Gmail Scam Warning Code:VX2G99AAJ

76
rate this page

By jimmythejock


Warning Code:VX2G99AAJ

Gmail Scam

If someone managed to get hold of your Gmail account, they could also get hold of your other personal details, like passwords, private messages, personal mail and any other details that you may have stored in there.

There is an email in circulation asking for your gmail account details,

I received the email today claiming to be from the Gmail team.

VERIFY YOUR FREE G MAI L ACCOUNT NOW !!!

It asks for my Gmail ID My Password, my date of birth and country or territory where I live.

The email claims that if I don't send these details that my Gmail account will be closed in Seven days.

Below is the text from the email copied and pasted, as is, with no editing.




The Email

G MAI L BETA

VERIFY YOUR FREE G MAI L ACCOUNT NOW !!!

Dear G ma il Account Owner,

This message is from Gmail messaging center to all Gmail free account owners and premium account owners. We are currently upgrading our data base and e-mail account center. We are deleting all unused Gmail account to create more space for new accounts.

To prevent your email account from closing you will need to update so as to validate our user email database.

CONFIRM YOUR IDENTITY BELOW

Gma il! ID : ..........

Password : ...........

Date of Birth : ......

Country or Territory : ...........

Enter the letter from the Security Image : ........ 859304

Warning!!! Account owner that refuses to update his or her account within Seven days of receiving this warning will lose his or her account permanently.

Thank you for using Gmail !

Warning Code:VX2G99AAJ

Thanks,

The Gmail Team

G MAI L BETA


Do Not Give out Your Personal Details

The text above is pasted from the screenshot you see above, note that there are a few errors,

(why the gaps) G ma il

We are deleting all unused Gmail account ( plural so where is the s)

Gma il! ID : (Again with the gaps)

Enter the letter from the Security Image : ........ 859304

(WHAT LETTER? I SEE ONLY NUMBERS)

The real giveaway that this is someone trying to steal your gmail account is the fact that you can only answer the questions by replying to this email, if Gmail wanted to check an account was active they would send an email which when opened would automatically inform them that your account was being used. And why would Gmail revert to using garish lettering in the logo?

Protect your Gmail account, do not reply to this email if you receive it.

NEVER SEND YOUR PASSWORD TO ANYONE, OR ANY OTHER PERSONAL DETAILS, IT COULD COST YOU A LOT MORE THAN YOU THINK

  —   Rate it:  up  down  [flag this hub]

Comments

RSS for comments on this Hub Small RSS Icon

Stacie Naczelnik profile image

Stacie Naczelnik  says:
5 months ago

I'm an avid gmail user, so this is good to know.

Denmarkguy profile image

Denmarkguy  says:
5 months ago

Good alert, thanks for posting this!

It's a shame that phishing has become so widespread, and slightly alarming that it HAS, as it seems it wouldn't unless people were actually falling for these scams.

Typos and bad grammar are always a dead giveaway. You can also hover your cursor over any link and see where it REALLY takes you.

I don't know if gmail/google has a "spoof" department, but many major domains do. For example, I always forward PayPal phishes to "spoof@paypal.com."

Lissie profile image

Lissie  says:
5 months ago

Thanks for the heads up

uglydawg profile image

uglydawg  says:
5 months ago

jimmy - good article. if gmail ever wants to check to see if an account is active they will actually not email you they will just check their logs.

Eileen Hughes profile image

Eileen Hughes  says:
5 months ago

Yes the trouble with this sort of email is that most people are honest and gullible and they catch those type of people. They believe they will lose out if they do not do it.

I nearly got caught with ebay like that. Because they told me I would not be able to sell on ebay anymore. And at first I thought it was true because they had all there letterheads insignias etc. But thats how smart they are.

I even had someone get in and say that I had sold them a laptop. I didnt own one at that stage. But ebay soon sorted them out. Everyone needs to be wary and never ever give any details to anyone on the emails. Good hub

orange profile image

orange  says:
5 months ago

Gmail, Paypal, Ebay, bank, credit card company... no one will ask you to send your A/c number/user name/password.

If you receive anything like that, it might be a phishing Scam! Beware!

MrMarmalade profile image

MrMarmalade  says:
5 months ago

I have five in three days, I send it tothe authorities and never hear another jingle about it

Great hub

helenathegreat profile image

helenathegreat  says:
5 months ago

Thanks so much for posting that for all of us. The grammar in that email is laughable, but who knows who might not be paying attention and fall for it anyway?

Kenny Wordsmith profile image

Kenny Wordsmith  says:
5 months ago

Great hub, thanks for warning everyone!
And nice Xmas profile pic!

Chuck profile image

Chuck  says:
5 months ago

Jimmy, thanks for the warning. I have learned to ignore all such requests and never respond to these emails. I did get tricked by one of these phishing emails when they first started. I was visting family out of town and while checking my AOL email on my brother-in-law's PC I responded to an email supposedly from AOL asking me to update their files with more info which I did.

I had a big scare the next day when I ran across an article about the scam in a newspaper on the plane on the way home. Fortunately, AOL took steps to limit the damage before any attacks were made on my account. Since then, I have always made it a point to open a new browser window and access my accounts directly when I receive such an email and think that it might be legitimate. Of course, I always discover that the emails never are legitimate but this has saved me from divulging information about my PayPal, eBay, bank accounts, credit card accounts, etc. to these characters.

Thans for the great Hub, Jimmy and best wishes from my family to yours for Christmas and the coming year.

Chuck

asiasabrina  says:
5 months ago

thanks for the heads up. I almost do what the email asked.

Submit a Comment

Members and Guests

Sign in or sign up and post using a hubpages account.


optional



working