ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Review of Online Content Writing Sites

Updated on June 17, 2014

So You Want to Be a Writer?

Revenue Share Compared to Fixed Rate Platforms

Revenue share sites pay writers for quality content through ads placed on their articles. These sites rarely yield profits quickly, but are a great place to practice your craft and gain a large audience. Hubpages is an example of a revenue share site and is the top platform in this category in my experience.

Sites that pay writers through a method other than revenue share typically use a pay per word or pay per character module set up. Writers gain access to higher paying articles after proving themselves as reliable, hard working writers who can produce content that pleases the clients. Although rates typically start off low with these types of sites, they can be good money makers if you stick to it.

In my experience, the best way to be profitable through online content sites, commonly referred to as content mills, is to keep your eggs in many baskets. Currently I write for one revenue share site and three content sites with fixed rate payment methods.

Below is a breakdown of sites I have worked for, and those I currently worked for, with a list of pros, cons, and my own personal experience.

Anne Rice Gives Advice for Writers

Writing Can Be Cathartic and Profitable

List of Revenue Share Writing Platforms

  • HubPages
  • Bubblews
  • Triond
  • Squidoo
  • Examiner

List of Fixed Rate Content Writing Sites

  • Demand Studios
  • Zerys
  • Textbroker
  • Break Studios
  • About.com
  • Writers Access

Writing for HubPages

Personal Experience- HubPages is currently my favorite writing platform. Not only do I enjoy the freedom of writing on any topic that comes to mind, but HubPages has one of the most active and welcoming community of writers that I have ever found. Though it does take time to build an audience, a portfolio of quality writing that brings in profits, the community will keep you writing and it is an excellent place to master your craft.

Pros-

  • Great community
  • Fredom to write what you want, when you want
  • Excellent platform to get feedback on your writing
  • Good way to bring in an extra source of income overtime

Cons-

  • Can take awhile to earn money
  • Article lengths should range from 1000-1500 words, longer than many other sites
  • Articles must be maintained overtime to avoid good articles dropping off of the map because of broken links or old, outdated information

Do I Recommend This Site? Yes

Writing Tools: 50 Essential Strategies for Every Writer

Are you an online writer? If so, is it your full-time job or a source of side income?

See results

Writing for Textbroker.com

Personal Experience- Textbroker is a flat rate writng platform that I have used for over four years now. Although the articles start out at a low pay rate, the staff at Textbroker is excellent and is always there to help you out. On top of that, the clients I write for are professional and easy to work with.

Textbroker works off of a five star rating system, and writers get access to different articles with different pay rates based on their star rating. Five star writers can make good money on Textbroker, especially with the benefit of Team Orders, which pay higher than standard articles.

Pros-

  • Good pay for writers who put in the work
  • You know how much you are going to make before accepting an article
  • Great customer service and help from staff
  • Weekly payout directly to PayPal
  • Ample work available

Cons-

  • Takes time to build up a high star rating and gain access to high paying teams
  • They have a large pool of writers, so while you are building up your star rating, work can be a bit tedious
  • Clients can deny articles that are sub-par, meaning you won't get paid for those pieces

Do I Recommend This Site? Yes

Tom Perrotta Discusses Choosing a Topic to Write About

Online Writing Tips and Tricks

  • Diversify your portfolio, don't just write for one site
  • If something seems to good to be true, it usually is
  • Research a site before signing up
  • When you are writing for online purposes, pay attention to SEO and keyword density
  • Some sites may pay meager amounts in the beginning, but if they are reputable, they will likely reward you after you prove yourself to them
  • Ask advice from people who have experience on the site, they know best
  • Try out a site before assuming it won't work for you

Writing for Zerys.com

Personal Experience- Zerys works very similar to TextBroker, and is a flat rate site where each article pays out a certain amount based on the authors writing level. I have been working for Zerys for several years and enjoy the site. They pay out twice a month, and clients can give you bonuses for going above and beyond.

