"SALT" Movie Review Angelina Jolie is a Secret Russian Spy Agent Who Knew In Supporting Man Actors

Source

Great Movie!

“SALT” is a movie that came out in the summer of 2010. My wife and daughter went to see it at the movie theater and they loved the movie, so when I found it on my Netflix, I decided to watch it. I am giving this movie a rating of 4 1/2 stars.

Here is my review.

SALT Official Movie Trailer

This movie stars Angelina Jolie , who is accused of being a Russian spy. Her character's name is Evelyn Salt, and she is a CIA agent. Supporting actors include Liev Schreiber , Chiwetel Ejiofor , and Andre Braugher . This movie is a fast-paced, nonstop action thriller!

In the opening scene that takes place in North Korea, Salt was accused of being a spy and was detained, beaten and tortured. However, she is released through a prisoner exchange that was negotiated with North Korea.

Back at the CIA building Salt is getting ready to go out for dinner with her husband when a Russian man shows up and claims that he is a Russian spy and he needs to speak with the CIA about an assassination plot to kill the Russian President while he's visiting at a state funeral the following day. The man tells a story about a secret program during the Cold War that was implemented by the Russians. He labels Salt as the Russian Spy who was sent to the United States to kill the Russian president.

The Russian man is escorted to the elevator where he will be further detained but kills the agents and eventually escapes. Salt is now being detained so that she can be questioned about these allegations. There's a lot of action and she finally escapes and returns home to find her husband, who was missing. She mysteriously disappears when the agents show up in her apartment. There are a lot of situations where she's cornered, but seems to always be able to escape and there are some really great action scenes and a lot of car accidents. I should also point out that her boss and colleague is always in her corner, and suggests that she is innocent.

Vote!

What did you think of the movie "SALT"?

See results without voting

Angelina Jolie!

Salt sneaks into the funeral that the Russian president is attending and I have to say she kicked some butt! She bombs the funeral that the Russian President is attending. This causes chaos so that everyone leaves the funeral, and then she shoots the President and subsequently surrenders herself.

She escapes (once again) out of a police car after causing several major accidents and she often has flashbacks of being a child trained as a Russian Spy. She then heads to Russia and unites with the man who accused her in the CIA building, and they seem to be friends. They shoot her husband in front of her which I really didn't understand. The Russians are plotting to attack the United States and she actually ends up killing the man who happens to have raised her as a spy and then she shoots all of the other Russian spies.

The next scene she is on a jet with an old friend from Russia was also trained as a spy and they are plotting for her to kill the United States President. She disguises herself as a man (who looks like Ralph Macchio from “The Karate Kid” movies) and they go to the White House.

Her accomplice shoots everyone in the briefing room except for the President, holding him hostage. The accomplice is also a trained Russian spy. She just never knew the whole time. He was setting her up to look like she was the one that was going to carry out the bombing campaign. The agent sets up a bombing campaign so that it would show that the United States bombs various countries throughout the world, which would create a new world war. Salt, however, fights the man and is able to pull the plug on the detonation at the very last minute.

This movie basically ends with Salt once again escaping. It was a great movie had me on the edge of my seat the whole time and I would definitely recommend it to others. The downfall to the movie is the ending. It ends in a cliffhanger and one can only assume that there will be a “SALT II” in the near future.

More by this Author


Comments 38 comments

Ancillotti profile image

Ancillotti 5 years ago from Brasil, Vitoria - ES

I liked the Hub! I watched the movie so was released and have exactly the same opinion as you. I really hope that come the number 2.


J.S.Matthew profile image

J.S.Matthew 5 years ago from Massachusetts, USA Author

Thanks for reading Ancillotti! I always appreciate your comments! I hope that they come out with the sequel but I have not heard any information that they are filming yet. I guess we'll have to wait and see!

JSMatthew~


Ellenzhou profile image

Ellenzhou 5 years ago from China, Xi'an

Though I did not watch the movie yet,i saw your review and i love it. I will watch it this weekend.


