Why Do We Get So Angry over Other Peoples Personal Choice?

Protesting, but do you know what for?
Protesting, but do you know what for? | Source

Manipulation is the name of the Game!

We humans are funny creatures. Throughout history there have been wars, disputes, and a complete break down in talks with different countries, purely because our personal perspective is different to theirs.

And for some reason this one man or woman, leader or even a lowly politician can change our whole way of life. The strange thing is that nearly 90 percent of the time the actual subject that is under dispute will in no way, affect that instigator.

Our minds are built to think. And think we do. But what makes us believe that what we think or do is the only way to go?

So many people in history have taken their views be it warped or somehow influenced by other ignorant people, and changed the whole dynamics of their country.

Napoleon.
Napoleon. | Source

Ah History!

Our history shows that there have been so many mistakes made purely because we as a nation, or in fact the whole world, have followed the teachings or words of a great leader. I say great leader in the loosest of terms!


There are lots of quotes about history. Take this one supposedly told by Napoleon.

'history is a set of lies agreed upon'.

In good old plain English this means that most of the time what happened in history was purely a slapdash concoction of what might have been.

Followed by embarrassment because we realised that we had followed the wrong leader in the first place. So therefore we made it up, changed bits and then give it a polish to make it look as though we knew what the hell we were doing.

Source

The Dark Side of Religion

While researching this I came across a disturbing report from a few hours ago. Evidently Archbishop Justin Welby has stated that;

'African Christians will be all killed if the Church accepts gay marriage'

In plain English without actually stating which countries, many foreign Christians will be ostracised purely because the local people either believe that being gay is evil, or that because they are Christian they will automatically become gay, therefore being attacked by their own religion and others too.

And that says it all really. We live in a first world country that is modern, has common sense and realises that we all have our own minds and freedom of expression too.

Along with America and other modern countries we know and accept people for what they are.

But of course in countries that are socially and mentally living in a primitive different culture this new law can and will cause major trouble.

.


Take for example the reason the new law stating that Gay people can get married in England. This came into law on the 13th March 2014. And hey, was there a huge argument about it?

You can bet your bottom dollar there was. There are always people trying to say what people can or can't do.

The strange thing is that most of those people who are against it, have absolutely nothing to do with Gay people whatsoever!

So what if someone wants to get married? Most people quote their religion as saying its wrong that same sex people get married. But at the end of the day, if someone loves another person surely its best that they can prove it and live in a lawful marriage?

We forget that all the religious books were written in a time so long ago that every single thing was different back then.

Religion has had to change to keep up with our present day. We can't pick and choose what we decide should be updated or left behind.

So many people believe that their religion should never be changed. And to be fair this can be the right way. Surely religion is there to be followed? Why should we change it? But of course it can cause major rifts, as the latest news shows.

Like A Sheep We Follow.....

Source

Opinions Opinions Opinions!

The psychology behind humans and their beliefs is a strange one. Most of the time the majority of people who stand up and argue against a new law, or state of the country have absolutely no idea really what they know about it.

If you joined a rally for example purely to see why they are protesting half the population would have absolutely no idea really why they dislike it, what its actually about and how the heck they got there.

The trouble is, people are like sheep. One takes the lead, talks a reasonable argument and then the rest follow.

But of course there must be a small seed of doubt, or hatred towards that cause that will make those people go off the deep end about it.

But do they actually stop and think?

Source

What Makes People....

Follow the leader without thinking for themselves? I believe that it is a feeling of belonging. Whether its religion, or just a group of friends, we tend to think that if someone else believes in something really strongly then they must be right.

This sets the seed for you to start doubting your own mind. Well, they are more intelligent than you aren't they? You think. Or, there must be something I am missing so I don't want to look stupid by ignoring it.

This attitude throughout history has caused so much grief its unbelievable. In the Second World War millions of people died in death camps, on the ground and in the air. Why? Because one mad man who was interested in the occult decided that the Aryan race should be all powerful.

Not many people realise that Hitler was so interested in ancient history that he 'saw' his future in the way Rome had called the Germans a super power. What he didn't know, or chose not to know was that the Germans, or people of Germania were in fact not the Germans as we know today. They were a mixture of Danish, Gaul and various tribes from Europe. Germans themselves were only a small part of the whole.

