ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Review Books Online: How To Make Money Reviewing Books on HubPages

Updated on May 22, 2013

Many book lovers dream of becoming professional book reviewers and sharing their opinions with the world. Whether you've only dreamed of becoming a book reviewer, or you've been reviewing books for years on Amazon.com, GoodReads, or LibraryThing and always wanted to find a way to earn money for your reviews, this is the article for you!

I'm going to walk you through one way you can successfully make money reviewing books online, right here on HubPages!

Most of the advice in this article is equally applicable if your dream is to become a movie reviewer, TV critic, game reviewer, music reviewer, or product reviewer.

Source

Why Review Books on Hubpages?

For those of you who may be here for the first time, HubPages.com is an online publishing platform that allows you to publish articles, essays, short stories, or poetry on almost any topic you want. You keep full rights to your writing, and you can earn money for your writing through Google Adsense, Kontera, or the Amazon and ebay affiliate programs.

Now, you may be wondering, "why should I publish my book reviews on HubPages and not my own blog? After all, if I publish on my own blog, I get to keep 100% of the money I earn from my reviews, and on HubPages I only get to keep 60%."

There are several reasons to publish your book reviews on Hubpages:

  • HubPages is free to join and use, unlike a self-hosted blog, which may cost $100 per year or more in domain registration and hosting fees.
  • HubPages is simple to use and requires no HTML or other coding knowledge. HubPages's WYSIWYG text editor and simple, attractive design make publishing easy.
  • Hubpages ranks well in search engines and makes it easy to get discovered, especially as a new book reviewer who is just getting started.
  • HubPages has a thriving community of fellow writers and other book lovers to connect with.
  • HubPages makes it easy to earn money from Adsense, Amazon, and ebay thanks to its carefully designed ad placement and easy to use Amazon and ebay capsules. No link building required!
  • Even if you don't have Adsense, Amazon, or ebay affiliate accounts, HubPages is a great showcase for your work that can be used as a portfolio to find other writing jobs.

Ready to get started? Sign up here!

How To Make Money Reviewing Books on Hubpages

Once you've signed up for HubPages, you can start writing your first book review by clicking the "Start a New Hub" link in the upper right corner of the page when logged in.

Here are some tips to make your book reviewer career on HubPages a success:

Make Your Book Reviews Unique

In order to get more traffic and develop a dedicated readership, it helps to make your book reviews unique in some way.

One way to do this is by focusing on a unique niche. Maybe your passion is historical fiction novels set in Ancient Rome, maybe it's biographies of Abraham Lincoln, maybe it's steampunk poetry. Making yourself the world's leading source for reviews of historical fiction novels set in Ancient Rome, biographies of Abraham Lincoln, or steampunk poetry is a sure way to develop a dedicated readership among your fellow enthusiasts.

Another way to make your book reviews unique is to develop a unique voice or review method. For example, the hugely popular romance novel review blog SBTB made its name with its snarky reviews of the world's worst romance novels. Other reviewers write lists, come up with clever rating systems, play bingo with the cliches of their chosen genre, and more.

Experiment With Capsule Order

Experiment with the order of your text and Amazon or ebay capsules to figure out what order produces the most sales of the books you're reviewing. In general, you should link to the book with an Amazon capsule at least twice in a review dedicated to a single book: once near the top and once near the bottom.

Use RSS Feeds to Link to Promote Your Reviews

One way to help your readers find other book reviews you've written and get more traffic is to use tags and RSS feeds to promote related reviews.

For example, if you tag all your book reviews with the tag "book review," you can promote your reviews in RSS feed directories:

  • http://hubpages.com/author/yourusername/book+review/latest?rss

If you want to display only book reviews of a certain type - for example, all book reviews tagged "horror" - you can use the same format with another tag of your choice. For example:

  • http://hubpages.com/author/yourusername/horror/latest?rss
  • http://hubpages.com/author/yourusername/childrens+book+review/latest?rss
  • http://hubpages.com/author/yourusername/best+fantasy+books/latest?rss

Promote Your Book Reviews on Other Sites

Another way to get traffic to your book reviews is to promote them on other websites. Be cautious doing this, since many communities don't appreciate spam or what they perceive to be spam, but fortunately the community of book lovers online is so extensive that there are still plenty of opportunities for careful self-promotion.

