OpinionWorld Review

Introduction

OpinionWorld, also known as Opinion World is an online paid survey site.  This page aims to give my balanced opinion of the site, as a relatively experienced user who has completed well in excess of 30 surveys. 

Signing up

I found signing up to OpinionWorld to be very simple.  It took me about 10 minutes to sign up.  Once this had been completed there were a number of surveys which can be taken either at the time, or at a later date.  These give the company a bit more information about yourself to allow the surveys to be more relevant. 

Completing surveys

Once a member has signed up to OpinionWorld, emails start to be sent to the address used when registering. Along with a link to the survey, these emails also contain a rough guideline of how long the survey should take to complete, along with an idea of the reward available. All surveys have the option of entering a sweepstake at the end of the survey, as well as the option of supporting a charity with a small donation. In addition some surveys have the added bonus of a guaranteed financial rewards paid into a PayPal acocunt. In my experience this has always been £1 per survey, although I believe some surveys have a higher level of payment.

After clicking upon the link in the email, the user is taken through to another page. On this page, there is another link which can be clicked, and doing this opens a new window in which the survey is completed. I am unsure about the reason for the need to open two successive windows, as most other online survey sites avoid it - this is one of biggest faults I have with the OpinionWorld system.  The second window opens a survey, and sometimes it is still within the OpinionWorld system and sometimes it is in the sites of partners.  The surveys are in the normal format of selecting answers to questions on a given topic.  Whilst most survey sites can have very repetitive questions, repetition occurs relatively rarely on OpinionWorld in my experience. 

Once the survey has been completed there is the option of providing feedback on the survey about any mistakes noticed etc.  After this has been done, there is the option to support a charity, along with entering the sweepstakes.  The entering of the sweepstakes relies on taking part in what I can only describe as a virtual scratchcard, and this determines the number of entries into a prize draw to win a big prize although unfortunately I haven't won it yet!

Supporting charities

As has already been mentioned, there is the option of supporting a charity.  This is something which I believe is rather unique to the OpinionWorld site, and something which is quite good.  Upon completion of every survey, there is the option of selecting which one of three surveys you wish OpinionWorld to make a donation to on your behalf.  These are charities which are nominated by OpinionWorld users, and once the target amount for a particular charity has been raised, a new charity replaces it.  Charities to have benefited from this system in 2008 include RNLI, WWF, Oxfam and War Child.  Overall, in 2008, over £70,000 was donated to charities in this way by OpinionWorld.

Payment

Many people say that such paid survey sites are a scam. However, whilst some may be, in my experience OpinionWorld is not a scam as I have been paid many times. This is done through PayPal and generally payment takes about 1 month from when the survey is first completed although payment can sometimes be quicker or longer. So far, I have never had a problem with not being paid by OpinionWorld. In addition, there is a further benefit to OpinionWorld. Due to the fact that payment for each survey is paid individually there is no need to wait excessively long for money to build up, and as some survey sites have payout limits of £50 this is a big bonus.  One word of warning - the money is paid into a PayPal account with the same email address associated with it as that used to register on the OpinionWorld website.  

However, OpinionWorld is now also starting to reward in the form of points which can be exchanged for money once the amount reaches a certain point.  Whilst the amount paid per survey is still the same, there is the need to reach a certain level of points before getting the money through PayPal, and whilst it is still a relatively low level at £10, it is annoyign none-the-less.  

OpinionWorld proof of payment.
OpinionWorld proof of payment.

Conclusions

I would definitely recommend OpinionWorld to people who have some spare time and an internet connection. It seems to be a reputable company, who pay the people who complete surveys relatively promptly, whilst also donating a significant amount to charities. Whilst I don't think it would ever be possible to earn a living wage out of completing surveys on OpinionWorld, it is possible to earn some additional money doing so.

If you aren't a member:

Has this page made you more or less likely to sign up?

See results without voting

If you are a member:

Are your views of OpinionWorld mostly positive or negative?

See results without voting

More by this Author


Comments 24 comments

shamelabboush profile image

shamelabboush 7 years ago

I should try it.


BristolBoy profile image

BristolBoy 7 years ago from Bristol Author

I definitely recommend that you do!


2patricias profile image

2patricias 7 years ago from Sussex by the Sea

Approximately how long does it take to complete a survey? Do you know if members are banned if they work too quickly?

Interesting hub - thanks.


