieross 

      6 years ago

      Neither Here Nor There is my FAVORITE Bryson book, but that's not to say they're not all wonderful. I was exposed to them in a Travel Literature seminar in undergrad and have been following his work ever since!

    • jackieb99 profile image

      jackieb99 

      7 years ago

      I love it, it inspired me to hike the AT

    • Peregrina LM profile image

      Peregrina LM 

      7 years ago

      I'm really going to have to read this book soon! I lensrolled this to my slow journeys lens.

    • KarenHC profile image

      Karen 

      8 years ago from U.S.

      My husband through-hiked the AT in 2004 -- hard 6 months for me. Hard for him too, but something he's wanted to do his whole life. He was in between jobs, so I suppose it was as good a time as any to go. Anyway, we both read Bill Bryson's book and thought it was a gem.

    • Ramkitten2000 profile image

      Deb Kingsbury 

      9 years ago from Flagstaff, Arizona

      I read this book after thru-hiking and really enjoyed it. I'd met some of the people Bryson wrote about. And some of the people he mentions are actually composites or charicatures of hikers he met. But, yes, I agree, definitely a book to have in your A.T. "library."

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)