But Hitler, in his own mind decided that they were indeed the same people, and if the Romans were scared of them then he must be the new leader of these Aryan super race.

But why did the rest of the population get involved in the evil that followed? Many people after the war in Germany refused to acknowledge the evil that they must have seen at the time.

Tacitus the Roman Historian. Germania and the Romans.
Tacitus the Roman Historian. Germania and the Romans. | Source

Tacitus The Roman Historian

When Tacitus the Roman Historian wrote that little book about the ancient Germanic tribes, there was no way he could have foreseen how, many centuries later, the German Nazis would take the book and worship it as a bible.

This was the start of how Germany tried to resurrect the myth of becoming the greatest Aryan race in history.

This is a fascinating book that shows how an ancient text rose to heights beyond anything anyone would believe.

It has been classed as the most dangerous book in the whole world. Fascinating reading!

Romans V Germania

Source
Source

Fear Is The Key.

The Second World War shows us just how easy it is to manipulate by fear. This is understandable to a certain degree. But to be able to kill so many innocent people whereas before the war they never even hurt one person is still beyond my logic.

In war we do horrible things.

But what about everyday problems? neighbors get involved in disputes that have nothing to do with them.

People gossip and cause havoc where there doesn't need to be problems. Why?

Can you imagine a world where nobody interfered with other people? Where we all respected each others Race, Creed and Religion? How amazing would that be?

We could travel anywhere in the world, learning and growing with each other. Now that would be something wouldn't it?

But fear is the key. Until we eradicate fear then nothing will change. Fear that the Bible which stated only men and women should marry each other. Fear that we would be hurt if we don't believe in our leaders.

Fear if we don't get involved with our neighbors disputes. And so on.

We need to start using our own brains and thoughts. I think its time we stopped following the 'leader' so to speak, and think for ourselves.


© 2014 Nell Rose

More by this Author


Comments 72 comments

Kevina Oyatedor profile image

Kevina Oyatedor 2 years ago

i think its because we all want everyone to like the same thing everyone else likes. if u don't its different, you're different and should be punished or shunned. its weird. one person's opinion shouldn't affect u in any way or change how u feel or act. if u like something and that person likes something else, the thing u can say is that's cool and move on. great hub.


billybuc profile image

billybuc 2 years ago from Olympia, WA

Such an important message here, Nell, and bravo to you for speaking it. I, too, believe fear is the common factor. People are afraid of the unknown, and the unknown threatens them, and so we have such strong and many times nasty opinions about those things we do not understand. Well done my friend.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Thanks Kevina, that is so true! we should all be advanced enough to have our own opinions, thanks so much for reading, nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Hi Billy, thanks so much, this started really with me getting angry at the response to the marriages, and went from there, how the heck I got to tacitus is anybodys guess! lol! thanks as always, nell


fpherj48 profile image

fpherj48 2 years ago from Beautiful Upstate New York

Nell...The sheep mentality has always been something I view as so pathetic. We can look on, as a large group of lost and perhaps lonely people get pulled into an evil and dangerous cult, by the ranting and raving of an obvious lunatic. We can be shocked and outraged, but in fact, helpless to do anything about it.

Every one of us has known or been closely associated with the gossip, busybody...."control freak." These characters feel the need to guide and direct others to do "the right thing," which in their mind, is actually the only thing...the only way.

Yes, Nell, you are right, it's a very curious thing how people will blindly follow. How, we wonder, can a thinking, rational human being, change all their beliefs, their ideals and entire life, on the words and actions of another individual, a stranger whom they have been brainwashed by and made to feel guilt?

This hub is most interesting Nell and I will hope you succeed in helping people to stop....and THINK....UP++


Jackie Lynnley profile image

Jackie Lynnley 2 years ago from The Beautiful South

When things like this come up I always think of Jim Jones and how on earth he managed to get these people to poison their children and then, themselves. We do have too many sheepal that go along with what ones around them think they should think. Having a mind of our own and able to reason is all that keeps us all from being sheepal. How many times will it have to happen for people to learn? ^+

Been looking at the new photos of your mini King! Love his little heart. lol


tobusiness profile image

tobusiness 2 years ago from Bedfordshire, U.K

Nell, this is a very interesting hub. I guess beneath all the bravado we all have a need to be one of the pack.