Pros-

  • Pays out twice a month
  • Clients can provide writers with bonuses when they do great work
  • Article payments are decided by how reliable you are, how well you write, and how satisfied your clients are
  • For the most part, clients are very good, providing clear instructions as to what they are looking for in an article

Cons-

  • Articles can be declined by clients, meaning you won't get paid for that article
  • It can take time to build up a list of "favorite clients" who select you as one of their main writers
  • Work can be bare on this site from time to time, articles seem to come in bursts, but they go as quickly as they come

Do I Recommend This Site? Yes

Online Content Writing Can Be Hit or Miss, Even For Experienced Writers

Writing for GoodBlogs

Personal Experience- This is one site that has really disappointed me. GoodBlogs runs a number of blogs, including Decoded.com, Routing.com, Renovate.com, Lend.com, Enroll.com, FlamingVegan.com, BreathingHappy.com and more. Topics range from technology and IT to vegan diets and health. Writers submit blog posts knowing that they will only get paid when their articles are "featured".

"Featured" articles are chosen by the public, based off of social media traffic and votes. Although the pay per post is high, ranging from $10 to $50 a blog post, I got the impression that something corrupt was going on behind the scenes. It seemed to me that the featured posts were all written by staff members, not bloggers who signed up for the site.

Excellent articles I wrote were left unfeatured despite plenty of social media traffic. I tried contacting the staff of GoodBlogs, but got no response. Since it is a social media based platform, I turned to social media to find answers, and when GoodBlogs found my posts, they fired me from the platform, deleting hundreds of posts I could have used elsewhere

Pros-

  • High paying
  • Ample topics to write about

Cons-

  • Terrible customer service
  • No promise of payment despite how much you write
  • Suspicious behaviors on the part of the staff
  • Total lack of concern for consistent, reliable writers

Do I Recommend This Site? No

Writing for WritersAccess

Personal Experience- I have been writing for WritersAccess for several years. They are a good site but the work comes in spurts. They pay twice a month now, which is a new but helpful feature of the site. It can be difficult to get approved for WritersAccess, but it is worth the application process since they reward their best writers well. WritersAccess is a fixed rate site where writers get paid per word based on their rating on the site.

Pros-

  • Great customer service
  • Good pay
  • Good clients

Cons-

  • Long application process
  • Sometimes the work is slow
  • It can take time to build up a strong reputation

Do I Recommend This Site? Yes

© 2014 Kathleen Odenthal Romano

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • chateaudumer profile image

      David B Katague 2 years ago from Northern California and the Philippines

      Voted up, excellent and very informative hub. Cheers!

    • Kathleen Odenthal profile image
      Author

      Kathleen Odenthal Romano 2 years ago from Bayonne, New Jersey

      Thank you Nadina! I never would have guessed that English is not your first language, you write better than many people I know!

    • Nadine May profile image

      Nadine May 2 years ago from Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa

      Thank you for sharing your experiences with the other writing sites. I will investigate but like billy i love hubpages even if it does not really earn me money. I have written a few articles for wikinut, but it takes time to write for several different sites and keep actively at it. It's also my second language so i might not make the cut on some of the sites you mentioned. This was typed from my tablet which is even more difficult, but you have my vote up

    • Aneegma profile image

      Merida Craze 3 years ago

      I signed up with Textbroker before I found hubpages and I got fed up of clients constantly declining my hard work so I left it. Wish I read this before wasting all that time. Nicely written hub. Voted up.

    • Lady Guinevere profile image

      Debra Allen 3 years ago from West By God

      Thanks for the information and especially the pros and cons of each site.

    • mary615 profile image

      Mary Hyatt 3 years ago from Florida

      I see you mention Bubblews in the side bar. I write over there and have enjoyed it very much. They have had some bad reviews lately due to their own success. They just have not had the staff to keep up with their growth. They have improved a lot just lately and the staff promises even great service in July.

      I made more in residual income here on HP, but it does take time, of course. Bubblews is good for quick income, but there is no comparison between HP and them.

      I still like to write on HP when I have the necessary time to research, etc.

      Voted UP and shared.

    • The Homely Coder profile image

      Liz Felton 3 years ago from Essex, England

      Some warning over which websites only accept US-based writers would be a nice way to improve this hub, but otherwise great information, thanks!

    • kalinin1158 profile image

      Lana ZK 3 years ago from California

      I know it's better to diversify your portfolio, but for some silly reason I kinda like all my "eggs" in one "basket". Makes it easy for me to see them :-) Plus, I hate getting used to another site's interface, layout, requirements... So I'm sticking to HP for now... Thanks for the hub!

    • Kathleen Odenthal profile image
      Author

      Kathleen Odenthal Romano 3 years ago from Bayonne, New Jersey

      I only do team orders for textbroker, it is the best way to use the site!

