ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Nissan Customer Service Responds to CVT Complaints About Murano

Updated on July 6, 2012

Many owners of a Nissan Murano with its CVT transmission remain angry about how Nissan have dealt with the ongoing problems with the Murano. I must say, I am glad I did not buy one as I was planning to do in light of the myriad of complaints about failing CVT transmissions even in new cars.

According Nissan's Ken Martin, VP of Customer Service, this is what they have done:

  • Extended the existing warranty for the powertrain to 10 years or 120,000 miles for repairs and replacement\towing. This includes Muranos built from 2003 to present.
  • If you have paid for CVT repairs Nissan will provide some sort of reimbursement, however, the deadline was in 2010.

This new policy went into effect sometime in 2009 and the extension requires no action on your part and fully transferable to future owners of your vehicle. Even if you no longer own your Nissan we will reimburse you for past CVT repairs that would have been covered under this extension of the warranty. Contact the Nissan CVT Customer Assistance Center at 888-388-0318.

The question owners should ask is if the form is still available and if the deadline has been renewed. It would seem Nissan's reaction to all the complaints may have solved the problem, but if you are a Murano owner, what has been your experience regarding this new warranty extension? I wonder if Nissan will really pay a former owner back for CVT repairs after they have sold the car to another? What occurs if the Murano has exchanged owners several times in a few years and each owner has CVT problems?

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Coteg56 

      4 years ago

      2006 Murano and the transmission just went with 121,389 miles on the vehicle. 1,389 miles over warranty, Nissan said sorry your on your own for repairs. I'm stuck with a $4,075.00 repair for this known problem, last Nissan for this family.

    • profile image

      osadebe mbamalu 

      4 years ago

      I Love the Nissan murano. I almost bought one but was adviced by my mechanic not to because of gear issues. Reading these posts have shed more light on my fears.

    • profile image

      ryanbrundle 

      4 years ago

      exact same thing

    • profile image

      Zavier 

      4 years ago

      Nissan just told me that they have never heard of this problem and are stumped as why it is doing this.

    • profile image

      Sean Farrell 

      5 years ago

      I have the same problem since 2004. For years Nissan denied there was an issue, so I gave up going to the dealership. They even test drove the car with the acceleration hesitation occurring. Discovered recently that they extended the warranty, but missed the deadline by a few months as they did not advise owners.

      I have learned to live with a car that is frankly dangerous. There have been several times when the hesitation nearly put me in an accident, but I can't afford to replace the car.

      In the mean time I have told literally dozens of people never to buy a Nissan. They don't stand behind their products.

    • profile image

      RJ 

      5 years ago

      I have a NEW 2012 Murano with less than 9000 miles on it and it will not shift under acceleration. It will get hung up in a lower gear and it is very Dangerous when pulling out in traffic!!

    • perrya profile imageAUTHOR

      perrya 

      5 years ago

      we all repair stories with car, I have to pay $1700 for minor issues that cause performance issues and oil leak. I feel for you!

    • profile image

      Rob 

      5 years ago

      I have an '09 Murano SL and am having the CVT replaced. Transfer case is also leaking and from all I've read, seems to be uncovered by any warranty even though it's part of the same problem. $3,500+ for repairs on the transfer case alone! Nissan needs to take some responsibility and provide solutions for it's customers. My fear is that after reading many posts, so many people who've had theirs replaced (CVT's and Transfer cases) seem to have about the same bad luck with the replaced parts. (in some cases sooner than when the original parts failed) What can be done to remedy this? Is there a class-action suit in the works? I filed a complaint with Safecar.gov and a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. Any thoughts would be great.

    • profile image

      5 years ago

      They extended the warranty but did not go to any effort to contact current owners to inform them of the situation. Now, my son has his Murano sitting in a parking lot due to the fact it will not move and showed all the signs of the trans going out. Really feel screwed by what I thought would be a good vehicle for him.

    • perrya profile imageAUTHOR

      perrya 

      6 years ago

      All I know is that Nissan did extend the warranty. It was mentioned on this blog.

    • profile image

      Nicole 

      6 years ago

      Well unfortunately I am over the warranty period by 23,000. The problem is that the common problem occurred quite some time ago while I was in the warranty period but when you take to car to be looked at the car is not duplicating the issue therefore it goes unfounded, in the meantime the car only has the issue ever so often, now that it is happening more I took it in to find out it was the cvt transmission but since I am out of warranty Nissan stated we will not help you, you are out of warranty. Do you know of anything that can be done. Someone in the past mention a class act action. What are your thoughts?

    • perrya profile imageAUTHOR

      perrya 

      6 years ago

      depends, but some have mentioned several thousands and more. Glance thru the postings.

    • profile image

      Borbor 

      6 years ago

      I have a nissan murano 03 and I am noticing heavy noise when driving between 35-50 mph. I took it in to nissan and they told me it is normal. I drove another one and never heard the noise. My question is, what should I expecting considering damage and repair cost?

    • perrya profile imageAUTHOR

      perrya 

      7 years ago

      cute

    • perrya profile imageAUTHOR

      perrya 

      7 years ago

      This is great! Good way to describe it.

    • profile image

      uwa 

      7 years ago

      murano look good on the outside but on the inside it look like petty woman on the outside with HIV on the inside, good luck with murano

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)