ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Godaddy Review: Based On Personal Experience

Updated on January 6, 2014
Cardisa profile image

Carolee is a passionate writer with a love for learning and teaching. She is a published author, poet, blogger, and content creator.

Godaddy logo
Godaddy logo

I purchased my first domain years ago from Godaddy because it was recommended by my boss as the time. I am so scared of internet scams and since you are not getting a tangible service you tend to want to stick with services recommended by people you know.

Over the last ten years or so I continued to use Godaddy for my domain purchases and later migrated to using their web builder and hosting. This review is my honest opinion and overview of their services.

I will try to break down their services into four sections:

  1. Their domain registration
  2. Their website builder
  3. Their hosting
  4. Support/customer service

Godaddy Domain Registration Review

This online registrar is probably the best known for registering a domain. You get a free email address with every domain you register and their domains are very competitive.

It is quite easy to edit your domain zone file and point your domain elsewhere. This way you can host with Godaddy while building your site with another such as Webs, Weebly, Wix, Zoho or any other free website builder or blog.

Godaddy also allows you to recover expired domains. When your domain subscription expires you are given a grace period in which to pay. If you missed your deadline you can recover the domain at a later date but the domain will not be live.

I recommend this service as I have had no problems with their domain registration so far.

What platform do you use to build your website?

See results

Goddady Website Builder Review

You have three options for website builder which comes with free hosting and a free domain. They tend to offer a lot of free stuff to catch the customer but beware when checking out not to be fooled into adding features to your purchase or you may end up paying more than you bargain for.

The good thing is that you can delete stuff from your cart just before paying.

The website builder is drag and drop but tend to get messy if you are not careful. They do not offer login features for your website and their economy account only lets you add five publishable pages.

Though the finished product can look great the features are limited.

I do not recommend this service. If you need to build a website and you are low on cash, choose a free web builder such as Zoho, Yola, Webs, Weebly, Wordpress or Wix, then point your domain there. All you need to do this the services will provide.

Are you satisfied with your hosting provider?

See results

Godaddy Hosting Review

Godaddy offers great hosting packages to suit the pocket. Their ultimate hosting even comes with a free SSL certificate, unlimited domain hosting and unlimited email addresses for your domain.

As I mentioned before they offer a lot of free stuff and the prices are really hard to beat. With the hosting comes the option of installing different kinds of scripts/applications for building your site. Some of these scripts include Drupal, Joomla,Wordpress and more. These three are the most popular and my personal favorites.

However, beware of purchasing Godaddy hosting as they tend to have frequent server errors. They go offline very often and you may not be able to access your site.

Adding domains to your hosting plan is a hassle as well. Though your ultimate plan says you can add unlimited domains your original domain will prevent your other domains from working seamlessly. I found that Hostgator and Justhost function better.

I do not recommend this service. You have several options for using these premium scripts to build your site. You can download the Drupal cPanel to your desktop and build your site yourself then purchase a hosting plan elsewhere, then upload your files through an Ftp client. Or purchase hosting that allows you to install a script so you can build your site live.

I recommend iPage, Hostgator and A2 (recommended by Drupal).


Godaddy Support/Customer Service Review

Customer service and support should be a major factor in purchasing any goods or service. If you are purchasing a service online where you are not getting something you can hold in your hand then it is of utmost importance that you have the best customer support so you in turn can offer great service.

Godaddy has the worst support services ever for any hosting company I have used. They do not reply to some of your query and when they do it's the wrong answer or something totally off topic.It seems to me that the people who offer support at Godaddy have no idea how to fix problems. Oftentimes it takes quite a number of queries and cancellation threats before getting the correct response.

I definitely do not recommend Godaddy for building or hosting your website.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Cardisa profile imageAUTHOR

      Carolee Samuda 

      4 years ago from Jamaica

      Hi Ken, that's great! I really hope Godaddy works for you. It didn't work for me but I do like purchasing their domains.

    • KenDeanAgudo profile image

      Kenneth C Agudo 

      4 years ago from Tiwi, Philippines

      Godaddy is my webhosting company too on my very first site and I just got my 1 year subscription for only $2 which is pretty affordable. I used coupons. Great Review!

    • Cardisa profile imageAUTHOR

      Carolee Samuda 

      4 years ago from Jamaica

      Thanks Rebecca. I had to warn people. A lot of persons are thinking of starting their own websites so it's good they know what godaddy offers. :)

    • rebeccamealey profile image

      Rebecca Mealey 

      4 years ago from Northeastern Georgia, USA

      Thanks for this review. It is always good to hear from someone who has experience with a service like this!

