Interstellar | Movie Review

In a Real Theater, No Less!

It is not often that we go out to see a movie in a theater. Usually, on our budget, we must wait a year or so for it to be released to DVD. However, for a treat once or twice a year, we’ll take in a real movie experience at the local bargain movie house.

This time, we went and saw a recently-released movie, “Interstellar,” that has been rather heavily promoted in TV ads. Based upon that, I wasn’t sure it would be a good movie, as usually the rate of advertising is in inverse proportion to the quality of the movie.

I was pleasantly surprised. As is my custom, I will not include any spoilers as to how the movie ends, or give away any more of the plot than is seen in the televised trailers. Please note that any comments including such spoilers will be denied.

Settle in For a Long Ride

As today’s movies go, this is a long one. There is a good mix of slow scenes and fast-paced edge-of-your-seat scenes. But there is really no part you want to miss, as it all ties in together in the end.

The entire movie runs nearly three hours! So my main suggestion is this: don’t get a large drink--you don’t want to have to miss part of the action to visit the restroom!

The Plot

The genre is Science Fiction, and is well done, in this writer’s opinion.

The movie follows a particular family through their struggles with a changing earth. The widowed father and his two children share the main character roles with those of the agency responsible for the featured project.

As seen in the trailer, the Earth is becoming unable to support life, and an effort must be made to save civilization by finding another planet. Therein lies the rest of the plot action.

Matthew McConaughey does an admirable and believable job of portraying the father torn between duty and family; Mackenzie Foy, as the daughter, does an equally professional job of portraying full-blown pre-teen angst about her father's decision.

The adventures out in space follow a rather predictable course of action, close calls, personality clashes, near disasters, and amazing recoveries. In that sense, it is somewhat formulaic. But there are twists and turns aplenty, and things you just don't see coming.

The movie deserves kudos for crediting girls with intelligence, and gives the role of the brilliant mind to the daughter.

Have You Seen This Movie?

  • Yes
  • No
  • Plan on It
  • Not my kind of movie
See results without voting

General Information:

Released in its California premiere on October 26, 2014, it is still a relatively new film. This is a multi-corporation collaboration between Paramount Pictures, Legendary Pictures, Linda Obst Productions, Syncopy, and Warner Brothers. It is amazing that it takes so much from so many to make a good movie these days!

Written by Johnathan and Christopher Nolan. Directed by Christopher Nolan.

Jordan Goldberg, Jake Myers, Kip Thorne, and Thomas Tull all share executive producer credits.

Music is by Hans Zimmer.

Cast of Characters

Some big names are featured in this movie; and some less familiar. All did an admirable job.

A partial listing appears below:

Character:
Played By:
Murph (age 10)
Mackenzie Foy
Cooper
Matthew McConaughey
Murph (middle-aged)
Jessica Chastain
Tom (age 15)
Timothée Chalamet
Donald
John Lithgow
Voice of TARS
Bill Irwin
Brand
Anne Hathaway
Professor Brand
Michael Caine
Voice of CASE
Josh Stewart
Tom (adult)
Casey Affleck
Murph (old)
Ellen Burstyn
Dr. Mann
Matt Damon

Official Trailer

More by this Author


19 comments

cinderella14 profile image

cinderella14 2 years ago from Philippines

Sounds like this would be a very interesting movie to watch on big screen. Not sure thought when it will be shown in our place but I will certainly look out for it. Thank you for sharing a good review of the movie. Have a wonderful weekend.


DzyMsLizzy profile image

DzyMsLizzy 2 years ago from Oakley, CA Author

Hello, cinderella14,

It was a very good movie, and one of those best seen on the big screen with the full surround-sound effects. I'm glad you enjoyed the review.

(The information I found online says it was released in the Philippines on Nov. 6th.)


B. Leekley profile image

B. Leekley 2 years ago from Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

Good review. I'm glad to know about the movie, whether of not I get around to seeing it. I wonder if an Imax version will be made.

I've read predictions by some scientists that global warming is already past the point of saving humanity from extinction within a generation or two. I hope they are being overly pessimistic and are misinterpreting the data and that at worst the human species will face massive die-offs, because to my awareness we are not ready for interstellar travel.


