ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

How to Become a Successful Book Reviewer on Fiverr

Updated on April 7, 2014

The Concept of a "Gig" on Fiverr

You can find almost any service you can imagine on Fiverr--at least the legal ones--and all for the base price of $5. Ever dreamed of sending your boyfriend a personalized video of a puppet singing Happy Birthday? You can pay someone to do that. Ever wanted a self-portrait done in anime style? It's on there.

You can also find gigs such as editing, proofreading, backlinking, social media support, marketing, and more.

Is your time worth more? Most definitely. But if the gig is something you will enjoy doing and might do in your free time anyway, why not make some extra spending money?

Reviewing Books to Make Money on Fiverr

If you love reading and would love to be paid to read even more, Fiverr may be the perfect option for you. What's Fiverr? It's a website where "buyers" purchase a "gig" from you for a particular service--for $5.

While that may seem like too little to be worth your time to review a book, don't be too hasty to judge--I make about $200 a month on Fiverr reviewing books, and I don't spend hours a day or even a week. I generally get the books to keep on my Kindle, so my library grows for free.

Read on for tips on making money on Fiverr by reviewing books!

Love to read and need some extra cash? Reviewing books on Fiverr may be a great option!
Love to read and need some extra cash? Reviewing books on Fiverr may be a great option! | Source

Creating Your Gig for Book Reviewing on Fiverr

There are numerous book review gigs on Fiverr, so you need to make yours stand out to get the business. In addition to posting a picture of yourself, since people are more likely to buy from a person than they are from a random avatar, make sure your gig is correct in regard to grammar, spelling, and punctuation. Don't be sloppy!

Also be sure to do the following:

  • Cite any experience or education that makes you an excellent reviewer.
  • Tell what makes you different from other reviewers--do you complete the gig more quickly? Do you promise a review that contains a certain number of words?
  • Include a call to action, asking the potential buyer to contact you for more information or to get the process started.
  • State any particular expertise within genres.

Do you make money from Fiverr?

See results

Managing Your Book Review Gig on Fiverr

Once you're created your gig, it's time to sit back and wait for that first order. (While some people "promote" their gig via social media or other channels, I generally am content to let buyers stumble upon mine.)

If a potential buyer messages you a question, answer immediately. Whenever the buyer purchases a gig and submits the required information, promptly respond and thank them for their purchase, and affirm you will have the project completed by the deadline (Fiverr lets you set your own deadline; I've found a week sufficient for most projects). Customer service is key on Fiverr!

Most importantly, a large part of managing your book review is managing the buyer's expectations. Don't be afraid to say what you will and will not do--for instance, perhaps you won't review violent or erotic novels. If the buyer does purchase a book review gig for such thematic material, kindly request a cancellation or ask Fiverr Help to do it for you.

Finally, if you get overwhelmed with gigs and can't keep up--just suspend the gig for a while. You can put it back online whenever you want, with no penalty.

Source

Improving Revenues with Your Book Review Gig on Fiverr

You still may be skeptical--why should you read a book for $5, even if you really love to read? The time/effort balance is not worth it--and I agree.

What makes Fiverr worth your time are the "extras" you can tack on to the book--for instance, posting a review to certain sites can cost the buyer an extra $10; delivering a gig within three days instead of seven can cost an extra $20; and a one-day turnaround can cost an extra $50. You can see how quickly that adds up!

I review between four and five books a month and make roughly $200, as I mentioned above; sometimes I review a book for less, of course, but it generally evens out in the end. Some buyers are big spenders and purchase many extras, which helps with the revenue stream.

(You must also be able to read quickly if you plan on doing multiple books a week--can you skim a book in an hour if necessary and write a quality review? If not, book reviewing may not be for you.)

Check Out My Fiverr Gig!

If you're looking for a qualified, eloquent book reviewer, you've found me! You can find my book review gig on Fiverr here.

Book Review Do's and Don'ts on Fiverr

Life is full of rules, and working on Fiverr is no different. The following two pieces of information are very important when reviewing books:


  • It is against the Amazon terms of service to post a paid review for a product on the site; this can result in your reviews being stripped from Amazon.
  • If you advertise on Fiverr that you will post reviews to Amazon, your gig can be shut down as well--Fiverr doesn't promote jobs that are against other site's terms of service.

Paid book reviews are a controversial subject already, so take that into account before you set up your gig. So consider this: Are you going to let the buyer dictate the tone of your review--for instance, that you must give it five stars? That misleads potential readers and is not entirely ethical. It's best to write honest reviews and be upfront about that in your gig description.