There's a very disturbing trend among youngster right now, they call it "Nek Nominate" they dare each other to drink copious amounts of alcohol in a short period of time. Each kid drinks more, to out drink the others. Many of these youngsters are being admitted to hospital with alcohol poisoning and even deaths. But the drinking game is still being played. As you've mentioned, history is littered with examples of man's inhumanity and the consequences, yet; we just keep repeating the same craziness over and over again. Why can't we simply live and let live? An exceptional read, well done.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Thanks Paula, as I said to bill it was the marriage on tv that started me off on my rant! lol! but then I realised that through history we have always been like this, and isn't it about time we all changed? thanks so much for reading as always, nell


FlourishAnyway profile image

FlourishAnyway 2 years ago from USA

Congratulations on having the courage to question. I'm a very "live, let live" person but often feel like I am surrounded by those who do not share that mentality. My own brother and sister are quite dogmatic in their belief systems.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Hi Jackie, yes no wonder they call them sheep, everybody should learn differently, and yes the mini king! lol! so cute! thanks as always, and have a great weekend too, nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Thanks so much tobusiness, and yes I have heard about that drinking craze, for goodness sake what the heck is wrong with them? it's a scary thing to think that kids or teens can turn on a pc see others doing stupid life changing things and do it themselves! I can remember being a teen, I was really not that stupid! why do they do that these days? can't they think for themselves? scary stuff indeed, thanks so much nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Hi Flourish, its so darn annoying isn't it when people do follow the proverbial sheep, and if we give our own opinion we just get stared at, or argued with. Will the world ever change? Nah I doubt it, which is really sad, thanks so much for reading, and have a wonderful weekend, nell


Hackslap profile image

Hackslap 2 years ago from Sydney, Australia

Fabulous article!! ..All I'll say is that its nothing but insecurity and a general lack of identity which makes people or a community wary of someone else's personal choices if they violate the 'norm' .. as long as they don't harm the community or it doesn't involve violence..what anybody does is entirely their business....what I hate the most is MORAL POLICING


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Hi Hackslap, thank you so much! and yes I totally agree with you about the moral policing, it drives me insane! why do they do it? what is it in their lives that make this small thing for example so darn important to them? I often think that they must know someone or have a relative that is involved for example for them to get so mad. thanks so much for reading, nell


MartieCoetser profile image

MartieCoetser 2 years ago from South Africa

I am so glad I am part of a group consisting of great, positive and super-intelligent people like you, Nell Rose. This is a most insightful hub, stressing my own perspective on humans and human behaviour. The video about fear is totally awesome.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Hi Martie, thank you so much, what a great compliment, I am honored! It started with me getting angry about the reaction to gay marriages, then it took on a life of its own! lol! have a wonderful weekend, nell


AudreyHowitt profile image

AudreyHowitt 2 years ago from California

I think it is fear that drives so much discrimination and intolerance--such a great hub!


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Hi Audrey, thanks so much for reading, yes fear is a great leveler as they say!


Sunshine625 profile image

Sunshine625 2 years ago from Orlando, FL

I don't understand why any one would be angry over some one sharing their opinion or their personal choice...maybe, it's ignorance? What ever it is, I'm glad I don't have it :)

If you have nothing nice to say, say nothing at all.


Faith Reaper profile image

Faith Reaper 2 years ago from southern USA

Yes, I do not understand why people do get so angry about the choices of others, as it is a waste of life to no avail. As my sweet mother would always say, "To each his own." She would also say what Sunshine stated too, "If you have nothing nice to say, say nothing at all."

Wow, that most dangerous book in the world, sound interesting!

It is truly a scary thing, as relates to Jim Jones brainwashing all of those people, as Jackie stated. They said he did not allow any protein in their diets and after a period of time, when one's brain goes without protein, one is easily brainwashed. Scary stuff.

Have a great weekend,

Faith Reaper


Jodah profile image

Jodah 2 years ago from Queensland Australia

Great hub Nell, with a message that everyone should read, especially the heads of all countries. Why are we constantly concerned with what others do and things that are none of our business and don't effect us? Of course Governments always think up a reason or excuse for going to war for instance in a country on the other side of the world eg. Weapons of mass destruction. Western countries also have a desire to force 'democracy' on others as though it is a cure all for all. Show me the proof that overthrowing dictatorships and regimes in countries that have never known any other way, has had positive outcomes. Rarely, do these countries end up better off. Look at Iraq and Afghanistan. Just because we think it is the right way of life for us, doesn't mean it is for everyone.

