ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Performing Arts

2012 Inductees into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

Updated on January 19, 2012
The original Guns N' Roses lineup
The original Guns N' Roses lineup

Guns N' Roses

Current Members: Axl Rose, Ron "Bumblefoot" Thal, DJ Ashba, Richard Fortus, Tommy Stinson, Dizzy Reed, Chris Pitman and Frank Ferrer.

Past Members: Slash, Izzy Stradlin, Duff McKagan and Steven Adler.

L.A. Rockers Guns N' Roses took the rock scene by storm in 1987 by skyrocketing to the top of the charts. Few in my age bracket did not own their debut album Appetite For Destruction. Although there was never an official break up the original members began dropping off quietly in the mid-90's to be immediately replaced. Since the announcement that the original members are to be inducted, a few members have spoken out in interviews expressing uncertainty about how the ceremony will go. Maybe they will all show up, be on time, be sober and get along. Maybe they won't. Regardless it is sure to be monumentally entertaining.

Red Hot Chili Peppers

Current Members: Anthony Kiedis, Flea, Chad Smith and Josh Klinghoffer

Past Members: Hillel Slovak, Jack Irons, Cliff Martinez, Jack Sherman, DeWayne Mcknight, D.H. Peligro, Arik Marshall, Jesse Tobias, Dave Navarro and John Frusciante.

The Red Hot Chili Peppers were formed in L.A. by high school pals Anthony Kiedis, Michael Balzary (Flea), Hillel Slovak and Jack Irons. Throughout the years the band has seen many hardships and line up changes, the most prolific when Slovak died suddenly of a heroin overdose in 1988. The only original members are Flea and Kiedis, with Chad Smith and, until recently, John Frusciante as 20 plus year veterans. Friend of Frusciante and the band, Josh Klinghoffer, is playing guitar on the latest album. I am proud to say that this was the first band i ever saw perform live in concert and the show nearly ended in a riot. Although the Chili Peppers have mellowed substantially throughout the years and their "sock wielding" days are long gone, few are as deserving of this award as they are. The big question is whether Frusciante will show up for the awards show or not.

Rod Stewart and Ronnie Wood of The Faces
Rod Stewart and Ronnie Wood of The Faces

The Faces / The Small Faces

Current Members: Ronnie Wood, Kenney Jones, Ian McLagan, Glen Matlock and Mike Hucknall.

Past Members: Steve Marriot, Rod Stewart, Ronnie Lane and Tetsu Yamauchi.

the Faces were born in 1969 when Steve Marriot left The Small Faces to form Humble Pie. Ronnie Wood and Rod Stewart, both from the Jeff Beck Group, came in. Faces drunkenly recorded and toured until 1975 when Rod Stewart left to pursue a proper solo career and Ronnie Wood began to focus more on the Rolling Stones.

In 2010, Ronnie Wood announced that He would be reforming the 70's bar band with Mick Hucknall from Simply Red on Vocals and Glenn Matlock, the original guitarist for the Sex Pistols, on guitar.

Beastie Boys

Current Members: Mike D, MCA, Ad-Rock and Mix Master Mike

Past Members: Kate Schellenbach, John Berry, DJ Double R, Doctor Dre and DJ Hurricane.

Adam Yauch, Adam Horovitz and Michael Diamond crawled out of the early 80's New York hardcore punk scene relatively unscathed with a new brand of palatable rap. I went to high school in the middle of a cornfield Pennsylvania yet every white kid in that school would walk up and down the halls between class rapping out their favorite Licensed to Ill song. Over the years they have progressed into a solid musical act and are noted for their humanitarian efforts. The Beastie Boys were nominated to the Rock Hall in 2008 but not inducted.


Scottish born singer / songwriter / guitarist Donovan found popularity through the British folk scene in the mid-60's. Over the span of his career his music has spanned many genres including folk, jazz, pop, psychedelia and world music.

Laura Nyro's critically acclaimed albums "New York Tendaberry" and "Eli and the Thirteenth Confession"
Laura Nyro's critically acclaimed albums "New York Tendaberry" and "Eli and the Thirteenth Confession"

Laura Nyro

(10/18/47 - 4/8/97) Laura Nyro found critical acclaim with many of her own albums and considerable commercial success in many of the hits she wrote for such performers as Barbara Streisand, Earth, Wind and Fire, The 5th Dimension, Three Dog night and more. She will be receiving the award posthumously having died of ovarian cancer in 1997

Freddie King

(9/3/34 - 12/28/76) Known as one of the "Three Kings" of electric blues guitar alongside Albert King and B.B. King, Texas born Freddie King started performing and recording at 18 in Chicago. in 1993 Texas Governor Ann Richards declared September 3rd Freddie King Day. In 2003 King was listed number 25 on the Rolling Stone's list of 100 greatest guitarists of all time. He will be inducted posthumously into the Hall of Fame as an early influence.

Don Kirshner

(4/17/34 - 1/17/2011) Founder of three record labels and known for writing many popular hits, most notably for the Monkee's TV show, Don Kirshner is an accomplished songwriter and producer. He was awarded the Songwriters Hall of Fame's Abe Olman Publishing Award in 2007. He died of heart failure in early 2011. He will be posthumously awarded the Ahmet Ertegun Award as a nonperformer.

Cosimo Matassa

Cosimo Matassa is the owner and engineer for New Orleans J&M Recording Studio. He has recorded many popular acts and is renowned for his work in the R & B genre. In 1999 the J&M Recording Studio was designated as a historic landmark and in 2010 The Rock Hall designated it as a historic rock and roll landmark. He will receive the Award for Musical Excellence.

Tom Dowd

Tom Dowd (10/20/25 - 10/27/02) is credited with innovating 8-track recording and popularizing the use of stereo in music recording. He produced a long list of popular performers from the 40's to the time of his death from emphysema in 2002. He is the subject of the 2003 documentary Tom Dowd and the Language of Music and a 2004 Biopic entitled Ray. He will posthumously receive the Award for Musical Excellence.

Glyn Johns

Glyn Johns is also receiving the Award for Musical Excellence and has worked with a long list of artists including this years inductees Steve Marriot of The Small Faces and Rod Stewart of Faces. He is currently working with Ryan Adams on his latest studio album. Glyn's sons, Ethan and Andy are accomplished producers in their own right.

Better Luck Next Year

The Cure, Rufus with Chaka Khan, Joan Jet and the Blackhearts, Erik B and Rakim, Donna Summer and Heart were all nominated but not inducted.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Emma Harvey profile image

      Emma Kisby 6 years ago from Berkshire, UK

      I love reading stuff like this - some of the coolest bands here. I was a huge Guns N' Roses fan back in the day.

      So many good musicians out there, past and present.