Smart Netphone: Android Smartphone Features, Review, Specs, Prices and more

Update! Great news everyone! Smart has partnered with Samsung for their Samsung Galaxy Y Netphone Edition. Yay! It has been introduced recently and I think the galaxy Y (young) will be much loved as the former Netphone 701. Seems now, we know how to call the Android phone aside from just Smart Netphone huh. The cool mobile phone is available for as low as P4,990 through Smart Rewards and P5,990 for Prepaid kit. Much cheaper than Smart Netphone 701 actually. Did I say it’s an Android 2.3 Gingerbread? Again, much upgraded than the old netphone. Now I'm thinking...

Smart Netphone – for only P9,900, you could have this sleek, classy and Android 2.2 gadget. Soon the world of mobile will be unlimited in everything – unlimited text, unlimited chats, unlimited web browsing and more. With the new Smart Netphone, there are no boundaries in your hands. You can reach everyone and everything in your fingertips anytime. In this page, I’ve listed the features and reasons why you should grab the Smart Netphone including its specs, prices, plans and more. It’s in Android Froyo 2.2 for mobile’s sake and the giant company has participated in the Mobile World Congress in Barcelona Spain while developing this smartphone. Means, you’re so ahead compared to having just an ordinary phone.

Why you should have the latest gadget from Smart – the Smart Netphone? It has only been launched and released this September 2011. So read the review before you buy or subscribe to the chic plans available for the most talked about mobile phone toady in the Philippines.


Smart Netphone Features, Specs and more..


Android Froyo version 2.2 Operating System

Flash 10.1 support

Snapdragon processor by Qualcomm

ARM11, 600 Mhz CPU

Accelerated 3D graphics

3.2 megapixel camera

30 fps WVGA video encode/decode display support

120g light weight

1250mAh battery

512 mb internal memory plus 2gb micro sd card (expandable up to 16gb)

3.5 inches full Touch screen interface 800X480 WVGA with 262 color display

Wifi connectivity

3G function WCDMA/HSDPA

2G function GSM/GPRS/EDGE

GPS internal and standalone support

Radio show functions

Smart Netphone Review

Android 2.2 Froyo – means you have all the luxury of having an Android 2.2 gadget, the fastest mobile browser. That includes hundred of thousand apps from the Android Market you can download anytime. Yup, thousand of apps like games, music, and other mobile applications are free to install and download, too. Android OS is an open sourced platform tied up by Google and famous mobiles like Motorola, Samsung, LG and HTC are powered by this OS, too.

Only P9,900 – what a smart price, right?! It’s frickin affordable. Not gonna lie, I’m so tempted to buy this one though I’ve been eyeing on an iphone 4 and that latest LG Optimus. With that price, you could have the full features of this Android smartphone. You also have the options for subscription plans of your choice.

Fabulous Smartphone Design – don’t you just love its sleek classy design? Its 3.5-inch full interface touchscreen rocks.

Smart Network integration – If you love and enjoy Smart Network’s services like Uzzap, Smart Chat, Facebook, Twitter, Social Stream. Smart Inbox, Sandbox, Smart Wireless services and more, this Netphone is integrated with all of Smart’s cool services

Safe Browsing Widget – this is an awesome feature because you can browse SmartNet services safely and free. Unwanted paid third-party apps and ads wont annoy you anymore.

Flexible Subscription Plans and Add ons – you can choose your types of plans with affordable prices and cool services, add ons and more. You have the control in here. Smart Netphone offers Power Pack, Connect Pack and Value Pack for its Postpaid and Prepaid plans available to everyone.


You might not love its….

Smart Sim exclusive – unfortunately, the latest Smart Netphone can only run on Smart Sim networks. It wont work on sims other than Smart like Globe, Red Mobile, Sun, PLDT, TM and the likes.


If you’re looking for the Smart Netphone Plans and Prices, I have listed the complete postpaid and prepaid subscription plans of this cool Android smartphone at appsandmobile.com. Thanks!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

© Copyright 2011 by Fehl and Co. All Rights Reserved DO NOT COPY

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More by this Author


Comments 21 comments

Lady_E profile image

Lady_E 5 years ago from London, UK

Thanks for this. My Android is about a month old and after reading this Hub, I feel like I am not optimising its use, in terms of Applications.


twentyfive profile image

twentyfive 5 years ago Author

Thousands of apps are waiting for you my friend ;) I'm addicted to games hehe. Thanks for being the first one to comment. Bless ya!


