ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Purina Tidy Cats Pure Natural Clumping Litter - My Review

Updated on November 26, 2012
Two Long Hairs
Two Long Hairs | Source
Plus one Short Hair Equals Three.
Plus one Short Hair Equals Three. | Source
Three share one domed potty box.  Axel was curious about my picture taking.  He never did pee!
Three share one domed potty box. Axel was curious about my picture taking. He never did pee! | Source
Pure Nature Kitty Litter
Pure Nature Kitty Litter | Source
What Pure Nature promises.
What Pure Nature promises. | Source
What Pure Nature Kittly Litter looks like.  It's very light; nothing like traditional clumping litter.
What Pure Nature Kittly Litter looks like. It's very light; nothing like traditional clumping litter. | Source

My Rating of This Product as a Long-time Cat Owner

5 stars for Purina Tidy Cats Pure Nature Clumping Litter


A few days ago I was compelled to write a review of this product (which I never have before!) because it is so phenomenal. Then I remembered Hub Pages is having a product review contest this month. The time is now, there’s no better time than the present and procrastination leads to further procrastination, right? So here I am. I love this product!


I have three indoor cats. Two are long haired, one is short haired. Nevertheless, they all tinkle and poop. And they all share one potty box. I know….. you’re told to have one box per kid, but come on….. Anyway, I scoop the poop and clumps twice, if not three times a day because I love cats, but hate cat stink. Plus they won’t go in soiled potty boxes and I certainly don’t want them looking for other places in my meager 1,360 sq. ft. home to do their business!

Up until now, I have sworn by Tidy Cats Clumping Litter for multiple cats for years. However, lately I’ve noticed I have to replace 14 pounds of the 27 lb box of fresh litter every other week. Not only that, I start to smell cat urine before a week is up, when I normally clean the box and add fresh litter mixed with baking soda. That’s a no no. I pride myself on having a beautiful home that does not smell like cat. Yeah, I have to keep up on the clumps of hair my long hairs seem to think enhance my home’s décor, but cat stink is not allowed!

I clipped a coupon (yes, I’m an avid clipper!) for a new product marketed by Tidy Cats, Pure Nature. I thought I’d give it a try. The first time I brought my coupon with me to the grocery store, the package cost $11.99. I had a one dollar off coupon, and wasn’t convinced so I went with a less expensive brand and was Ok with it. I was a little trepidatious because cats (much like me) do not like change, but it worked out.

The next week I found myself needing to buy litter once again. So, again I carried my coupon – just in case the new product was on sale. It was: $9.99 for a 12 lb. bag. With my dollar off coupon, I paid $8.99 to test the product. The bag clearly states on the front that one twelve pound bag is the equivalent of thirty pounds of Tidy Cat’s clumping litter. For this starving writer, it was certainly worth a try!

Purina Tidy Cats Pure Nature is made of cedar, corn and pine and it clumps! It has only one downfall that I’ve seen: the litter left on the floor once the kitties emerge from the bathroom seems to be more apparent (maybe only because it doesn’t blend with the carpet in the room!). However, the shards will be less hard on the vacuum cleaner than little balls of clay. I keep carpet in my cat/laundry room so as to catch what my cats traipse out of the litter box before emerging into the rest of my house.

All in all, the fact that this litter has a great natural smell, absorbs odors like no other I’ve tried and my cat’s haven’t resisted the change, I will buy this product moving forward. Even when not on sale, the yield far extends anything else I’ve ever tried. I will save money in the long run, you don’t smell cat when you enter my house and we are all happy, happy, and happy!

Bottom line: I highly recommend this product to anyone who has indoor cats. Whether one or several, this product is worth every penny! Oh, yeah….. it’s also environmentally friendly – a huge plus for Ms. Greenjeans! Purina Tidy Cats Pure Nature. Make the change; it’ll do your shnoz good!



Would you be willing to try this product?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • bravewarrior profile imageAUTHOR

      Shauna L Bowling 

      4 years ago from Central Florida

      Welcome to the Cat Lady Club, Eddy!

    • Eiddwen profile image

      Eiddwen 

      4 years ago from Wales

      A great read and now I am in the category of Cat Lady the subject of cat litter is very interesting and useful. Far more than it was when I first read this hub. Wonderful Shauna and enjoy your day.

      Eddy.

    • bravewarrior profile imageAUTHOR

      Shauna L Bowling 

      5 years ago from Central Florida

      Alex, first off I never flush litter or the clumps down my toilets. Secondly, I was not aware of the 'glue' in this product. It certainly is not listed on the bag. Thirdly, after going thru an entire bag and having it tracked all over my house, I went back to regular clumping litter. At the time I tested this product, it seemed like a great option, but it does not hold up to the litter I used prior to trying it.

      Thank you for your honesty, but you might want to curb your judgemental attitude in your future comments. You come off a tad offensive.

    • profile image

      AlexTT 

      5 years ago

      BraveWarrior-

      Is Purina paying you money to write this review? I see no other reason why you'd give it such a high rating.

      This stuff is terrible, and it's surprising that anyone would re-purchase this litter if they care for their cats.

      This stuff is combined with some type of Glue, which is why it sticks so much to the Litter Boxes, and in addition, the Instructions warn against flushing the "natural" material down the toilet. You don't see that on true "natural" litter material.

