ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Product Review-Cricut Expression 2

Updated on September 24, 2014

introduction

Sometimes it is better to leave everything just the way it is, and sometimes it is not.For scrapbookers, and card makers alike, the new Cricut Expression 2 electronic cutting machine is one of those machines that is better than the original.

Before I begin my review, I need point out that I am not an employee of Provo Craft, paid by Provo Craft to endorse this product, and most definitely not the owner of Provo Craft.I am just an ordinary person who happens to scrapbook for a living.Now that we got the introductions out of the way, I will begin to review this product.

In case you are not familiar with cutting machines in general.A typical cutting machine uses the pressure of weights on a die, which allows that die template to cut out a shape.It works on the same principle as a sheet metal cutting press.In the case of a paper cutting machine, there is a blade inside of the die template.You place a piece of paper on top of the platform of the machine, the die, and then a Plexiglas protector and crank it though.Provo Craft has a small version of that system called a Cuttlebug, which will be discussed at a later time.

Provo Craft first introduced the Cricut around 2006.This system uses electricity to mimic the hand cranking use to cut the die, which is now housed in the form of a cartridge.The platform has been replaced by a flexible mat with adhesive to hold the paper.The machine has a blade housing with is used to cut out the shape needed.The Original Personal Electronic Cutting machine (affectingly known to the Cricut world as the baby bug) cuts a half sheet of 12x12 (6x12) paper in shapes from .1/2” to 5 ½ “.Around 2007-08, Provo Craft (not Provocraft) introduced the Expression machine.It cuts whole 12x12 sheets of paper.It cuts shapes from ¼” to 23 ½”, and it was a relief for those paper crafters who use 12 x 12 sheets of paper.Next came the Cricut Create (for those who wanted a smaller Expression).It mixes the best of baby bug with the controls of the Expression, again turning the controls ofcutting on a half sheet of 12x12 paper to those who love it, or want to take the cutting machine to crops.Provo Craft introduced the Cricut Cake, Cricut Cake Mini, and Cricut Imagine all in 2010.I do want to point out that paper is not the only thing the Cricuts cut out.All except the Cricut Cake machines cut out soft metal, thin sheets of chipboard (except the Imagine), fabric, and a couple other materials.Because of FDA rules and regulations, the Cricut Cake and the Cricut Cake Mini can only cut out fondant for cake decorating, and the parts of these machines are protected so that no dirt or other foreign objects can get in.

The best way to review the Cricut Expression 2 and the Cricut Expression 2 5th Anniversary Edition, is to compare it to the original Expressions Machine.The Cricut Expressions 2 5th Anniversary Edition made its debut in April 2011 on the Home Shopping Network (HSN).This was Provo Craft’s way of celebrating the birth of the Cricut.September 2011, Provo Craft debut the E2 with its 5th Anniversary moniker on HSN.There is no difference in the two E2 machines, except the E2 5th Anniversary Edition has Green end caps, while the E2 has silver end caps.Also, the E2 had the WIFI adaptor already in the box, while the rest of the crafters who either already own the Anniversary Edition (which I currently have) or anyone who buy the E2 in a store will have to buy the adaptor when it is ready.

If you already own an Expression machine, and purchase the E2, right away you will notice how different they look.The E2 looks sleeker than its big brother, coming in at 1” shorter than the Expression (Known as E1 for the rest of the article).You will also notice that the screen is now on the top of the machine, and not inside.This is where you would perform all the function of the machine, including setup.Setup is really easy.Plug it up, and the first thing you do is update the machine with your computer.No computer, no worries, because cricut do not require a computer to use it.This is just an extra feature.I love the computer feature, and will love it more when I get the WIFI adaptor. (It is already setup to except the adapter.)

The other big difference between the two is no overlay to use.Cartridges come with a handbook and overlay, so you can find what you need.All machines except the Imagine and the E2 uses the overlays.I think that the overlays are too much of a pain to store.So it is a blessing to know that I do not need them.The last difference between E1 and E2 is the cartridges.E1 uses the regular cartridges, and lets leave it at that.E2, on the other hand, uses not only the regular cartridges, but the Imagine cartridges as well. In case, you are not familiar with the Cricut imagine machine, The Imagine not only cuts but prints as well.E2 can use these cartridges, but E2 cannot print out the images.

As far as price points go, most electronic cutting machines are usually in the $199-$350 range, and the E2 sells at the moment for $299, which is the price on their site www.cricut.com.I am not sure is Provo Craft will stick to that price or change it.It all depends on the number of sales received.You may be able to find a cheaper price like Walmart or bid on one at Ebay.

Over all, if you want something that is simple, stick to the E1 or the original Expressions machine.Provo Craft does not plan on retiring them any time soon and if they are, again you can always catch a clearance sale or two.But if you are looking for a slicker version of the original and do not mind have a touch screen and WIFI, than E2 is your machine.

Update to the original article

Update: Since I originally wrote this Hub, Provo Craft, which I mistakenly called ProvoCraft (It is two words), has introduced the Cricut Mini. The Cricut Mini addresses those crafters who uses 8.5 x 11 sheets of paper. Although I do not personally own a Cricut mini, I have heard great reviews for the machine, which also uses the mat/cartridge system. Provo Craft has also introduced a software to replace their Design Studio software. This is allows the craft to use their machine with their computer. I will present my review on the online/offline software soon.

Note to those having problems with their machines:

If you are having problems with your machine, please call Provo Craft about your particular machine. It does not matter if you just purchased your machine or had it for several years. If the rep does not give you the answer to the questions or problem you have, hang up, call back immediately, and present it as though you are calling for the first time. The first rep may not have the answers (they are supposed to), but that may not always be the case. Remain calm and do not raise your voice. If anything, see if you can get a new machine, especially if it is a new machine. You can always take the machine back to the store you bought it from. It is a little harder if you order it online from any store other than Provo Craft, because the shipping may be on your dime. If you ordered it from HSN (Home Shopping Network), The Shipping label comes with the machine so save it in case there is a problem.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Julie E 

      3 years ago

      this was a very expensive machine and I have had so many issues with it! First calling about a problem.... Be ready to wait 30-45 mins to speak to someone: constant "error" comes on the screen after 1-2 hrs of intermittent problems since the day I bought it! It's irrelevant if you call because then there will be another problem! Two years later I have had it and it will go to the back of the closet! So sad .... $300 plus $$$ on cartridges! All a waste of money and time, I will never get back!

    • plogan721 profile imageAUTHOR

      Patricia Logan 

      5 years ago from Columbus, Ohio

      I am sorry that you had so many problems with your machine. I have been using Cricut machine (4 models) for over 10 years with no problems to them at all. I would still call back to Provo Craft to get something back for your machine. I have written this article over a year ago, and I still highly recommend it as a cutting tool.

    • Sommer Alvarez profile image

      Sommer Alvarez 

      5 years ago

      I purchased this machine a little over a year ago and it has turned out to be a disaster. It didn't seem to want to cut right and then it just decided to not turn on. It failed within the 1 year time frame but since I didn't call until just after, they refuse to do anything for me. There are more and more negative reviews of this machine all the time, I just wish they were there when I was first looking at the product...I would not have bought it. Its a huge risk...you might be throwing your money away.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)