Pros and Cons of Fiverr

Pros

  • The possibility of quick money doing simple tasks
  • Getting paid to do what you enjoy
  • Ease of use

Cons

  • Working for well under what your work is worth
  • Frustrating buyers who may be rude or difficult to deal with

The Basics of Writing a Book Review

You have to work quickly if you want to make money on Fiverr and have it be worth your time. That being said, you don't have to sacrifice quality. Book reviews that will please the buyer and help a potential reader include the following elements:

  • A short summary of the book, without giving away any spoilers.
  • Your analysis of where the book succeeds or fails.
  • Your take on the characters, situations, and plot in the book.
  • Similar books in the same genre that can be compared to the book.
  • Your opinion on whether your would recommend the book, and to which audience you would make the recommendation (for instance, readers who enjoy horror, romance, etc.).

Making Cash with Fiverr

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • heathersgreatcat profile image

      Heather Walton 

      3 years ago from Charlotte, NC

      I just joined Fiverr afew days ago and have already received several messages from buyers looking for someone to post Amazon reviews of products, pet reviews, etc. If you post a good picture and relevant bio information (like an English Literature degree and over ten years of professional writing experience) buyers WILL find you. Yes, there are some sketchy buyers out there who can be very demanding but this is a great way to earn cash on the side without having to get a regular part time job. I say go for it to anyone who is interested in working as a writer, reviewer or proofreader.

      Thanks for a great article with real-life experience!!

    • Rock_nj profile image

      John Coviello 

      4 years ago from New Jersey

      Good Hub about making money Fiverr from book review gigs. I am confused though how you provide this service without going against the Amazon terms of service and Fiverr rules? You just advertise that you will review a book for $5, but don't specify where that review will appear?

    • RonElFran profile image

      Ronald E Franklin 

      4 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Interesting information. I never knew of Fiverr before, and will be checking it out. Thanks for the introduction.

    • SaffronBlossom profile imageAUTHOR

      SaffronBlossom 

      4 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Thanks! I checked out your Fiverr profile and you have so much positive feedback--that's awesome! I hope to reach your level. :)

    • SaffronBlossom profile imageAUTHOR

      SaffronBlossom 

      5 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Thanks for commenting everyone! @Abby...I haven't ever reviewed a book that cost more than $10, because I usually only do electronic books! But I suppose it would be three gigs. Surprisingly, I didn't really have any trouble getting business--I think my background and promise to write 300 words drew in a few people, and from there the good reviews drew in more! Sadly I don't think I get a bonus for referrals but if you join let me know how it goes! While a lot of people put in more work than is worth it for what they make, I think there are also people who make a good amount of spending money without sinking a lot of time into the site.

    • btrbell profile image

      Randi Benlulu 

      5 years ago from Mesa, AZ

      Interesting hub, Erica! I only learned of fiverr several months ago and have only visited once. I have told my son to offer translating there. I loved all the information here and will definitely check it out again! Rhank you! up++

    • Abby Campbell profile image

      Abby Campbell 

      5 years ago from Charlotte, North Carolina

      What an informative and useful hub, Erica! I appreciate you posting this so much. I watched the video which was very helpful, and I also went to the Fiverr site and looked for you there. I do have a couple of questions:

      (1) I notice that you have "I will purchase the book on my Kindle" for $5. You also noted to buy two extra gigs if the buy is more than $3.99. What if the cost of the book is actually more than $10?

      (2) Initially, how did you get folks to buy your services? With anything, it seems difficult to get started with new accounts as there are no reviews. You have an incredible list of reviews, but did you have a difficult time in the beginning to build that business?

      I am definitely going to study the site more this week and possibly delve in here for my services, so I may come back with more questions for you. I hope you don't mind. ;) Do you get a bonus for referrals?

    • techygran profile image

      Cynthia 

      5 years ago from Vancouver Island, Canada

      SaffronBlossom, this is a very interesting hub... I've heard of Fiverr in passing but like many others, I'm sort of drowning in various Social Networks and there DO seem to be legions of them. I recall someone mentioning having had a logo done up for $5 using Fiverr... that seemed like a good deal. I am inspired now to go look at this site. Thank you for posting this informative article. Voted you up and tweeted.

    • truthfornow profile image

      truthfornow 

      5 years ago from New Orleans, LA

      I joined Fiver a long time ago, but never became active. You were very honest and helpful in this article.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)