ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

A Review of VistaPrint - Online Printing Services

Updated on November 15, 2012

My personal review of VistaPrint

As a graphic designer and artist, I am very picky about how printed materials and designs are made. My partner and I owned a sign business for over 14 years, so design, visual communications, branding, marketing, presentation, color and proper image creation are very important to me.

One online company that I highly recommend on the Internet is called VistaPrint, and you may have seen some of their offers pop up in your email inbox. I have been using VistaPrint for over 5 years now and was first introduced to them through one of those online emails offering me 250 free business cards.

I have to say, I was a little skeptical about that word "free". Anything free to me usually means that there's more than meets the eye.

Needing a new business card however, I decided to give VistaPrint a try. I only had to pay the shipping cost for the cards, so I wasn't losing much if the business cards came out poorly. About a week and a half later, I was not disappointed when I received my free business cards. The paper stock was nice, the design very crisp and the colors correct. I used a free design template that VistaPrint offered, and uploaded my own logo for a small cost to be added (logos are not included with the free business card offer - but the fee to add mine was reasonable - just $4.95) Since then I have designed several business cards on VistaPrint - including business cards for my husband.

VistaPrint also offers many other design and print services for small businesses and consumers - banners, car magnetics, postcards, rubber stamps, wedding invitations and websites for businesses.

My double sided postcard ordered from VistaPrint

This is a double sided postcard I ordered from Vistaprint for one of my businesses. I designed it using a photo of one of my Christmas painted holiday windows. My customers love the postcard.
This is a double sided postcard I ordered from Vistaprint for one of my businesses. I designed it using a photo of one of my Christmas painted holiday windows. My customers love the postcard. | Source

My latest business cards from VistaPrint

My latest business card for my writing business. Designed using VistaPrint and one of my photos.
My latest business card for my writing business. Designed using VistaPrint and one of my photos. | Source

What I have designed and ordered through VistaPrint

I have ordered and designed many things through VistaPrint. I have also designed many things for friends, family and other businesses through Vista:

  • Business cards for myself
  • Business cards for my husband
  • Vehicle magnets for our church children's center
  • Banners for an art studio
  • Postcards (double-sided) for my holiday window painting business
  • Rubber business stamps
  • Wedding invitations and envelopes for a friend
  • Small business website

Review: The things I like best about VistaPrint

There are many things I like about VistaPrint but to narrow the pro's down I will focus on the main things I have noticed that stand out about the company:

The things I like:

  • The cost to print through VistaPrint is very reasonable. Compared to most local brick and mortar businesses, VistaPrint wins over the competition hands-down. It is cheaper for me to get business cards through them than use a local print company. The same applies for their banners and vehicle magnetics. In a cost comparison that I did, sign companies and printers cannot compete against their low prices. The reason for this is because of the sheer volume of printed materials they are producing, and their patented processes.
  • It's very easy to design on VistaPrint - even a non creative person can create beautiful printed materials. Though I have an edge in designing, even those that are not very creative can design on VistaPrint through standard templates that they offer. All you have to do is basically fill in the blanks and voila' - you have a beautiful printed design. You can also upload your own designs and add your own logos.
  • You can get your printed materials fast. I found that even using just the standard shipping, I received my order before I expected it. If you are in a hurry, VistaPrint does offer expedited production with faster shipping options (at a price, of course)
  • A wide variety of services, everything you need for your small business. VistaPrint is a one stop shop. You can get all your visual identity needs through VistaPrint. Banners, rubber stamps, holiday cards, business cards, banners and even coffee mugs.
  • Very user friendly website. Easy ordering. It doesn't get any easier than this. I can design, create and order my materials through VistaPrint within a short time.
  • Easy re-ordering. VistaPrint saves your old designs so re-ordering is very easy.
  • Good specials and free offerings sent via email. Once you sign up for your free account at VistaPrint, you will receive free offers for other printed materials along with deals on their products and services. I use these offers frequently.

    VistaPrint design and printing service rating: 5 out of 5.

Poll on your use of VistaPrint

Have you heard of VistaPrint before?

See results

Rate your experience with VistaPrint

5 out of 5 stars from 2 ratings of Vista Print

Review: What I do not recommend at VistaPrint

The one service I do not recommend at VistaPrint are their small business websites. The reason why is this: When you get your small business website through VistaPrint, you do not "own" your domain. You must use their templates and you cannot customize your website with affiliate products or other services.

