ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

What do the twelve Zodiac constellations represent in Astronomy

Updated on September 6, 2012
The Zodiac
The Zodiac | Source


You may know the Zodiac from its usage in Astrology (the Sun Signs). The Zodiac is an imaginary belt in the sky. It is a set of 12 (sometimes referred as 13) constellations that serve as the backdrop to the Sun through the year.

During the year, the Sun appears to move from one Zodiac Constellation to the next. In reality, it is the Earth's movement around the Sun that generates the effect. The path of the Sun through the sky is called the Ecliptic. Most of the planets of the Solar System orbit the Sun in a similar plane. Hence even the planets appear to be moving from one Zodiac constellation to the next.

Observing a Zodiac Sign

Familiarity with the night-sky helps.For beginners, get hold of a star-chart that depicts the position of the sky in your location or latitude for a given month - SkyMaps publishes monthly updates and includes position of planets and the moon cycles. The SFA Star Charts are quite comprehensive and popular.

The planets tend to move in the zodiac constellations. The planets are also quite bright and stand out because they don't twinkle like the stars. So they help draw attention to a section of the sky.

Linking this to an Astrology Duration (say - Leo being 23 July-22 Aug) means that the Sun would be in the constellation of Leo during this period - so Leo would "not be visible" in the night sky (It would be up in the sky during the day). A rough rule-of-thumb would be to watch out for the constellation in a 3-month period prior to the sun sign. During April-June, you would be able to see Leo in the evening skies.

Zodiac Differences

The 360 Degree view is divided into 12 sectors and the primary constellation that occupies the sector in the ecliptic is marked as the Zodiac Constellation. From an Astrological perspective, each zodiac sign is given a 30-degree space (and hence the Sun spends equal time in each zodiac). In reality, the constellations have varying spaces and have varying lengths at the ecliptic. Astronomers don't work with a fixed 30-degree segregation of zodiac constellations. The constellation boundaries are as drawn out and updated by the International Astronomical Union (IAU).


The Earth's movement around its axis and around the Sun has a set of variations. Typically they are observed over hundreds of years. These variations tend to add up over larger time frame. These are referred to as precession of the ecliptic and precession of the equator.

Precession brings in a change in the Pole Star over cycles of 26,000 years. It also brings differences in the constellation positions as referenced on a calendar date, sometimes called a shift in the equinoxes. Over a 2,000 year period, the sun-sign corresponding to the month shifts by one sign. This is depicted beautifully in a set of computed images at


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.


    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at:

    Show Details
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the or domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)