J.S.Matthew profile image

J.S.Matthew 5 years ago from Massachusetts, USA Author

Awesome Ellenzhou! Let me know what you think!

JSMatthew~


barbergirl28 profile image

barbergirl28 5 years ago from Hemet, Ca

This was a great movie - I got a chance to watch it when it came to DVD. I was hesitant at first, but I am glad I gave it a shot. I really enjoyed it. If there is a sequel... I will be watching it! :)


Sunnie Day 5 years ago

J.S. Very good review..I really liked the movie too.

Thanks,

Sunnie


J.S.Matthew profile image

J.S.Matthew 5 years ago from Massachusetts, USA Author

Why thank you, Sunnie Day! I am glad you enjoyed both!

JSMatthew~


Cogerson profile image

Cogerson 5 years ago from Virginia

Nice review and recap....the movie had great action scenes in it.....but I was not crazy about the ending at all.....not the cliffhanger part.....the whole every secret service agent gets killed while Salt barely gets hit ...Rambo would be so proud....voted up and useful


J.S.Matthew profile image

J.S.Matthew 5 years ago from Massachusetts, USA Author

I totally agree, Cogerson! Another thing that aggravated me in writing the review was that there were so many "Russian Spies" that I couldn't possibly name them all! I bet this movie would be even better to read as a book. Thanks for the comment! Thanks for the vote!

JSMatthew~


Mammas7 profile image

Mammas7 5 years ago from Office

First, let me say, I voted this hub up. I love Angelina Jolie, I wrote an article called,"Love her Or Hate her", hope u had a chance to read it, my daughter said the video made her cry! I loved SALT and as always she puts on a heck of performance, you can read her emotions and that's what acting is all about..


Mammas7 profile image

Mammas7 5 years ago from Office

plus I will tweet and post for you!


J.S.Matthew profile image

J.S.Matthew 5 years ago from Massachusetts, USA Author

Wow Mammas7! What can I say more than Thank You! I appreciate the vote Up and I'm not sure that anyone has ever posted any of my Hubs on their Twitter before!

I do it for others when I want to share a Hub and often the author doesn't know because I don't tell them. This is a landmark experience for me! Thanks so much for posting this! I will check out your Hub as you mentioned. Thanks again.

JSMatthew~


LuxmiH profile image

LuxmiH 5 years ago from Fort Pierce, Florida

I am glad I read your hub about this movie... it has saved me a lot of time because now i know for sure that I will give the movie a miss. ;-)


J.S.Matthew profile image

J.S.Matthew 5 years ago from Massachusetts, USA Author

Glad I could help, LuxmiH!

JSMatthew~


Fay Paxton 5 years ago

Great review. I just saw this movie and loved it. Angelina Jolie is at her best in action packed films.


J.S.Matthew profile image

J.S.Matthew 5 years ago from Massachusetts, USA Author

I agree! Thanks for stopping by, Fay!

JSMatthew~


Just Ask Susan profile image

Just Ask Susan 5 years ago from Ontario, Canada

I too enjoyed the movie. Great review!


J.S.Matthew profile image

J.S.Matthew 5 years ago from Massachusetts, USA Author

Thanks for stopping by and sharing your comment Just Ask Susan!

JSMatthew~


Matt in Jax profile image

Matt in Jax 5 years ago from Jacksonville, FL

I just really wish the ending would have been changed around a little bit because one of the characters gets very type-cast in all of the movies he's in. It's a bit unfair. (Sorry for the vagueness, but I'm trying not to give too much away.)


J.S.Matthew profile image

J.S.Matthew 5 years ago from Massachusetts, USA Author

Lol. That's OK Matt in Jax. I appreciate you commenting.

JSMatthew~


celebritie profile image

celebritie 5 years ago

I love Angelina Jolie and hope there is another Salt movie to follow.


J.S.Matthew profile image

J.S.Matthew 5 years ago from Massachusetts, USA Author

Me too...we have to wait and see! I haven't heard any "rumors" about a movie shoot yet. If anyone has, let me know! I will do a follow up review once I watch it.