Here are a few ideas:

  • Post a link to each new review on Twitter
  • Post a link to your HubPages profile in your profiles on LibraryThing, GoodReads, BookCrossing, Paperback Swap, and other book social networks
  • Join a book discussion forum and include a link to your Hubpages profile in your signature
  • Comment on book review blogs, author's blogs, and other book-related websites with a link to your HubPages profile

You can also create one or more hubs listing all your reviews and/or all your reviews in a certain genre or niche and post that link on book social networks, forums, blogs, etc.

Ready, Set, Write!

HubPages is a great place to achieve your dream of earning money for your book reviews. Get started today!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Inspired to write profile image

      Dale J Ovenstone 

      4 years ago from Wales UK

      You sure are correct,but also wrong Sveta.

      One writes articles on hubpages and once successfully published, adverts are placed on your article & you receive percentage of views/revenue generated.

      The article head-line for starters, has to be captivating, to get your audience to read in the first place, and then if your writing is interesting, your potentials will read.

      There are many ways to make money on hubpages, and there are really good articles here that will explain further.

      What I like though is it is an ideal platform to hone your writing skills, connect with the fantastic worldwide participants and receive invaluable feed-back

      Hope this helps you Sveta, please let us know-or better still, jump on board and join us

      Kind regards, Dale

    • profile image

      Sveta 

      4 years ago

      So hubpages doesn't pay you for the book reviews? Am I understanding it correctly?

    • profile image

      SkeetyD 

      5 years ago

      Informative hub. Thank you for the tips

    • daisydayz profile image

      Chantele Cross-Jones 

      5 years ago from Cardiff

      Some great extra tips there. I have a few book reviews up and hope to do more in the new year, it's just finding the time really. But i like some of your linking tips and marketing tips. Thanks

    • joaniebaby profile image

      joaniebaby 

      6 years ago

      Voted up and useful. What a coincidence! This week I published a book review in Hubpages and am working on another one as I was reading your Hub. I was wondering how to get them noticed. Will have to use some of your tips. Thanks so much.

    • Inspired to write profile image

      Dale J Ovenstone 

      6 years ago from Wales UK

      Great informative article sharing what is required to write book reviews, thanks for sharing.

      Regards Dale

    • Sarika Patkotwar profile image

      Sarika Patkotwar 

      6 years ago from India

      Thank you for all the information. This has been really helpful. :)

    • grinnin1 profile image

      grinnin1 

      7 years ago from st louis,mo

      This is a great idea- and I didn't realize it was possible to do that here. (newbie) Thanks again for your informative, well written hubs.

    • kerryg profile imageAUTHOR

      kerryg 

      7 years ago from USA

      Hi Mindy,

      HubPages does not allow duplicate content, so you could not have both of them posted online at the same time. However, if you removed the review from HubPages, you would be free to repost it anywhere you wanted.

    • profile image

      Mindy @bookluvrmindy 

      7 years ago

      You had stated that I get to keep 100% of my review rights. Does this mean I can still post my reviews on my blog (and using affiliates) as well on hubpages?

    • WriteAngled profile image

      WriteAngled 

      7 years ago from Abertawe, Cymru

      Will bookmark this. I've just put out a list of my 100 great reads elsewhere, and someone suggested I should do a separate review for each!

    • habee profile image

      Holle Abee 

      7 years ago from Georgia

      Hey, I can do this! I have one or two posted, but I need to do more!

    • HealthyHanna profile image

      HealthyHanna 

      7 years ago from Utah

      I keep thinking I would like to do book reviews. I love books, and I love researching. This may be a way pay for my hobby.

    • KoffeeKlatch Gals profile image

      Susan Hazelton 

      7 years ago from Sunny Florida

      Well written hub with great tips and advice. Voted up and useful.

      Happy Holidays and best wishes for the New Year.

    • Hello, hello, profile image

      Hello, hello, 

      7 years ago from London, UK

      Thank you for your generous and kind help.

    • revybaby profile image

      revybaby 

      7 years ago from On the Road

      I was thinking of doing something like this and it is helpful to see it put into a well written hub. Now, to really start writing is the hard part.

    • sligobay profile image

      sligobay 

      7 years ago from east of the equator

      Thank you kerryg for this simple and useful article. It is an early Christmas gift. I have a few 'book reviews' to publish and was thinking about going elsewhere. I'm just now exploring how to profit from my writing despite being around Hub Pages for a few years. Best wishes for a Merry Christmas and a Happy, healthy and prosperous New Year.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)