DzyMsLizzy profile image

DzyMsLizzy 2 years ago from Oakley, CA Author

Hello, B.Leekley,

You are correct; we are far from ready for interstellar travel, as things now stand. Technologically, maybe, at a stretch. But socially and emotionally, we are still infants!


junecampbell profile image

junecampbell 2 years ago from North Vancouver, BC, Canada

I may see this movie. I was on the fence about it because sci/fi is not my genre, but occasionally there is one I like to see.


billybuc profile image

billybuc 2 years ago from Olympia, WA

We are going to it this morning. I haven't eaten breakfast so I'm ready for popcorn and a three-hour ride through space. Thank you for the review. I'm pretty sure I'm going to enjoy it.


AngeShearer profile image

AngeShearer 2 years ago from Whangarei, Northland

Great review love how you never gave anything away. ..im not a science fiction fan but based on your informative outlay I may just have to view this movie. ...thanks


kevin murphy-87 profile image

kevin murphy-87 2 years ago from Ireland

I just watched it last night and thought it was pretty good. One of those movies that gets you thinking. I'm a big fan of anything to do with space so it was right up my street but i'd say its not for everyone. Nice review, voted up :)


DzyMsLizzy profile image

DzyMsLizzy 2 years ago from Oakley, CA Author

@ junecampbell--I think you might enjoy it. The special effects are amazing in and of themselves! ;-)

@ billybuc--I hope you enjoyed the movie, Bill, along with your popcorn spree! ;-) Do let me know if it met your expectations!

@ AngeShearer --I don't like spoilers, so I try very hard never to include any tips to how the story comes out, and usually nothing more than is widely seen in the televised trailers. The rest is limited to my own opinion. I'm glad you liked my review, and I hope you get a chance to see it!

@ keven murphy-87--It does make you think, deeply. Thanks for the comment; glad you enjoyed both the movie and my review.


AliciaC profile image

AliciaC 2 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

I'm hoping to see Interstellar very soon, so I appreciate learning about it. Thanks for the warning about the movie's length, too!


DzyMsLizzy profile image

DzyMsLizzy 2 years ago from Oakley, CA Author

Hi, AliciaC - I hope you enjoy it; I think you will. Glad you enjoyed the review and the "warning." LOL Thanks much for stopping by!


MsDora profile image

MsDora 2 years ago from The Caribbean

You did a good job of whetting the appetite. Sounds like a movie worth seeing. Thanks for the review.


DzyMsLizzy profile image

DzyMsLizzy 2 years ago from Oakley, CA Author

Hello, MsDora,

Thanks! I'm glad you are intrigued to go see this movie. I don't think you will be disappointed.


teaches12345 profile image

teaches12345 2 years ago

I have read other people's comments on this movie and now, after reading your review, I do want to see it. I love the actors in this movie, especially McConaughey and Daman. Can't wait to go to the movies now.


DzyMsLizzy profile image

DzyMsLizzy 2 years ago from Oakley, CA Author

Hi there, teaches12345!

I do think you will enjoy the movie. Bring yourself a pack of lifesavers to wet your whistle so you don't need that large drink! LOL

Thanks much for stopping by, and I'm glad you liked my review.


drbj profile image

drbj 2 years ago from south Florida

This was an amazing spoiler-less review, Liz. You did a great job without giving any surprises away. Plan to see the film next week. Shall I tell the theater you sent me?


DzyMsLizzy profile image

DzyMsLizzy 2 years ago from Oakley, CA Author

LOL, drbj! I'm glad you liked the review, but I doubt my name would be recognized anywhere in FL. Hee hee hee. Enjoy the movie!


stevemorgan1005 profile image

stevemorgan1005 23 months ago from Chattanooga, TN

This is a very well written review. My wife and I went and saw this movie the day it released (it just happened to be date night). We are both into sci-fi type movies, and we loved this one! It had the perfect balance of every movie trait you could ask for: serious, funny, thrilling, surprising, etc.

Again, very well written review. I look forward to seeing more.


DzyMsLizzy profile image

DzyMsLizzy 23 months ago from Oakley, CA Author

Hello, stevemorgan1005,

Thank you so very much. I'm delighted that you so liked my review. It was a great movie; one we would not mind adding to our personal collection once it is released to DVD.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working