ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Canon Rebel T3i Review

Updated on September 12, 2014
Canon Rebel T3i/600D
Canon Rebel T3i/600D

Questions About The Rebel T3i Release

If you are a photographer that wants to get into digital SLR photography and you have been waiting for just the right camera to come along, I have good news for you. Your wait is over. And this Canon Rebel T3i review will explain why.

Actually, the Canon T3i is neither late nor early. It is right on time! It has been almost a year to the day since the T2i was released.

And, if you have been following the Canon Rebel line, one year is about normal for the release of a new Rebel digital SLR.

The release of new Rebels is usually a reason for pomp and fanfare. But there is a kind of hush over this product release. It has not gotten the media attention of some of its predecessors, notably the T2i.

Some reviewers are scratching their heads over this news. It seems that there are features that normally get upgraded that did not in this camera.

One thing it does not have is a new sensor, and this is the biggest something that has some folks wondering. It's true that this is the first Rebel ever that has not had a larger sensor than its predecessor.

But before joining the nay-sayers, think about this - don't you think the 60D and 7D produce terrific images? The answer is a resounding "Yes", and they both have this exact same 18-megapixel sensor. This is excellent news for you, since you will be getting the same image quality as buyers of the more expensive cameras.

Samples from Canon Rebel T3i/600D

Koala Bear from Canon Photo on Flickr
Koala Bear from Canon Photo on Flickr

T3i Features = T2i Features

Here is a list of things that are the same on the Canon Rebel T3i as on the Canon Rebel T2i:


1. As already mentioned, the 18 megapixel CMOS sensor was not changed.

2. DIGIC 4 processor - nope, not changed

3. Kit lens - same 18-55mm lens

4. ISO sensitivity - still 100-6400 (expandable to 12800)

5. Video - unchanged from 1080P HD

6. Continuous shooting rate - 3.7 frames per second, just like the T2i

Wait! I can just hear you asking, "But what has changed, if anything?" Why not just get the older version and save a few bucks (because the price always goes down when the new product comes out).

Hold on to your reins, Hoss. This Canon Rebel T3i review ain't over yet!

Vari-angle (articulating) LCD screen
Vari-angle (articulating) LCD screen
"Green Square" offers freedom and time to learn the Digital SLR settings
"Green Square" offers freedom and time to learn the Digital SLR settings
Feature Guide as seen in the LCD panel
Feature Guide as seen in the LCD panel

OK, we finally get to the good stuff. Just check out the new/upgraded features that did make the cut. There is plenty to get excited about.

First - The new Rebel T3i has a vari-angle (articulating) LCD screen just like the 60D. Many photographers would give up their first-born for this, especially those who shoot lots of video.

Second - The "Green Square" is a new mode setting on the top dial. This setting allows the camera to make creative adjustments for each shot. Point and shoot camera owners may be familiar with this if they have an "Intelligent Auto" setting on their camera, because that is basically what it is. The advantage of this little setting is that if you are unsure of the right manual settings, you can let the camera make the right choices, while you enjoy the praise for a great image.

Third - Creative filters for in-camera editing . With this feature, you can convert a photo that you have already taken to a different mode without having to upload it to a computer. You can even create fish-eye effects with this new feature.

Fourth - Mode descriptions in the LCD screen . You no longer have to remember what those silly little pictures mean. Now when you select a setting, you can read a short description of that setting on the LCD screen. Gotta love this one.

Canon has taken steps to make this new Canon Rebel T3i just what the new digital DSLR owner needs.

Sample Video Taken with Canon Rebel T3i

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      amuckgrrl 

      7 years ago

      what's up with the obviously photoshopped 2nd image? this camera so awesome that it photoshops a perfect reflection for you?

    • thewayeyeseeit profile imageAUTHOR

      thewayeyeseeit 

      7 years ago from Woodstock, GA

      Thanks Josie, good luck with your new T3i.

    • profile image

      Josie  

      7 years ago

      Presently looking at purchasing and so far after looking at various camera's that are out there, I think this will be the one for me, its got alot to offer and what interests me most is it has a LCD screen with interchangable lens. Great Pictures!

    • Sharon Douglas profile image

      Sharon Douglas 

      7 years ago from GA, United States

      thanks I'll look into it!

    • thewayeyeseeit profile imageAUTHOR

      thewayeyeseeit 

      7 years ago from Woodstock, GA

      Sharon,

      If you are a first-time digital SLR buyer or the owner of one of the older Rebel models, this one is for you.

    • Sharon Douglas profile image

      Sharon Douglas 

      7 years ago from GA, United States

      wow impressive camera and informative article!

      My husband and I have been looking for the right camera to buy, so we really appreciate this information.

    • thewayeyeseeit profile imageAUTHOR

      thewayeyeseeit 

      7 years ago from Woodstock, GA

      Hey Dexter,

      Thanks for your endorsement. The 7D is an amazingly popular camera that anyone looking at a Canon Rebel T3i would love to have if they had the cash.

    • Dexter Yarbrough profile image

      Dexter Yarbrough 

      7 years ago from United States

      Great hub. I have the Canon 7D and don't regret my purchase. This camera is certainly great for a photographer that might be a bit more price conscious. Thanks!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)