I got my name domain through them several years ago, and could not get my domain name back for a couple years. This made me highly heated, even though I had stopped using their web services. I felt that my name had been "held hostage" for a couple years.

If you don't care about your small business website being controlled by another company and need just a very basic website for your business, this may work for you. I, however, as a writer and publisher, want to be able to customize my websites and add my Google Ads, Amazon and affiliate links where and when I like. Through VistaPrint, you cannot do this.

VistaPrints small business website service rating: 2 out of 5.

Only good for newbies, beginners or those that can't, don't want to, or don't know how to build a website or host one.

(Reviewer: Dorsi Diaz. These are my personal opinions of Vistaprint and a writers review of their services. Please feel free to leave comments at the bottom of this hub. I do not work for nor am I affiliated with VistaPrint)

Comments

Submit a Comment

  • Dorsi profile image
    Author

    Dorsi Diaz 5 years ago from The San Francisco Bay Area

    @DIYmommy) What a great idea DIY - I'm off to read your hub now!

  • DIYmommy profile image

    Julie 5 years ago

    I love Vistaprint! Struggling with various ideas for how we'd like to decorate the walls of our new home gym 'space', we decided to have some professional looking motivational type posters made, and framed with a fairly cheap black poster frame from Wal-mart. A Soldier for 13 years now, my husband found some great motivational military posters, and we ran them through Vistaprint. I actually just wrote an article, called "Dropping Those Pregnancy Pounds", where I included a picture of what the posters and our workout area look like. Thanks for the great hub!

  • Dorsi profile image
    Author

    Dorsi Diaz 5 years ago from The San Francisco Bay Area

    @Million) Thanks and glad it was helpful.

  • Millionaire Tips profile image

    Shasta Matova 5 years ago from USA

    Great information here - I will be sure to consider them for my business cards but not for website services. Voted up.

  • Dorsi profile image
    Author

    Dorsi Diaz 5 years ago from The San Francisco Bay Area

    @Nell my friend) Thank-you

    @bridalletter) Thanks, yes that sure was nice!

    @Glass) I designed some wedding invitations for some friends on VistaPrint and they came out great too. Great for us small business people also!

    @GoodLady) Thanks!

    @Virginia) Business cards are an awesome business building tool and probably one of the least expensive.

    @longlivemedia) Hey that's good to know of another good place. Thanks for stopping by and reading!

    @renegadetory) Thanks and yes, anything "free" usually puts peoples hinky meters up but this one is true lol!

  • renegadetory profile image

    Carolyn Dahl 5 years ago from Ottawa, Ontario

    I always go to Vista for many of my printing needs. They are so affordable, offer great products and I love how you can do many customizations too! Great review! I think it's great that you touch on the fact that Vista is often thought of as a scam.

  • longlivemedia profile image

    longlivemedia 5 years ago

    I used PrintPlace.com for my business cards and the result was truly impressive. Would love also to try Vistaprint, heard some good feedback on this company.Thanks for this informative article!

  • VirginiaLynne profile image

    Virginia Kearney 5 years ago from United States

    I got half-way through ordering business cards through them one time but wondered if it was worth it. So glad to see a review that says I can trust their service. I love your HubPages/writing business card. I'm traveling to China this summer and the last time I was there, I found lots of people wanted my business card, but I hadn't brought one. I will be sure to check out Vista Print and go through with the purchase this time! Thanks!

  • GoodLady profile image

    Penelope Hart 5 years ago from Rome, Italy

    This is a very useful, informative review! Congratulations on your well deserved win.

  • glassvisage profile image

    glassvisage 5 years ago from Northern California

    I used Vistaprint for my wedding invitations, believe it or not! I thought they came out great - they have options for making items higher quality if you need it. It's easy to use too. They have a lot of Groupons for it too... just make sure you read the details for how much you have to spend and if you still have to pay for shipping separately. HubPages ads feature good deals on Vistaprint too!

  • bridalletter profile image

    Brenda Kyle 5 years ago from Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

    I am so glad to see a review on Vistaprint. I love the company and have used them over the years, as well. Great hub and congratulations on winning the review contest!

  • Nell Rose profile image

    Nell Rose 5 years ago from England

    I love your business cards! sounds great to me, and if they are of that quality then its well worth doing, nice one! voted up! nell

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)