I appreciate you stopping by and leaving your comment, celebritie!

JSMatthew~


miles91 profile image

miles91 5 years ago

Angelina Jolie is one of my favorite actresses. This movie was definitely a good movie one i'd be willing to watch twice. We all know those movies that we can watch only once =( but this i'd definitely watch twice. Although i think the movie was good, it isn't one i'd watch 3 times, which is a damn great movie. -Alex


J.S.Matthew profile image

J.S.Matthew 5 years ago from Massachusetts, USA Author

miles91 thank you for stopping by and commenting! I appreciate you adding to the discussion.

JSMatthew~


Jo_Goldsmith11 profile image

Jo_Goldsmith11 5 years ago

My husband and I have watched this movie twice. It was really good. I think I liked Jolie better in this movie than I did Mr. & Mrs. Smith. You are so awesome! I voted up and shared it.


J.S.Matthew profile image

J.S.Matthew 5 years ago from Massachusetts, USA Author

Thank you Jo_Goldsmith11. I definitely enjoyed both! You are so awesome for voting up an sharing! I appreciate that!

JSMatthew~


WRParker86 profile image

WRParker86 5 years ago from Seymour, CT

Now I want to see the movie again. This hub kind of redeemed the movie for me in that I originally wanted to see it, but the more I saw the previews the more uninterested I became. Thanks for giving me renewed interest.


J.S.Matthew profile image

J.S.Matthew 5 years ago from Massachusetts, USA Author

WRParker86: It is an enjoyable movie-keeps you guessing right up to the end! Glad I could renew your interest with this Hub! Thanks for the comment.

JSMatthew~


Princess Pitt 5 years ago

Yup ! i saw this movie with my mom i think....and i cant even remember whom i watch it w/LOL.... she`s really amazing in everything she does...? her. P.S.

Nice Review Mat...!xo


J.S.Matthew profile image

J.S.Matthew 5 years ago from Massachusetts, USA Author

Hello Princess Pitt! Thanks for reading and commenting! I appreciate it!

JSMatthew~


Mark 5 years ago

Good Review; as of this writing it looks like they are indeed going ahead with SALT II; I dont mind a sequel, and wouldn't be surprised if it were by design. Overall great flick, would've like to see more character depth and background (similar to the way we got to know Jason Bourne).


J.S.Matthew profile image

J.S.Matthew 5 years ago from Massachusetts, USA Author

Thanks Mark! I agree that there will most likely be a sequel and also that more character depth like in the Bourne Series (which was awesome!) would have made a better story. We'll see what happens in the next one...

JSMatthew~


Moms-Secret profile image

Moms-Secret 5 years ago from Central Florida

I loved that movie. I thought that The Tourist with Johnny Depp was good too but it came after this one so it left me wanting to see more action and kick butt-edness. (I use my own vocabulary one it comes to exciting action movies...)


J.S.Matthew profile image

J.S.Matthew 5 years ago from Massachusetts, USA Author

My favorite Johnny Depp Movie is "Secret Window" which is adapted from a Steven King Book. King allowed for the production to change the name of his Novel from "Secret Window, Secret Garden" to just "Secret Window" for publicity reasons. I think Depp is my favorite actor!

Thanks for your comment!

JSMatthew~


Maralexa profile image

Maralexa 5 years ago from Vancouver, Canada and San Jose del Cabo, Mexico

Johnny Depp is a great actor! He seems so modest it is quite endearing. Sorry, I strayed from the topic.


J.S.Matthew profile image

J.S.Matthew 5 years ago from Massachusetts, USA Author

It's OK Maralexa. Apparently I did too. Thanks for your comment. Imagine if Johnny Depp played in the next installment of "Salt"?

JSMatthew~


tamarindcandy profile image

tamarindcandy 5 years ago

Ohh yes, I quite liked Secret Window too. Not one of my all-time favorites, but it was quite good.


J.S.Matthew profile image

J.S.Matthew 5 years ago from Massachusetts, USA Author

Thanks for adding to the discussion tamarindcandy!

JSMatthew~

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working