A Review of Star Trek Into Darkness - the Movie Depicting the Early Years of the Star Trek Characters

As I review the new Star Trek Into Darkness, I must admit that I am a huge fan of Star Trek. Ok, so that one statement has reached the heights of cliché. I don't really care. I have been a fan since the crew of the first episodes Gene Roddenberry’s amazing story of the Utopian Starship Enterprise, began traveling the galaxies in search of new worlds. I traveled right along with them.

The Star Trek television series only made it through three seasons, but the legacy continues decades later with the opening of Star Trek Into Darkness which is as much an exploration of the early character of the Enterprise crew as it is a space adventure.

Star Trek Into Darkness is a true thrill ride set in a future that looks familiar and unfamiliar at the same time. You sit up, you sit back, you squirm around in the seat like a kid. The movie just grabs you from the beginning and doesn’t let go.

The cast portraying the young Enterprise crew have settled into their characters, much like the cast of the original series did. They seem comfortable while they remain true to the essence of their characters.

Director J. J. Abrams also seems to have settled comfortably into the story. His directing has resulted in characters who are not parodies of the original portrayals, but who could truly have been their younger selves.

The Original Series

Captain James T. Kirk is portrayed by Chris Pine. He does not try to imitate the quirks that are familiar to the acting of William Shatner, which is a good thing. Shatner’s portrayal and mannerisms were so much of his real nature. However our “rebooted” Captain Kirk is as brave, head strong, reckless and spontaneous from the outset, which is at the heart of Captain Kirk He is unable to keep away from the women, hold onto a commission or maintain an intact ship, but he is able to save the day with a little humor and a lot of camaraderie thrown in. A true captain, swashbuckling style.

I especially liked Uhura, played by Zoe Saldana. She displayed the gutsy, cheeky spunk that you knew was always just below the surface of her character and that occasionally showed through in the original Uhura. It is not difficult to see the logic of Spock as her love interest rather than Scotty which was sometimes hinted at in later movies. Her gustiness and confidence would be her ally in a relationship with someone who embraces (with a passion, I might add) the passionless, Vulcan side of his genes.

From the moment I saw Zachery Quinto as the emotionless Syler in the television series, Heroes, I thought he would make a good Spock. Pointy ears added and he has not disappointed.

It is not hard to imagine that Simon Pegg is the young Scotty or that Karl Urban is a younger version of Bones. Bones is not yet quite as curmudgeonly, but he is getting there, quickly.

Scotty is self-effacing, but delivers the miracles. He never looses that trait.

And what about the bad guy this time? It's all over the internet, but in case you don’t know who it is, I’m not naming names, but he is a worthy opponent in every way. Benedict Cumberbatch is true to the character he portrays: singleminded, ruthless, strong and cunning. Add that voice, those eyes and you have someone you don't want to drink Romulan ale with and definitely someone you don't want to cross.

The movie left a couple of questions, to my mind. What about that world whose space the Enterprise so boldly invaded and what happens to the beings on the planet where the prime directive is nobly, but blantently ignored. Certainly the makings of future Star Trek “installments.”

I can only see Star Trek through the lens of comparison. My advice, run to the nearest theater and enjoy a trip to the future’s past. The crew of the Enterprise and the stars of Star Trek Into Darkness, the special effects team and the witty script make it a trip that is still worth taking.


Copyright 5/20/13 Cynthia Turner

More by this Author


Comments 20 comments

billybuc profile image

billybuc 3 years ago from Olympia, WA

Thanks for the review. I was an original Star Trek fan, but not so much all of the later ones. Still, I might give this one a try.


lovebuglena profile image

lovebuglena 3 years ago from Staten Island, NY

I went to the movies last night to see The Great Gatsby and I saw there was a huge line of people waiting to get into the Star Trek movie auditorium. When I was leaving the theater there was another line waiting for I guess the next showing. I've never seen such a thing in all my years of going to the movies.