    • Cardisa profile imageAUTHOR

      Carolee Samuda 

      5 years ago from Jamaica

      Hi Moonlake. Sorry to hear that you are having trouble with blogger. Hope it gets resolved.

    • moonlake profile image

      moonlake 

      5 years ago from America

      Thanks for all this information. I also built my own site years ago and now I'm having trouble with Blogger. Voted up.

    • Cardisa profile imageAUTHOR

      Carolee Samuda 

      5 years ago from Jamaica

      Thanks MsDora, Godaddy really suck, I really wanted to caution people.

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      5 years ago from The Caribbean

      Very thoughtful of you to share your experiences with GoDaddy. The reasons for your opinion are very clear. Voted Up.

    • Cardisa profile imageAUTHOR

      Carolee Samuda 

      5 years ago from Jamaica

      Hi Mike, I agree with you 100%. I regret being sucked into their schemes. They don't use the standard cPanel which makes it difficult to transfer your site easily to another host with cPanel. They have their own panel which is called Hosting Connection and it sucks. Contacted another host recommended by Drupal which has a great plan and does only hosting but transferring my site would need an FTP client. Had Godaddy used cPanel I could have transferred my site easily. I am going to move all my sites to another host and only buy domains from them.

    • MikeNV profile image

      MikeNV 

      5 years ago from Henderson, NV

      I only use them for Domain Registration. A better company for this is NameSilo which is also in Phoenix. You can't really place too little emphasis on 24/7 telephone support when you need it most. Many Registrars only offer email support and that's all fine until a real problem happens and you really wish you had a telephone number to call. GoDaddy plays a lot of tricks with upsells and pricing. It's hard at times to find coupons for renewal but they are out there. NameSilo plays no such games, same price all the time and no ridiculous charges for privacy. The primary reason I don't move everything to NameSilo is diversification in case something goes south at any given registrar. For hosting there is no way I'd use GoDaddy - very restrictive in what kind of scripts you can run and I do not like their custom panel.

    • Cardisa profile imageAUTHOR

      Carolee Samuda 

      5 years ago from Jamaica

      Hello Nisargmahta, you are making the right decision. I am slowly migrating away from Godaddy. Gor your customers satisfaction there are other great options such as Hostgator, iPage (rated #1), Dreamhost, A2 hsoting and Bluehost.

    • nisargmehta profile image

      NISARG MEHTA 

      5 years ago from SURAT, Gujarat, India

      Hey Cardisa, Thank you very much. I was planning to hire their services for my clients. After reading this hub, I am keen on continuing with my current provider as Server up time is 99.99% and other facilities are also there. Well price is a little higher but I look for my customers' satisfaction. Thanks again for your insightful review.

    • Cardisa profile imageAUTHOR

      Carolee Samuda 

      5 years ago from Jamaica

      Hey Rasta, Godaddy sucks! I have other people who totally agree with me. I was thinking of setting up my own server but I don't have the equipment for that and I don't want to use the computer that I work from.

    • Cardisa profile imageAUTHOR

      Carolee Samuda 

      5 years ago from Jamaica

      Hey Todd, I love building websites though I don't do it to make money, a lot of people don't know I can build a website fro scratch. I used to use Frontpage and Dreamweaver. I know a little HTML and I can edit a CSS. but since web building has become so easy with the scripts and templates that's what most people use.

      I noticed you have a domain that you are not using. If you like I can build a site for you free of cost and point your domain to it. You can log in and add whatever you want to add to it to make your site come alive. Makes no sense paying for something you aint gonna use.

    • rasta1 profile image

      Marvin Parke 

      5 years ago from Jamaica

      I have a good time with godaddy. I have never had a high traffic website with godaddy, so I can't really address their reliability. I have also a lamp setup that is a much better option than godaddy but it is not live. It is just for production. A live server at work/home is best.

    • Wesman Todd Shaw profile image

      Wesman Todd Shaw 

      5 years ago from Kaufman, Texas

      Ah maybe someday I'll have the confidence required to try this stuff....as it is ...I'm just trying to type text into boxes, and hope I can say something someone will want to read :)

    • Cardisa profile imageAUTHOR

      Carolee Samuda 

      5 years ago from Jamaica

      Hi Martin, nice to see you. Haven't been around much lately.

    • Mhatter99 profile image

      Martin Kloess 

      5 years ago from San Francisco

      Thank you for this review.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)