Cheeky Girl profile image

Cheeky Girl 5 years ago from UK and Nerujenia

This is a great review of a great value smartphone, Fehl! Android is an amazing system,and I truly believe the Android phones will overtake the Apple phones in sales volumes. I noticed you mentioned Froyo. Is that different from Android Gingerbread? Maybe you could explain that to me, as I didn't know the different systems or what's the deal with that...

Great hub! Just tweeted and liked for ya, moi friend! :) Cheers! Enjoy your day! XO :)


twentyfive profile image

twentyfive 5 years ago Author

Hello Cheeky Cassy! :) Android is widely used to mobile phones so they really overtake Apple phones.. Froyo is just one of Android's OS codename. It's after Eclair. Oh I just love Google's codename for Android. They're so yummy! Android 1.5 is Cupcake, version 1.6 is Donut, Android 2.0 and 2.1 is Eclair while 2.2 is Froyo. Android 2.3 and 2.4 refers to Gingerbread. Wonder no muffins?! LOL

Yes, Gingerbread is more advance than Froyo. Gingerbread is used to today's latest tablets. And I heard the latest LG Optimus phone runs in Gingerbread, too.

By the way, after Gingerbread, there's Android 3.0, 3.1 and 3.2 which is called Honeycomb. Yummy! After that, I dunno what will be on Android's menu. :)

Thanks for the tweet and share! You're awesome! :) XO


Chatkath profile image

Chatkath 5 years ago from California

Great Hub on the Android twentyfive, I got the Apple, traded it for the Blackberry Torch and now I wish I had the Android, but can't upgrade for another year, (I don't want to pay full price...anyway) and by then who knows what will be out? Thanks for keeping us smart-phone smart!


twentyfive profile image

twentyfive 5 years ago Author

I never tried a Blackberry yet. Well a year will pass soon. Better wait for mobile phones to upgrade to the latest Android :) Thanks a lot for dropping by Chatkath :)


Pinay Lupe 5 years ago

thank you for this review, glad to hear good news like this. if you were to choose between Sony Ericsson X8 and Netphone, which one should you get? I've been using SE's brand since then and I have trust in this. If you ever choose Netphone, can you please state comparison of the two? thanks and trusting your tech experience!


twentyfive profile image

twentyfive 5 years ago Author

Hi Pinay Lupe :) SE X8 is good too. If I were to choose between x8 and Netphone, of course I'd choose the Netphone coz it's in Android 2.2 although x8 can be upgraded to Android 2.1. If the price is closer, I'd choose Smart Netphone since I've been using Smart sim and already comfy using its services and apps. The specs and features are almost the same except the Netphone is exclusive to Smart's apps like chat messenger, Social streams and the like. There are more phones in this level actually so you might wanna check LG and Samsung too. :) All we have to do is choose :) Thanks for dropping by.


miming 5 years ago

next Android version for mobile will be called "Ice Cream Sandwich"


twentyfive profile image

twentyfive 5 years ago Author

Seriously? hehe Still sounds so yummy :)


rachel 5 years ago

now i think i'd go for netphone 701.. :)


rachel 5 years ago

oh i think i want a samsung galaxy y, it's already a gingerbread. netphone is froyo..


twentyfive profile image

twentyfive 5 years ago Author

I'd prefer the Samsung Galaxy Y for Smart Netphone coz it's cheap and it's Android 2.3 Gingerbread. Its Unli Social Stream is so cool. I'd prefer the Prepaid than the postpaid.


audie 4 years ago

my netphone 701 is too hot to handle sometimes specially when im using wifi or internet.or when im charging the battery gets hotter..any suggestion? is it normal


twentyfive profile image

twentyfive 4 years ago Author

any phone that uses wifi, internet, 3G, or call heats more. Try Blackberry, see for yourself. hehe To take care of your phone, don't use it while charging. And don't charge unless it's drained and empty. Yeah it's normal.


vlaire01 4 years ago

i learned a lot... tnx for the infos. :)


twentyfive profile image

twentyfive 4 years ago Author

I am glad :) Thanks


Peachy 4 years ago

really 16gb?


twentyfive profile image

twentyfive 4 years ago Author

ayos :)


drull ;) 4 years ago

how to upgrade netphone 701 to gingerbread


twentyfive profile image

twentyfive 4 years ago Author

You may try by going to the Android Market and download the Android 2.3 software. If it runs ok, then you're ok :)

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working