    • velzipmur profile image

      Shelly Wyatt 3 years ago from Maryland

      very nice information, I work for Textbroker and it can be tedious getting jobs some days.

    • Hankscita profile image

      Sandy 3 years ago from Florida

      Excellent Hub. Thank you for this information. Up-voted and shared

    • DonnaCaprio profile image

      Donna Caprio Quinlan 3 years ago from Newburyport, MA

      Thanks for the information. I am not familiar with many of the sites you mentioned. I'm hesitant to spend too much time doing content writing because of the low pay. I may check out a few of them.

    • rustedmemory profile image

      David Hamilton 3 years ago from Lexington, KY

      Well organized and to the point. Upvoted.

      Thanks for the information, it's always good to look before you leap into a new writing platform!

    • Raine Law Yuen profile image

      Raine Law Yuen 3 years ago from Cape Town

      Thanks for the info. I just started writing for HP recently so any advise is appreciated. Can I ask if you were starting out today with the knowledge that you now have - would you do anthing differently?

    • Kathleen Odenthal profile image
      Author

      Kathleen Odenthal Romano 3 years ago from Bayonne, New Jersey

      I will be updating this list pretty regularly so remember to come back for new information! I think people should know what they are getting into before going through the hassle of applying and I have been around the content writing block a few times lol so i may as well share my wisdom!

    • Melissa Knight profile image

      Melissa Knight 3 years ago from Murfreesboro, TN

      Thank you for the great information! Always looking for new places to find work and stay flexible!

    • Kathleen Odenthal profile image
      Author

      Kathleen Odenthal Romano 3 years ago from Bayonne, New Jersey

      I was just kidding Kevin!

    • The Examiner-1 profile image

      The Examiner-1 3 years ago

      Okay, I apologize for using the wrong words Kathleen. I was writing quickly last night and was not thinking. Sorry again.

      Kevin

    • Elizabeth Bowers profile image

      Elizabeth Bowers 3 years ago from Tennessee

      Great hub with awesome information and formatting! Pinning!

    • Torrs13 profile image

      Tori Canonge 3 years ago from California

      I have never heard of a few of things, so it was nice to read your opinions and thoughts so that I could make a decision as to whether to give those sites a shot or not. I really enjoy writing for HubPages and can say that the community here is great. I think that my writing has improved in just the past few months that I have been a member here.

    • Kathleen Odenthal profile image
      Author

      Kathleen Odenthal Romano 3 years ago from Bayonne, New Jersey

      Hey watch how you phrase things Kevin! I don't get around lol, I am "experienced"

    • makemoneygirl profile image

      Roberta shock 3 years ago from International

      Greate article, I tried bubblews and I love it.

    • The Examiner-1 profile image

      The Examiner-1 3 years ago

      You really get around Kathleen. Thanks for the information to go by as to what sites are good and bad to write for. I could give you some insight on About.com, since you had that listed, but it has been quite a while since I checked that. I gave this thumbs up.

      Kevin

    • Kathleen Odenthal profile image
      Author

      Kathleen Odenthal Romano 3 years ago from Bayonne, New Jersey

      I agree with you on the concept of owning your own ideas, that is why I only take work for those sites when it is high paying and not on a topic I would personally cover myself. Thanks for commenting and checking out my hub!

    • rasta1 profile image

      Marvin Parke 3 years ago from Jamaica

      I still prefer writing for my self. I did textbroker for a while but it is not gratifying. I like the idea of owning my ideas forever.

    • Kathleen Odenthal profile image
      Author

      Kathleen Odenthal Romano 3 years ago from Bayonne, New Jersey

      Thank you so much Lisa! Glad you enjoyed my hub!

    • profile image

      LisaKeating 3 years ago

      Nice Hub with interesting information. I am impressed with anyone willing to take a job writing for pay. Although I write here on HP, I am too insecure to apply to write anywhere else.

      I always think, "What if I can't do it? What if I'm not smart enough? What if I get bored and don't want to finish?" Does anyone else have these kinds of fears? Since I am retired, I don't have to write for the money. Maybe that's part of my lack of motivation.

    • Glenn Stok profile image

      Glenn Stok 3 years ago from Long Island, NY

      I found your latest hub from the HubPages Weekly. This is a very useful comparison of the various sites you reviewed.

      The pros and cons you mention help one decide quickly if they should spend time with any particular site. I've wasted time on some sites in the past just to find out the cons later.