Anyway, enough of my ranting, thanks for writing this. Voted up.


sujaya venkatesh profile image

sujaya venkatesh 2 years ago

ignorance nel?


Michael Murcott profile image

Michael Murcott 2 years ago from London, United Kingdom

The politics of fear. How fear can be used by politicians, religious leaders and rabble-rousers to manipulate the population into committing acts of ultraviolence. - http://youtu.be/-gjE41E60_4

Why people identify themselves in popular recognisable groups. A look at groups and the problems that occur when people identify themselves with different groups and the conflicts that result from the perceived differences. -

http://youtu.be/mAV19rNua4A


Sneha Sunny profile image

Sneha Sunny 2 years ago from India

This is an awesome hub. Very true! Great message here. This thing can be seen in day to day lives, its so very common. Most people think that only what they believe is right but in fact it simply shows that they don't respect what others think, or in simple words they don't like anybody who's different than them or have a different thinking/feelings. It's true most of the conflicts are based on such feelings. I feel it's quite sad and disgusting that people hate people just for having different feelings! I mean, really?!


always exploring profile image

always exploring 2 years ago from Southern Illinois

What absolutely boggles my mind is religion itself. So many different beliefs and each cult believes they are right. It is right to do this but wrong to do that, where do they get that? Many pick and choose, like it's wrong for a woman to cut her hair, yet it's ok to be overweight, did they not see the word gluten, please! People still are prejudice against anyone whose skin is not snowy white, how wrong is that? I must honestly admit that i don't understand how one can be attracted to their same sex but it happens. People do not choose to be gay, they are born that way, why can't people understand that and stop hating them. Sometimes i just slip away and listen to Jonh Lennon's ' Imagine ' and i feel better. This is a great topic/hub. Thank you for letting me vent. Hee


cfin profile image

cfin 2 years ago from The World we live in

Some people are controlling and believe that everyone must do as you want them to. They're called In-Laws ;)


DDE profile image

DDE 2 years ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

People are free to do what they and what they choose to the problem however remains with each individual who interferes with other people's choices your hub was most informative and useful


Radcliff profile image

Radcliff 2 years ago from Hudson, FL

Fear is the key--you are so right. It always shocks me how far public opinion is swayed by the powers that be. People think they know about controversial subject even though they don't take the time to research and use common sense. They hear the same messages over and over, and in their minds brainwashing turns into facts. Great hub!


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Thanks Linda, that's so true, I started off by getting mad watching tv and this happened! lol!


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Wow! thanks Faith, I never knew about the protein, and yes that does make sense! I learned something new, thank you!


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

That's so true, Jodah, we think democracy is best but what do we know? well for us it is, but many years of leading a country by a different way is not easy to change, thanks so much for reading, nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Thanks sujaya, yes that's probably right, thanks!


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Hi Michael, thanks for the links, nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Hi Sneha, yes it is so sad that people think this way, you only have to look at the second world war, how that happened is anybodys guess, but happened it did, thanks so much for reading, nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Hi Ruby, yes I totally agree with you, and John Lennons song said it all didn't it? of course racism isn't just about being white, in fact most cultures are more racist than anybody in the west. for example many cultures won't allow their people to mix or marry white people, it works both ways, thanks so much for reading, nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

lol! thanks for making me laugh cfin! that is so darn true!


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Thanks DDE glad you liked it, and thanks for reading, nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

HI Radcliff, yes that's so true, its the lack of research and common sense, along with fear to go against anybody else that causes the problems in the first place, great to see you! and thanks for reading, nell


AliciaC profile image

AliciaC 2 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

This is an important and thought provoking hub, Nell. The idea that so many people follow others without thinking for themselves is a frightening comment about human beings.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Hi Alicia, thanks so much for reading, yes in this day and age you would have thought that people would sit back and think before they start spouting hate, especially after the second world war, will we ever learn? thanks again, nell


aviannovice profile image

aviannovice 2 years ago from Stillwater, OK

Nell, your ideology is correct. I have friends all over the world, which includes people whose religions despise each other. They are still my friends, and I will NOT get into it. I appreciate their individuality and their great minds and the good things that they all bring into my life. The only thing that I can wish for, is that we all look alike, and perhaps this madness will end...


