jump to last post 1-6 of 6 discussions (8 posts)

KNOWN ISSUE: Hub HTML validation errors and warnings

1. Writer Fox profile image78
    Writer Foxposted 4 years ago

I just checked out my SEO Tutorial hub in the w3 validator tool, and it has 35 coding errors and 17 warnings.  This is particularly embarrassing because in that particular hub I discuss the importance of clean, validated coding for success on Google.

Then I checked the hub I just published and it has 37 errors and 23 warnings.

I think some of the problems we are noticing in Webmaster tools for crawling errors are because of these validation errors.

W3 is the World Wide Web standard for programming.  You can check any webpage for free at this link:
    http://validator.w3.org/

I seriously want these errors fixed.

Matthew, I'm not a programmer but these are coding errors, not sitemap errors.  Please go to the validator link and put in the URL of one of my hubs, or one of yours.

1. Matthew Meyer profile image74
        Matthew Meyerposted 4 years agoin reply to this

I see what you are talking about now.
        I have forwarded this to our engineering team to be addressed.

2. Writer Fox profile image78

Here's just a few of the errors and they have nothing to do with a sitemap:

Line 88, Column 50: & did not start a character reference. (& probably should have been escaped as &.)

Line 88, Column 61: & did not start a character reference. (& probably should have been escaped as &.)

Line 88, Column 68: & did not start a character reference. (& probably should have been escaped as &.

Line 157, Column 18: Self-closing syntax (/>) used on a non-void HTML element. Ignoring the slash and treating as a start tag.

Line 173, Column 570: The border attribute is obsolete. Consider specifying img { border: 0; } in CSS instead.

Line 173, Column 761: The border attribute is obsolete. Consider specifying img { border: 0; } in CSS instead.