      One additional site is the Yahoo Contributor Network. They pay $10 or more up front for assigned articles. But one can write about anything and just get payment for views. But the residuals for views is poor.

      After all is said and done, HubPages stands out best for me and I'm glad I'm here.

    • Kathleen Odenthal profile image
      Author

      Kathleen Odenthal Romano 3 years ago from Bayonne, New Jersey

      Thanks Vicki I completely agree! I consider myself rather experienced when it comes to online writing, but it is an everchanging industry and I am always looking for valuable feedback from fellow writers!

    • profile image

      Vickiw 3 years ago

      Liked this a hub, and it is very informative. It's always good to start discussion with your Hub, and this one does that.

      It's great to have the input from other experienced writers too.

    • always exploring profile image

      Ruby Jean Fuller 3 years ago from Southern Illinois

      I agree with Bill. Hubpages is my home. I'm not looking to make any money, i just like to write. I'm sure many will take notice of your recommendations. Thank you for sharing...

    • bravewarrior profile image

      Shauna L Bowling 3 years ago from Central Florida

      Both sites pay more than TextBroker. I signed up for them over a year ago and haven't written word one because CrowdSource pays more.

      Granted, the rates are low (not nearly as low as the bid sites), but that's what you get when you write for a content site. Ironically, as soon as I posted my first comment, I received notification from CopyPress of three assignments they think I'd be perfect for.

      When you compare CopyPress and CrowdSource with the bid sites and most of the others like Fivrr and TextBroker, they have the most to offer.

      The ultimate goal is to get private clients that will pay hundreds for your articles, but until then, these are viable options.

      I've also just signed up for Mediabistro.com. They have a job board where you apply for writing jobs that suit you. No testing. No certification, but you're on your own. I just applied for a freelance position through their job board. We'll see what happens!

    • Kathleen Odenthal profile image
      Author

      Kathleen Odenthal Romano 3 years ago from Bayonne, New Jersey

      hmmm, .06 to .12 cents per word doesn't seem like its worth the effort, is that the minimum or is there room for growth? CopyPress is the only site you mentioned that I am unfamiliar with.

    • Chelsey Wall profile image

      Chelsey 3 years ago from Ottawa, Ontario

      Thanks for sharing this! I've been looking for places to write!

    • bravewarrior profile image

      Shauna L Bowling 3 years ago from Central Florida

      Kathleen, this article is a good heads up for freelance writers. I love HP for the same reasons you do. I wish the revenue could pay the bills, but it doesn't. I don't ever see myself leaving because I can write whatever trips my trigger at the moment.

      I also write for CopyPress. You have to go thru testing to be accepted, but most assignments pay $0.06 - $0.12 per word. They send you assignments that they feel are a good fit, then you have the option of accepting or not. Bad thing is, until you build up a reputation with them, the assignments are intermittent. They pay twice a month following the month in which your articles are client approved.

      Another one that operates much like TextBroker is CrowdSource. It's an Amazon Mechanical Turk client. Again, you have to go thru testing to write for them. However, they pay every Sunday and the rate of pay is much, much higher than TextBroker. I've been using both of the sites I mention until I can gain personal clients. They're good sites to fill in the gaps while you're building your freelance business.

      Note: you have no byline with CrowdSource. With CopyPress, you do depending on the type of article you're writing. Good site to gain marketable clips.

    • grand old lady profile image

      Mona Sabalones Gonzalez 3 years ago from Philippines

      Thank you for this article, which opens up new options for freelancers and gives them an insight on the pros and cons of each site. Very helpful. Sorry about your experience with GoodBlogs, but thanks for including it in your list.

    • Jaime Torres profile image

      Jaime Torres 3 years ago from Albuquerque, New Mexico

      Thanks for the advice! I'm starting to write and needed a guide to get started, and this helps me a lot!

    • Jodah profile image

      John Hansen 3 years ago from Queensland Australia

      Thank you for writing this hub Kathlee. Very helpful advicice of which sites to consider and which to avoid. Voted up.

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 3 years ago from Olympia, WA

      I've tried a couple other sites but never left HP. I love the community here and I don't see myself going anywhere else.

    • ologsinquito profile image

      ologsinquito 3 years ago from USA

      Thanks for the heads up on one place I won't be writing for. I had never heard of it, but I might have considered it, if it weren't for this warning.

    Click to Rate This Article