"Stay With Me Baby" Jana Mashonee, A Review

Jana Mashonee has released a new single, "Stay With Me Baby". The song, written by Jerry Ragovoy and originally recorded by Lorraine Ellison in 1966, has been covered by several talented singers.

Jana has put her own unique spin on it while staying true to the emotional original. Trust me, she has the pipes for it! The vocals are super, the instrumentals and arrangement perfect.

Some music is meant to be listened to with the volume down, a nice glass of wine and a slow burning fire. This is not one of those songs.

Grab yourself a cold brewsky (light if you just have to), crank your stereo up and start a roaring fire in the pit in your backyard. Invite the neighbors over, stop cars going down your street and invite total strangers. They'll all thank you when they hear this song!

A few Saturdays ago I saw Roy Clark in concert here in Lancaster, SC. If you don't know who he is you are probably either from north of the Mason-Dixon line or very young. Mr. Clark is one of the great guitar players of our time who became nationally famous on that staple of Southern TV fare, Hee Haw.

What the heck does Roy Clark have to do with Jana Mashonee who was not even born until Hee Haw was off the air and in syndication?

Glad you asked!

At the concert Roy spoke of being lucky enough to find his signature song early in his career.Think about "Blue Christmas", "The Way We Were", or "Folsom Prison Blues". Even though many artists have recorded these songs, I bet there is one singer that came to mind when you read the titles.

Might this be Jana's signature song? Might this be the one that rockets her to super stardom? I wouldn't be a bit surprised. It's that darn good.

Some singers simply sing. Jana PERFORMS and she performs this song as she does all her music: from a personal place. In this case it's a place of pain, betrayal and need. We've all been there. If you've ever loved and lost, if you've ever had your dreams crushed, if you've ever experienced an emotion so overpowering that it was almost deadly, you've been there. When Jana hits that note, you know the one I'm talking about, it is obvious that Jana has been there as well.

STAY?

We'd be fools not to.

More by this Author


Comments 19 comments

WillStarr profile image

WillStarr 4 years ago from Phoenix, Arizona

Here, Ronnie:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P4T3Cyw2yBc

BTW, we have something in common...we've both seen Roy Clark in concert. I saw him many years ago.


resspenser profile image

resspenser 4 years ago from South Carolina Author

WillStar, thanks for the link. Believe it or not the single is even better!!

Roy preformed here three days after hip surgery and he can still smoke a guitar and a fiddle! I think he's 80 something!


stars439 profile image

stars439 4 years ago from Louisiana, The Magnolia and Pelican State.

Talented star. Excellent hub. GBY.


WillStarr profile image

WillStarr 4 years ago from Phoenix, Arizona

Hi, Ronnie,

I saw him on November 26, 1960, when he was playing backup guitar and banjo for Wanda Jackson. While she and the rest of the band took a break, he entertained us with his brilliant guitar and banjo talents and some of his goofy comedy stuff. He was an unknown at the time, but I never forgot him.

That was in the small town where I grew up. It had less than 200 residents, but it also had a major ballroom, so the very big country talent in that day performed there on Saturday nights!

Oh, and my dad was the mayor! ^_^


resspenser profile image

resspenser 4 years ago from South Carolina Author

stars439,

You got the talented star part right, for sure! Thanks for reading and the kind comment.


resspenser profile image

resspenser 4 years ago from South Carolina Author

Will,

I got Mark to a seat and took his wheelchair out to park it near the elevator. Roy walked up and I said "How are you Mr. Clark?' He grinned and said "I'm not as quick as I used to be." But the twinkle was still in his eye and the sense of humor was evident.


Ralph Thomas 4 years ago

nice review--shared.


resspenser profile image

resspenser 4 years ago from South Carolina Author

Thanks, Ralph. Merry Christmas!


dahoglund profile image

dahoglund 4 years ago from Wisconsin Rapids

Songs I think should be performed.Such singer as Emmy Lou Harris,Johnnie Cash and Burl Ives were all performers when they did a song.


resspenser profile image

resspenser 4 years ago from South Carolina Author

Thanks for reading dahoglund, Merry Christmas!


tirelesstraveler profile image

tirelesstraveler 4 years ago from California

Nice review. Have never heard of Janna before, but I like her sound. I have heard of Roy Clark who is amazing. Phil Keaggy is another amazing guitar player of supreme talent.


Bob Cornish 4 years ago

agree totally & thanks for the new picture always glad to find new ones :-)


Bob Cornish 4 years ago

P.S. we're no fool :-) *******Always & Forever *******


resspenser profile image

resspenser 4 years ago from South Carolina Author

tirelesstraveler,

Glad you like Jana's sound. Check out her Facebook page to discover more of her in depth persona. I think you'll be impressed.

Bob,

That is an awesome picture, isn't it? Thanks for dropping by and please share the review with everyone.


bob Cornish 4 years ago

I posted the photo and link to this page on my profile I'm sure lots of people will follow that lik :-) & I thought I had all the photos of Jana Hmmmmm someone's holding out on me LOL I bet that was taken when they filmed The Enlightened Times Video

I'm always looking for new stuff on Jana never can get enough :-)thanks again I gotta go get a picture frame now :-)


resspenser profile image

resspenser 4 years ago from South Carolina Author

Merry Christmas, Bob! Hope lots of folks read this one, thanks for sharing it!


Lady_E profile image

Lady_E 4 years ago from London, UK

Lovely review - Lovely Photo. :)


resspenser profile image

resspenser 4 years ago from South Carolina Author

Thanks, Lady E!


bappyhalder profile image

bappyhalder 4 years ago

Thanks for posting.....,

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working