'The Dark Knight Rises' movie review.

Source

"The Dark Knight Rises".

Myself and many other movie goers had anxiously been waiting for the date July 20, 2012 to arrive. This date marked the release of the third and final film of Christopher Nolan's Batman trilogy. The final film in the trilogy titled "The Dark Knight Rises", had very high expectations based on the success of it's predecssor "The Dark Knight" -- which hit theaters in the summer of 2008. I very seldom go to the theater to watch a movie on it's opening weekend. However, the added excitement and buzz surrounding the film led to me uncharacteristically going earlier than usual. I went and saw the movie yesterday evening, and I'm going to give my thoughts on it. Before I get into this review, I think it's fitting to give my condolences to all the victims of the theater shooting in Aurora, Colorado. I'm sure that most of you know about the shooting that took place during a midnight screening of The Dark Knight Rises. My thoughts and prayers are with everyone from that community. I want to warn readers that this article won't contain any major spoilers, but I advise people who have yet to see the movie to read at their own risk. Alright lets get into "The Dark Knight Rises".

Source

Starring actors, and brief character information.

As I previously mentioned, "The Dark Knight Rises" is the third and final film in Christopher Nolan's Batman trilogy. Christian Bale returns again to reprise his role of billionaire socialite Bruce Wayne, who is also Batman. Michael Caine once again portrays the role of Alfred Pennyworth. Alfred is Bruce Wayne's butler, adviser, and father figure. Gary Oldman returns to portray the character of police commissioner, James Gordon, an ally to Batman. Morgan Freeman once again reprises the role of Lucius Fox, who is the president of Wayne Enterprises, and Bruce Wayne's armorer for his Batman equipment. Finally, Cillian Murphy reprises his role as Johnathan Crane/Scarecrow from the previous two movies. Liam Neeson also makes a cameo appearance as Ra's al Gul, the leader of The League of Shadows from "Batman Begins". Newcomers to the series include Tom Hardy, who plays the role of Bane, the lead villian in the movie. Anne Hathaway, who plays the role of Selina Kyle, a burglar who sets off a trigger of events that lead to Batman's confrontation with Bane. Marion Cotillard as Miranda Tate, who is on the board of Wayne Enterprises, and is a love interest of Bruce Wayne. Finally, Joseph Gordon-Levitt plays the role of John Blake, a young police officer, who has good instincts, and believes that something big is coming.

Taglines:

  • The Legend Ends
  • A Fire Will Rise
  • Rise

Source

Plot of "The Dark Knight Rises".

The plot of "The Dark Knight Rises" is set eight years after the events of 2008's film, "The Dark Knight". Bruce Wayne is now older, and he is both physically and mentally drained from the events in the previous movie. Batman has now gone into retirement after becoming a wanted fugitive. Batman becomes a fugitive after taking credit for the death of Harvey Dent. Both Batman and police commissioner Gordon have made the public believe Batman was responsible for Dent's death, in order to preserve Dent's legacy. After going into exile, Batman must once again rise from the shadows to take on terrorist leader Bane, who is hell bent on destroying Gotham City. Bane is unlike any enemy that Batman has encountered before. Bane is not only the most physically strong nemesis that Batman has encountered, but he is also looking to mentally break Batman. Not only does Batman have to contend with Bane, he must also deal with burglar Selina Kyle, who triggers the events that ultimately lead to Batman coming out of retirement. There are numerous twists and turns that will have viewers on the edge of their seats. Lies and deceptions will also be revealed during this movie, and these events will change both Gotham City, and the relationships of the characters forever.

Personal thoughts on the film.

"The Dark Knight Rises" is easily the darkest movie from the trilogy. Viewers can probably tell within the first ten minutes of this movie, that things in Gotham City will never be quite the same. This movie definitely connects with the previous two films, but I think the story coincides more with the theme from the first film, "Batman Begins". The acting is this movie is amazing, but that's to be expected in most Christopher Nolan films. Tom Hardy was absolutely amazing as Bane in my opinion. Bane is easily the scariest and most physically intimidating villain that we've seen in these Batman films. I was also very impressed with Joseph Gordon-Levitt's portrayal as officer John Blake. Anne Hathaway's performance as Selina Kyle/Catwoman was on point as well. In my opinion, she is the best Catwoman that I've seen on film. She outdone both Michelle Pfeiffer and Halle Berry in my opinion. There are also some very good fight sequences in this movie as well. I've noticed that ending film is being highly debated on the Internet. I suppose viewers are being allowed to draw their own conclusions based on it.