      The poor cat's paws are filled with this glue/needle combination, and then the cat begins to clean it's paws from this stuff. Do you know where the remains of this Glue/Needle combination ends up? Inside the cat, because it's eating this stuff when it's cleaning its paws.

      Just wanted to warn people NOT to buy this low-grade litter. I highly doubt this stuff is as "natural" as their Marketing Department makes it out to be.

      What you want to buy is the Pine pellet chips that turn very soft once they've been used-up inside the litter box. Plenty of companies are making these right now. They are soft, and do not stick to the cat's paws like needles, and sure as heck don't have Glue added, so they won't stick to the inside of the Litter box like this Purina litter material.

      This is the first review that I have written in years, but I felt compelled enough by the people in my household who are really fed-up with this type of litter to have our opinion by hear. We bought 2 big bags of this from Stop and Shop, not knowing any better, and we cannot get rid of this fast enough.

      We will only be going with the Pine cedar type of litter from this day on. Purina, I highly suggest your re-formulate your current material that you're using, and stick with things that work, like Pine pellets! There are bad reviews on this product on other sites, they are there for a reason. Please fix your product.

      I hope this feedback helps people make a wiser decision. If you want the most "natural" litter for your cat right now, Pine is a great idea

    • bravewarrior profile imageAUTHOR

      Shauna L Bowling 

      5 years ago from Central Florida

      Thank you, Phoebe. The one downfall with this product is little bits of the litter get tracked through the house. Overall, it's a good product.

    • profile image

      Phoebe Pike 

      5 years ago

      An awesome review of the product. I love your honesty.

    • bravewarrior profile imageAUTHOR

      Shauna L Bowling 

      5 years ago from Central Florida

      Give it a shot! My 3 were perfectly fine with it.

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      5 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

      Thanks for this review, bravewarrior. I'm always on the lookout for the perfect cat litter. The type of litter that I buy is very important to my three cats - they have definite preferences! I'll get some of this litter and see what they think of it.

    • bravewarrior profile imageAUTHOR

      Shauna L Bowling 

      5 years ago from Central Florida

      Sure thing, Eddy! Thanx for passing it on.

    • Eiddwen profile image

      Eiddwen 

      5 years ago from Wales

      Great share her Shauna I am handing it over to my daughter too.

      Thanks for sharing and enjoy your day.

      Eddy.

    • bravewarrior profile imageAUTHOR

      Shauna L Bowling 

      5 years ago from Central Florida

      Awesome, Alocsin. Thank you so much!!!

    • alocsin profile image

      alocsin 

      5 years ago from Orange County, CA

      I'll forward your review to cat lovers I know. Voting this Up and Useful.

    • bravewarrior profile imageAUTHOR

      Shauna L Bowling 

      5 years ago from Central Florida

      Paula, as soon as you mentioned a buy-out box store, I knew it was Big Lots! Do you have your customer rewards card? I love that store!

      Congrats on your new baby. Kittens are just the cutest things alive! I have an orange tabby who has adopted me, although I don't let him inside. He has a stubbed tail. My son says he lives on the next street over. Apparently, his stubbed tail is the result of some kids torturing him when he was a kitten; they cut off part of his tail! Can you imagine????? Anyway, someone took him in and neutered him. Thank God - I don't need him spraying my house! He's just the sweetest thing. He comes twice a day for food, sun and love and whips me with his stump in thanks. Only a cat lover would understand the whoopin' is cat for hug!

      What is the brand you found?

    • fpherj48 profile image

      Paula 

      5 years ago from Beautiful Upstate New York

      Shauna.... I use a really great litter that I happen to come across at a big box store (warehouse-type ....that "buys out" stores that have closed up, gone bankrupt, etc)......They had a huge bin of 20 pound bags....and I grabbed it because the price was right. It turned out to be the best litter ever....I just threw the bag out 2 days ago and need to get more....and do you think I can remember the name of it? No.....I just know where to find it! Big Lots......don't know if you have Big Lots, but I love that store.

      I would also like to announce my "NEW" baby!......He is a 4 month old, orange Tabby....named "Tommy-Two" (obviously because I had a Tommy already)......he's playful, loveable, smart and just as cute as can be....! I had to find one....I was so missing my Tommy and grieving terribly........Tommy-Two is healing my heart.

    • bravewarrior profile imageAUTHOR

      Shauna L Bowling 

      5 years ago from Central Florida

      Beckie, so sorry to hear about your baby. I know how heartbreaking it is to lose a pet. I've heard of dogs eating litter, what's up with that?

    • shiningirisheyes profile image

      Shining Irish Eyes 

      5 years ago from Upstate, New York

      Shauna - First - your babies are beautiful and I could just reach out and hug them. My baby left for Rainbow Bridge about four months ago or I would give this try. It's just as well because my puppy would probably try to eat the litter, since she eats everything else! LOL

      Love and fireflies - Beckie XO

    • bravewarrior profile imageAUTHOR

      Shauna L Bowling 

      5 years ago from Central Florida

      Bill, I don't think I'd expected anything less, but at least you 'fessed up to your vote! You've got me saying goodnight with a chuckle, my friend! Love Ya Lots!

      Sha

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 

      5 years ago from Olympia, WA

      I couldn't resist! I had to vote for #2. LOL Great review; here's hoping you make some money with this one.

      love you,

      bill

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)