ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

A Brief Description Of Zodiac Elements

Updated on August 15, 2010

You all might know that all the 12 zodiac signs are divided into four elements. In this article I will briefly tell you about these elements.

The four elements

Fire - Aries, Leo and Sagittarius.

Earth - Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn.

Air - Gemini, Libra and Aquarius.

Water - Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces.

The three signs in each of the four elements are further categorised as cardinal, fixed and mutable.


The three fire signs have in common the desire for freedom. Actually the air signs have this characteristic as well, but whereas the air signs tend to go for freedom of expression, thought and movement, the fire signs go for freedom of action and the power to do as they wish.

Aries - The cardinal fire sign is Aries. Here, the basic desire of the fire signs is seen in its most raw form, the desire to initiate, to get things going, and results in frustration when results are not as intended.

Leo - The fixed fire sign is Leo. The common peculiarity of fixed signs is to fix things so that they are preserved. Leo expresses its freedom by taking the results that

Aries has generated and arranging them to that they continue to be effective, while having authority for itself. Thus management is a function often associated with Leo.

Sagittarius - The mutable fire sign is Sagittarius. Here, the freedom of fire is expressed as the desire to expand one's horizons, the means used being religion, philosophy, advanced education and travel.


The three earth signs have in common the need for security. They have this need in common with the water signs, whose need is for emotional security. The requirement of the earth signs is physical security.

Capricorn - The cardinal earth sign is Capricorn. Capricorn is the one that seeks security within the world or social order.

Taurus - The fixed earth sign is Taurus. Here the security-seeking characteristic of the earth signs is seen at its most basic, the acquisition and preservation of money and tangible assets being felt as fulfilling that need. Taurus also enjoys the senses for their own sakes.

Virgo - The mutable earth sign is Virgo. Here the security need of earth is expressed by organising things so that they operate in the most efficient way possible, so that people always know where to find what they want.


As mentioned above the air sign go more for freedom of expression, thought and movement.

Libra - The cardinal air sign is Libra. Libra is the one that seeks the freedom to live in a balanced harmonious environment.

Aquarius - The fixed air sign is Aquarius. The material fixed by Aquarius might be an ideal or some way of thinking that is seen as freedom giving. Unfortunately, with the fixing process the freedom is sometimes lost.

Gemini - The mutable air sign is Gemini. The movable nature of air is here seen in its most basic form, with the desire to move from one thought to another, maybe from one book to another without finishing either.


Whereas the earth signs need physical security, the water signs seek emotional security.

Cancer - The cardinal water sign is Cancer. Cancer is the one who acquires a sense of satisfaction through belonging to a family of some kind, whether a traditional human family or a group of people that can be perceived as a kind of family.

Scorpio - The fixed water sign is Scorpio. Here, the sense of security is sought, often obsessively, through a search for the deepest layer of a person or a society to which one is attached in some way.

Pisces - The mutable water sign is Pisces. For Pisces, the forms within which matter or ideas are contained do not offer any ultimate sense of security, a security which is sought more through a sense of the universe as unbounded.

This can lead to a sense of unreality in the tangible world, or, more positively, it can infuse the tangible world with a sense of the mystical.

Well that's all about the 12 signs and their elements, see which one you are in.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Sarah :D 8 years ago

      Enjoyed Learning! Thank You And Will Be Looking Out For More Work Of Yours Soon XD

      Good-Bye For Now , Thank Yu Very Much

    • hassam profile image

      hassam 9 years ago from Pakistan

      Thanks lucky for all the comments,yes I really missed you , I felt as if you disappeared..lolz.It's really good to have you back commenting on my hubs,I will be waiting for some more of your work.

    • Lucky Dog profile image

      Lucky Dog 9 years ago


      Did you miss me? LOL :) I really liked this one I never knew that the Zodiac signs are also associated with the four elements. Great Job! I learned something new.