BristolBoy profile image

BristolBoy 7 years ago from Bristol Author

Surveys can vary, some are a few minutes and others longer. Personally on several occasions I have received £1 for completing surveys of less than 5 minutes in length. I am not sure whether members get banned - I never have been though and I answer faster than advised in the initial email. However, there are sometimes questions which say things like 'Select option 3' to test whether you really are doing the survey or just clicking responses correctly. Hope this helps!


BrianS profile image

BrianS 7 years ago from Castelnaudary, France

Sounds as though it is worth a go, just need some spare time.


BristolBoy profile image

BristolBoy 7 years ago from Bristol Author

Yes I agree Brian the main problem with such systems is finding the time. However, being a student I may have times when I am really busy and times when I am not. By doing these surveys it allows me to get a little more money, whilst still having flexibility.


jayb23 profile image

jayb23 7 years ago from India

I will definitely try this out


Maiasaur 7 years ago

Opinionworld.biz misrepresents itself through Craigslist. They advertise for focus group participants and then send you a link to their survey page and try to get you to sign up for spam. There's not even a "No thanks" box.


BristolBoy profile image

BristolBoy 7 years ago from Bristol Author

Thanks for taking the time to comment jayb23 and Maiasaur. I cannot comment specifically on opinionworld.biz as I have only ever used opinionworld.co.uk which I have personally found to be very useful and I have never received any spam, but maybe opinionworld-biz (I assume this is what you are referring to) is not as good.


anandhan 7 years ago

thanks for your information,and

i am live in india i can partcipate this program


BristolBoy profile image

BristolBoy 7 years ago from Bristol Author

Thanks for taking the time to comment Anandhan and I hope this Opinionworld review was useful for yourself. I wish you luck with using Opinionworld.


Johno 6 years ago

Be warned, you could be wasting time and getting little in return!

I tried it, got half way through the first survey only to be told I want suitable and of course would not be receiving payment for my time. Having answered a number of questions at sign-up, I do feel they should have a system that targets suitable individuals rather than take the lazy option and blanket email everyone. To make matters worse, I unsubscribed from their service over two months ago and am still receiving emails, this despite having sent a number of follow-up emails.


jamie 6 years ago

every time i do a survey and compleate it i get a server down page and no way to see my account.


BristolBoy profile image

BristolBoy 6 years ago from Bristol Author

Thanks for taking the time to comment and add your views of OpinionWorld on this OpinionWorld review Johno and jamie. It is a shame you experienced issues with the site.


vox vocis profile image

vox vocis 6 years ago

I´ll bookmark this page. I may try it!


BristolBoy profile image

BristolBoy 6 years ago from Bristol Author

I recommend you do give Opinionworld a go vox vocis - I have found it to be very useful!


Cassandra 5 years ago

I tried OpinionWorld.ca and it has worked for me. Takes a bit of time to get enough to get the reward I had wanted but it seemed to work out well when I did


BristolBoy profile image

BristolBoy 5 years ago from Bristol Author

Cassandra thanks for taking the time to comment - it is good to know that there is a Canadian version of Opinionworld which also works!


nehpets81 profile image

nehpets81 5 years ago from London

Most surveys for Opinion World tend to be 50p these days sadly...


BristolBoy profile image

BristolBoy 5 years ago from Bristol Author

nehpets81 I agree that there has been a reduction in the earnings potential from OpinionWorld. However I suppose it could be argued 50p is better than nothing!


jane manby 5 years ago

I have never been sent to a paid survey and never won a draw. Think of this if you pay people a fee to fill in the surveys then you pay for the size of a survey.

If you put people into a draw then no matter how many people or surveys they do you still pay out the same. It is a rubbish survey company which is a shame because there are some out there that do pay and play fair.


BristolBoy profile image

BristolBoy 5 years ago from Bristol Author

Jane Manby. It would appear that you do have a point, however cynical it may seem! I have received paid surveys though from OpinionWorld though so I can't complain.


keelytm 4 years ago

Thanks for the review. It sounds a lot like other companies that do paid surveys. Which is a good thing, since I've had pretty good success with those. But I am looking to increase my cash flow, so I need to sign up with more sites. I'll give this one a shot. I did notice, though, that it does pay in pounds. Does this mean I have to a resident of the UK to sign up?


hi 4 years ago

joined 1 week ago and haven't received any paid survey yet. What a waste of time.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working