Frank Atanacio profile image

Frank Atanacio 3 years ago from Shelton

what a great review I haven't seen it yet but I plan too.. I too love Star Trek I've seen every movie television show and cartoons .. and this preview with tops :)


Cyndi10 profile image

Cyndi10 3 years ago from Georgia Author

Hi Billy, Roddenberry's original series had a social conscious and often made us think about many aspects of our society. That is not the primary aim of this movie. However, if you want a very "realistic" futuristic setting and if you want the thrill of action from the very beginning that many fans look for now (and I admit that I am one), then you and your wife will enjoy the ride.

As always, thank you so much for taking a look and leaving a comment! Take good care.


Cyndi10 profile image

Cyndi10 3 years ago from Georgia Author

I believe there were midnight showings of Star Trek on the first day out. It's a fun movie.

I intend to see the Great Gatsby as well. I enjoyed the original with Robert Redford and Mia Farrow. I have forgotten a lot of it, so I will watch it before going to the new version.

Thanks for leaving a comment!


Cyndi10 profile image

Cyndi10 3 years ago from Georgia Author

Hi Frank, I loved it. I'm admittedly a "thrill junkie" when it's done well. But more importantly, I felt Abrams was true to this really unique set of characters.

I always appreciate you stopping by! Have a creative week.


Theater girl profile image

Theater girl 3 years ago from New Jersey

Thanks for this review. Looking forward to seeing it!


Cyndi10 profile image

Cyndi10 3 years ago from Georgia Author

Hi Theater girl, I think you'll enjoy it.


Eiddwen profile image

Eiddwen 3 years ago from Wales

So very interesting and voted up ,plus shared.

Eddy.


Cyndi10 profile image

Cyndi10 3 years ago from Georgia Author

Hi Eddy, thanks so much!


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 3 years ago from England

As a complete and utter Trekkie nut I can't wait to see this one! I loved all the series, including the spin offs such as Voyager, Deep Space Nine, and of course The Next Generation. In these films my favorite is Bones, he is so much like the original it makes me laugh so much! great review, now I am booking my ticket!


Cyndi10 profile image

Cyndi10 3 years ago from Georgia Author

Hi Nell, Glad to know you are a Trekkie. I agree with you about Bones. I think all spin offs had some pretty memorable characters. Seven of Nine and Mr. Wharf were two others that I liked.

You'll enjoy this new one, as well. "Live long and prosper." LOL.


Vinaya Ghimire profile image

Vinaya Ghimire 3 years ago from Nepal

I'm not particularly interested in si-fi themes, however, I watch si-fi movie because I want to see visual effects. Thanks for this interesting review.


Cyndi10 profile image

Cyndi10 3 years ago from Georgia Author

You will get plenty of visual effects in this one. Very enjoyable.

I appreciate the comment. Thanks!


suzettenaples profile image

suzettenaples 3 years ago from Taos, NM

Great review and I will certainly see this movie. Thanks for your recommendation. I always liked the Star Trek series.


Theater girl profile image

Theater girl 3 years ago from New Jersey

I saw it! Completely loved it!


Cyndi10 profile image

Cyndi10 3 years ago from Georgia Author

Hi Theater girl, I'm so glad you loved it too. A fun ride all the way!


Cyndi10 profile image

Cyndi10 3 years ago from Georgia Author

Hi Suzette, It was great fun and a good installment in the Star Trek franchise.


LKMore01 profile image

LKMore01 3 years ago

Cyndi10,

Thank you for sharing your insight. Although I'm not a die hard Trekkie I thought Into Darkness was pretty entertaining. The most moving part of the film was the dialogue and exchange between James and Spock.


Cyndi10 profile image

Cyndi10 3 years ago from Georgia Author

Hi Lk, I am an action junkie. The exchanges were nice and certainly in character for all the actors. It's actually a movie I could see again and I don't say that about very many movies.

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave me a comment. I appreciate you.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working