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Hi Deb, that is a really good point, if in reality we did all look alike then maybe we would get on better, but I am sure people would always find something to argue, fight, and war about sadly, I think that's why in a good sense how we get on on the internet, there are no barriers because we only get to meet the real person behind the screen without having religion or race there in front of us, sadly this is how some people see each other, thanks so much for reading, nell


Vellur profile image

Vellur 2 years ago from Dubai

I totally agree it is high time we think for ourselves and not play follow the leader. Great hub.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Thanks so much Vellur, glad you liked it, nell


alancaster149 profile image

alancaster149 2 years ago from Forest Gate, London E7, U K (ex-pat Yorkshire)

It's a mixture, isn't it. Belonging with your peers is a bugbear that got the Germans into hot water, amongst others. Look at how the Koreans are kept on the straight and narrow. The Chinese have only recently eased off the reins - but only so far. There are those in the Ukraine who want to belong to the European 'Club', and more want to be with Mother Russia.

Emotions get the better of us, and the sight of two men kissing could easily turn the stomach of many. I can't say it's something I relish. We don't turn a hair when two women kiss - well, not as much, usually it's a long-time-no-see thing.

Gay men - and let's face it the law against homosexuality in the UK was only repealed thirty-odd years ago - are often only 'going with the flow' because at the moment it's 'chic'. In English public schools many boys - or girls, at Roedean or Cheltenham - spend undue time away from the company of the opposite sex. I went to a mixed secondary modern school and had a number of 'crushes', as I did at art school, on girls there. Yet single-sex schooling doesn't affect the majority. There are other factors at play.

In countries where homosexuality is actively banned there are many who can't help themselves, especially in societies that keep their womenfolk under tight control with dress codes and so on. What does it teach a child when he/she sees one half of the population are treated as 'underlings'? 'Education' amounts to 'know your place'.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Hi alan, yes that's the trouble, so many countries get stuck in the old ways, with no way to go forward, I am sure one of these days their whole way of life will change, but sadly the people in the countries will take longer to adapt, thanks so much for reading, nell


MsDora profile image

MsDora 2 years ago from The Caribbean

The same thing is true in England, America, the Caribbean and perhaps everywhere else: "Most of the time the majority of people who stand up and argue against a new law, or state of the country have absolutely no idea really what they know about it." That is frustrating because these ignorant people are usually loud-mouthed and can influence other people.We have to do the research for ourselves (hopefully we find the truth) and make our own decisions.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Hi MsDora, that's so true, its scary to think that many people don't actually think before they do something, they go on instinct, and that's so not right, thanks so much for reading, nell


Suzanne Day profile image

Suzanne Day 2 years ago from Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Yes, I can't understand why people get so worked up over things that have nothing to do with them, like gay marriage! There seems to be a societal culture of bullying where people feel free to criticise obese people and other things, but when it comes to actually thinking about what their involvement is with something in the bigger picture, they just go along doing whatever evil without a thought. Voted useful and loved the pic of the sheep!


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Hi Suzanne, thanks so much for reading, people are strange sometimes aren't they? they seem to love finding conflict when there needn't be any!


Thelma Alberts profile image

Thelma Alberts 2 years ago from Germany

This is a thought provoking awesome hub. Yes, it´s time for us to think of ourselves. I wonder why those people are against gay marriage. If those gay people wants to get married, let them. It means they love each other and there´s no war between each other when love is there. Is it not what our God preaches us? To love one another? Thanks for sharing this Nell. Have a nice day!


Faith Reaper profile image

Faith Reaper 2 years ago from southern USA

Oh, I meant to add here the other day that it always boggles my mind when others get angry about my choice to love the Lord, when they can have their own choice? I do not get angry about others' choices, although I may not understand them.

Have a great weekend.

Faith Reaper


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Hi Thelma, that's so true, people really should learn to think for themselves shouldn't they? thanks so much for reading, nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Hi Faith, yes I totally understand, why do people get so darned angry? i think its because they think they know it all, and the fact is, nobody really knows everything, we are all entitled to our own opinions, for but goodness sake they should keep it to themselves! see, my soapbox too! Haha! thanks, nell


ignugent17 profile image

ignugent17 2 years ago from Central Illinois , USA

Very interesting Nell Rose. I think people want to follow the leader because they don't want to take the responsibilities. Some get angry because others don't follow. Leaders are there to lead but if they are doing the wrong thing then we have the choice not to follow.