Movie ticket stub from "The Dark Knight Rises".
Movie ticket stub from "The Dark Knight Rises".

Conclusion.

I do believe that if you are a fan of both "Batman Begins" and "The Dark Knight", you'll enjoy this movie. I would definitely recommend fans of Batman to go see this movie. I caution viewers not to expect much humor or laughter from this movie. Each and every one of the heroes from this movie will be greatly tested. I'm already looking forward to seeing this movie again. I already own the previous two Batman films directed by Christopher Nolan, and I'm pretty sure I'll be adding this one to my collection once it comes out on DVD. Again, my thoughts and prayers are with the people of Aurora, Colorado. You never expect for something tragic like this to happen in a place where people go to unwind. Well that's my review of "The Dark Knight Rises". I hope you enjoyed, and thanks for reading.

References:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1345836/taglines

More by this Author


Comments 25 comments

Arren123 profile image

Arren123 4 years ago from UK

Super review of an amazing film which I totally enjoyed, interesting ending to a awesome trilogy. Voted up and awesome :)


prospectboy profile image

prospectboy 4 years ago from Texas Author

Thanks a lot Kev. Glad to hear you enjoyed it also, but I already knew you did since I read your review of it also lol. Thanks a lot bro!


Patty Kenyon profile image

Patty Kenyon 4 years ago from Ledyard, Connecticut

Interesting Hub!! I look forward to watching this movie on Wednesday!!


prospectboy profile image

prospectboy 4 years ago from Texas Author

Hi Patty. I think you'll find this movie even more interesting than this hub. I hope you see the movie soon, and if you do be sure to let us know what you though. Thanks again for reading :)


bizzymom profile image

bizzymom 4 years ago from New York

Thanks for the hub. I thought the movie was amazing and I am not a huge fan of this type of movie. I went with my husband and children and did not expect to enjoy the movie as much as I did. It's a shame that it is being associated with the horrible incident in Aurora. It's sad that all these people did was go to see a movie and their lives have been changed forever. My thoughts are with the victims and their families.


prospectboy profile image

prospectboy 4 years ago from Texas Author

Hi there john5768. You are absolutely right. Such a terrible and tragic event. Thanks for stopping by.


prospectboy profile image

prospectboy 4 years ago from Texas Author

Hi bizzymom. I thank you for stopping by and checking out my hub. I appreciate it a lot. I'm also glad to hear that you enjoyed this movie. The incident in Colorado is so unfortunate, and like you mentioned, lives are now changed forever. Like I said in the article, we never expect these types of things to happen at places where we go to unwind and relax. It's just unfortunate. Thanks again for stopping by.


Redberry Sky profile image

Redberry Sky 4 years ago

I've yet to see this movie. I'm a huge fan of comic book/graphic novel/superhero films, and especially Batman. I like that you think it was dark in tone - Batman to me was always meant to be a lonely and quite sinister hero, so I'll be pleased that this has gothic-type undercurrents. Loved your review, it's whetted my appetite even more :)


prospectboy profile image

prospectboy 4 years ago from Texas Author

Hey there once again my good friend Redberry Sky :) Yea I'm a huge comic book/superhero film fan myself. I've loved Batman ever since the Adam West days lol. I'm sure not sure you saw "Batman Begins", and "The Dark Knight", but this new film is way more darker than them both. Batman is really tested in this movie. Glad that you liked my review, and thank you as always for your continued support. I also hope you're able to see the movie soon. Best wishes my friend :)


beingwell profile image

beingwell 4 years ago from Bangkok

I enjoyed reading your review. And enjoyed watching the film as well. It's true that this last Batman film (in the Batman Trilogy) is the darkest of all. Good thing it had a good ending.

