ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Review of Rosetta Stone Version 3

Updated on January 14, 2010

Rosetta Stone Review

Rosetta Stone is one of the best ways of learning a foreign language on your own nowadays. The software of course is not perfect, and it is ridiculous to think that only with it someone could reach fluency in a foreign language. But for a serious lerner, it could be the fundamental tool in which the learning of a foreign language is based.


How does the Rosetta Stone Program Work?

Rosetta Stone tries to mimic the way in which a child learns his first language. To achieve this, the program immerses you since the beginning in the foreign language. There is no English in the entire length of the course. So, how do you understand anything that the course teaches you? Rosetta Stone shows you photos at the same time that a speaker in the foreign language pronounce a phrase. You can see this sentence written too. So your job is to choose to which photo the phrase belongs. You infer the meaning of the phase by trial and error trying to match it with the photos. At the beginning the phrases are very simple: “the man runs,” “the girl eats,” “the boy drinks.” But after a while they start to become more and more complex. You have to repeat the phrase a lot to catch the meaning of the more complex phrases.

Will I Become Fluent with Rosetta Stone?

Of course not! I used to practice with version 2 and found it excellent to learn a great deal of vocabulary, but not so good for speaking or understanding grammar. My usual approach was to begin with Pimsleur to learn speaking and after that continue with Rosetta Stone to add vocabulary. Sadly, with the changes introduced in Version 3 of Rosetta Stone this approach doesn't work anymore. Now Rosetta Stone introduces less vocabulary and tries to center the course in learning words and phrases that the student will find in real life situations. So the course is now more basic, more recommendable for beginners than before. Therefore, you need to add other courses to achieve a good command of the foreign language you want to learn. The sales pitch from Rosetta Stone say:

“Rosetta Stone Level 1, 2 & 3 Set will take you on a journey from the basics to a whole new level of sophistication. You'll build a foundation of fundamental vocabulary and essential language structure.”

To me the key phrase in the above sentence is “you’ll build a foundation” a good foundation without doubt, but no more.


For Who is Right the Rosetta Stone Language Learning Software?

Rosetta Stone is recommended for highly motivated learners. You will need a lot of self-discipline to learn a language with Rosetta Stone. To get the most of the program you need to work in with your computer at least one hour everyday and that can be a little boring.

Pros & Cons of Rosetta Stone for learning Foreign Languages

Pros

  • It is the program that achieves immersion in a foreign language in a way that is nearly similar to the real thing.
  • The program covers all the aspects of the language: speaking and understanding, reading, and writing. The only thing missing is grammar, but this is for methodological reasons.
  • The interface is very intuitive, really easy to use.

Cons

  • Rosetta Stone is Expensive.
  • You can’t install Rosetta Stone in two computers at the same time. If you want to install it in another computer, you have to deactivate the program first, uninstall it from your computer and after that reinstall it in another computer.
  • Legally, you can’t sell your copy of the program. Rosetta Stone software is not sold but licensed. So, you don’t own it!
  • You have to spend a large amount of time in front of your computer.
  • The pictures, situations, and statements don’t always reflect the cultural realities of the foreign languages, especially in not European languages like Chinese.

Rosetta Stone Version 3 Review
Rosetta Stone Version 3 Review

How is Rosetta Stone Course structured?

Rosetta Stone is divided in three levels. Each level has four units and each unit is divided in several core lessons. Like pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, listening, writing, reading, speaking, and review. Supposedly, you can complete each level in roughly 24 hours of work. So with a little more than 70 hours of material you are unable to study the language in depth. You have to think Rosetta Stone as a basic course of the foreign language. The only language at the moment of writing this review more developed is Latin American Spanish that adds levels 5 and 6. Besides, they offer the audio companion to practice listening without your computer.    


Conclusion

Rosetta Stone is not perfect for learning a foreign language. It is pricey, it lacks of sensitivity to the differences between the various languages, it doesn't go deeply into fluency, etc. However, most approaches on the market are plagued with the same drawbacks and many more. Therefore, for someone who wants to try learning on their own, or doesn't have time to assist to a classroom course, the Rosetta Stone language learning software could still be a great investment.


Comments

Submit a Comment

  • skpatra profile image

    skpatra 6 years ago from India

    Great hub. Really interesting!

  • skpatra profile image

    skpatra 6 years ago from India

    Well written. Descriptive. Thanks

  • Bharatthapa profile image

    Bharat Thapa 6 years ago from NEW DELHI

    I am using it right now and i am on level 2 of it, once i'll complete level 3 then again i'd be writing something about my personal experience with Rosetta stone(I am with zero background of spanish.) Y vivo en este país dónde no hablan español. =P

  • htodd profile image

    htodd 6 years ago from United States

    Thanks great post ..Nice

  • Brooke Lorren profile image

    Brooke Lorren 7 years ago from Mesa, Arizona

    I love languages. I personally have found that Rosetta Stone makes it easier to learn languages than any other program I've used (even college classes).

    The only difficulty that I've had with it is that in languages with different alphabets (like Chinese), it's hard to learn to read that language. I'm currently learning Chinese with Rosetta Stone, and I can't read a lick of Chinese yet, although I'm halfway through level 1. I will probably supplement that part with a book at some point.

  • profile image

    betterman5180 7 years ago

    Anything Better than Rosetta Stone ? hotdvdshop.com sells Rosetta Stone Spanish with $149.07 for Spanish learners.

  • DonnaWallace profile image

    Donna Wallace 7 years ago from North Carolina

    Great review! I've always wondered if Rosetta Stone was worth the price.

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is used to quickly and efficiently deliver files such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisements has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)