Thanks for sharing your hub! :-)


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Hi ignugent, that's so true, if only we could find really kind nice leaders, if we are going to be sheep then at least we would follow the right ones! thanks so much, nell


teaches12345 profile image

teaches12345 2 years ago

Gossip is the one trait I cannot tolerate. It has destroyed so many good people, in fact - it is murder of one's character. I do believe the best practice is to only say good things about others or say nothing at all, it makes for a better world.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Hi teaches, that is so true, if only everyone would think that way, thanks as always, nell


WiccanSage profile image

WiccanSage 2 years ago

So much great food for thought here, really excellent hub. To me I think it all comes down to ego. For some people, it's taken as a form of rejection when someone else says, "I think/believe/prefer differently than you do." When that attitude permeates a collective, instilling it with a "you're for us or against us" mindset, it can be quite dangerous.

I saw one great atheist video on why people of a religion get crazy when you reject their God-- essentially their God is a construct of their own mind, which means to reject their God is to reject the person. It was quite interesting.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Thats interesting about why people argue over God, I would never have thought of that! good point! thanks again Wiccan, nell


CraftytotheCore profile image

CraftytotheCore 2 years ago

Nell, such an interesting insight in to this topic. When I joined FB a couple of years ago, I really got a first hand look at people I thought I knew my whole life. I didn't know them at all. Pack mentality surfaces in a lot of topics about things that are personal choice. I feel live and let live.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Hi Crafty, yes facebook does tend to show all sides of a person that we believe we know, I think its because we don't like to be left out, or be the one who stands up for something else, I believe in the same as you, live and let live, thanks so much, nell


aviannovice profile image

aviannovice 2 years ago from Stillwater, OK

I am one of those that will never play follow the leader. I have always believed in free thought, and have lived it from the age of 12. My father forced me to go to church(alone), and I didn't like how people dressed up and behaved one day of the week. It was easy to see how they were the rest of the week. I resented being forced to attend a rally where a flock of animals listened to someone else's singular opinion.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Hi Deb, I know what you mean about Church, I took my son a few times when he was small, and yes I agree, the way they acted in and out of Church just made me so mad, totally different. It reminds me of the saying, ' I laugh at you because you are different, but I laugh at you because you are all the same' thanks for reading, and have a wonderful weekend, nell


bethperry profile image

bethperry 2 years ago from Tennesee

Quite an insightful Hub, Nell!

As a Norse pagan, I have always get infuriated to think how the Nazi's bastardized my Gods and rewrote the words of the Elders to suit their purposes. I have no doubt that Tacitus would be shocked, too.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Hi beth, how strange that you mention how the Nazi's took the Gods, because I was reading about that this morning! lol! great minds alike etc! thanks so much for reading, nell


suzettenaples profile image

suzettenaples 2 years ago from Taos, NM

Gosh, Nell, how did I miss this hub? This is so interesting and informative. Yes, I agree with you, it is fear that causes people not to like another people. Your example of Hitler, is of course, excellent. I didn't know that Tacitus's book "Germania" was what Hitler based his ideas of Aryan dominance on. That is amazing. I will have to read that at some point and time. It is too bad we all can't just get along in this world, but as you said, some of our so-called leaders were wrong.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Hi suzette, its amazing isn't it? History is a funny thing, and Napoleon was right, so many cover ups, and so much bias causes all the hatred, yes that Tacitus book, wow! thanks so much for reading, nell


torrilynn profile image

torrilynn 2 years ago

This was an interesting hub, it really has me thinking. Thank you. Voted up.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Thanks torrilynn, glad you liked it, and thanks for reading, nell


poetryman6969 profile image

poetryman6969 2 years ago

When someone tries to make personal choices into public policy, I sometimes have a problem with that. Especially if I have to pay for it. There are a lot of things that I think are none my business but I would like to freedom to not hear about them as well. I really don't need to know everything everyone else does behind closed doors.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 2 years ago from England Author

Hi poetry, I totally agree with you, sometimes when its in your face so to speak it can drive you nuts! thanks so much for reading, nell

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working