Shared this one my friend!


lovedoctor926 4 years ago

This review is fantastic and very well-written. I saw the preview for this movie on the same day I went to see the Amazing Spiderman and it seemed like a film that I would enjoy watching. Voted up!


JT Walters profile image

JT Walters 4 years ago from Florida

I am literally waiting until school starts in few weeks so I can take my son and we can have the theater all to ourselves. I heard this film was awesome as well but I prefer empty theaters when my son and I attend.

Your review was terrific especially since it didn't give away any spoilers.

Great review!!

JT


prospectboy profile image

prospectboy 4 years ago from Texas Author

Thank you so much Rizza! You always look out for a brother, and I appreciate it a lot my friend :)


prospectboy profile image

prospectboy 4 years ago from Texas Author

Thank you very much for reading lovedoctor926. I hope you get to see it soon.


prospectboy profile image

prospectboy 4 years ago from Texas Author

Hey there JT Walters. I personally prefer watching movies with a crowd, but I understand where you are coming from. I hope you and you son are able to see it sooner than later though. Thanks for your kind words on my review. I definitely don't give out spoilers in my reviews, because I don't like being spoiled myself. Thanks again, and let us know what you thought about the movie once you see it. Best wishes to you :)


JT Walters profile image

JT Walters 4 years ago from Florida

My son has autism so crowds don't love us in theaters so we go when there are not any. I will let you know.

No problem loved the review and i will let you know what we thought of it.

JT


Patty Kenyon profile image

Patty Kenyon 4 years ago from Ledyard, Connecticut

I did see this movie on Wednesday...and I LOVED it!!! I loved the twist and turns and I hope that they do continue on with the Batman series!! Great Review!!!


Hazzabanana8 profile image

Hazzabanana8 4 years ago from Southern Realms of England

Interesting review. I wrote one myself which you may find interesting.

I personally liked the political elements which Nolan worked into it and the cinematography.


ssmith1534 profile image

ssmith1534 4 years ago from Atlanta, Georgia

Great Review prospectboy!

I think the third one allowed more acting from all of the characters, which made it even better. I'm excited to purchase my copy to finish the trilogy!


prospectboy profile image

prospectboy 4 years ago from Texas Author

Hey there JT Walters. So sorry to hear that about your son. I understand now why you prefer to wait, and that's totally understandable. Glad you liked the review, and I look forward to seeing what you thought of the movie. Best wishes :)


prospectboy profile image

prospectboy 4 years ago from Texas Author

Hey there Patty. That's AWESOME that you saw it, and that you loved it. I'm actually going to try and see it again this weekend. You're definitely right about the twists and turns. I doubt they continue on with this series, but the ending looked like it could be a possibility. Thanks again for stopping by and letting us know what you thought of the movie. Your feedback is valued. Thanks :)


prospectboy profile image

prospectboy 4 years ago from Texas Author

How are you Hazzabanana8? Thanks for stopping by. I read your review and I left you a comment as well. I enjoyed your review a lot myself. I can tell that it was very well planned and thought out. Thanks again for your feedback. Best wishes :)


prospectboy profile image

prospectboy 4 years ago from Texas Author

Thank you as always ssmith1534. I agree with you. There was definitely more Bruce Wayne and less Batman in this movie, which allowed for more acting. Christian Bale really shined in this movie. I think his performance in "The Dark Knight" was great, but it was overshadowed by Heath Ledger's amazing performance as the Joker. Like you, I'm looking forward to buying this DVD when it comes out. Hopefully it will be sooner than later. Thanks for your feedback my friend. Best wishes :)


kellyteam profile image

kellyteam 4 years ago from Michigan

Just saw the movie last night. Excellent review. I did enjoy the movie. The acting was great and I do plan to see it again. Good job on the review. Keep on hubbing!


prospectboy profile image

prospectboy 4 years ago from Texas Author

Hey there again kellyteam. Thanks for the kind words on my review. I appreciate it a lot. Also, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the movie. I'm already ready for it come to come out on DVD. Thanks again for stopping by ma'am :)

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working