ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Tarentino's Mindless Violence Crushes Django Unchained

Updated on June 29, 2015
Billrrrr profile image

Bill Russo is featured in the film & TV show, The Bridgewater Triangle & has written several books (both fiction & non) on Amazon Kindle.

By Bill Russo

retired New England Newspaper Editor & Broadcaster


MY RATING SYSTEM:

One Thumb: The Very Best - On a Par with Citizen Kane, The Maltese Falcon, Star Wars

Two Thumbs: Outstanding - Ranks with High Noon, the Breakfast Club, Back to the Future

Three Thumbs: Good - Reaches the level of Batman, Footloose, the original Robocop.

Four Thumbs: Shaky - Bombs like Larry the Cable Guy, White Chicks, or 88 Minutes

Five Thumbs: ALL THUMBS! - duds like Gigli, Battlefield Earth, Glitter and "The Room" which has been called the "Citizen Kane" of bad movies!

One thumb is best. A rating of 5 – means the film is “ALL THUMBS”

=======================================

The BR rating for DJANGO UNCHAINED: 3 Thumbs

=======================================

Give Your Thumbs for Django? 5 is "All Thumbs" - one is Best

4 out of 5 stars from 2 ratings of 3T

Christopher Waltz is outstanding as Dr. King Schultz

Why did I wait some 24 months to rate this? It is simple really. Of the $162 million the film grossed in the U.S. - zero dollars came from me. I did not want to see it on the 'big screen' at the 'big price'.


Now that it is on DVD, Amazon, and getting ready for a Netflix run; it is the right time for me to watch it.


Watch it I did, though it took some effort. Not in the beginning. The movie starts off just fine. We meet Dr. King Schultz, played by largely unknown 57 year old Austrian actor Christoper Waltz. That's his real name and yes he is from Vienna and yes he did waltz to the Oscars where he won “Best Supporting Actor” for his work.


The film also won the “Best Original Screenplay”.


Location still taken from Dec. 25th shooting

Getting back to the story.

We meet the jaunty, irrepressible dentist, Dr. King Schultz riding along in the deep South in the 1850s, atop a small wagon which is crowned by a soccer ball sized plaster of paris tooth on a spring.

We soon learn that the good Doctor has not practiced his trade for many years and when we see how fast he is with a six gun we understand why.

I wondered why he was riding in his teenie, slow wagon when it was obvious he had become an adept gunslinger. Doing some research I learned, that Waltz had fallen from a horse in the early shooting and suffered a broken hip.

So for the initial scenes, he was unable to ride a horse. Director Quentin Tarantino cleverly came up with the idea of the wagon. Waltz's co-star Jamie Foxx gifted him with a saddle, complete with a seat belt.


The plot is set just before the start of the civil war. Feelings of anti slavery were on the rise; but in the deep South a man like the German Dr. King Schultz was rare. Schultz had become a successful bounty hunter. Ruthless and cold, he could kill a wanted man in front of his young son - yet could not understand why one person could 'own' another – or even want to.


In some of the best scenes of the film Schultz liberates Django (Jamie Foxx) and teaches him the bounty hunting trade. A deft student, Django is soon promoted to partner. The pair decide to Bounty Hunt for the winter, and then to begin a quest in the spring to rescue Django's wife who is enslaved by cruel slave owner Calvin Candie (Leonardo DiCaprio) who named his plantation "Candy Land".

Please Rate Django

How Many Thumbs Would You Give Django?

See results

Where the film fails

And there the film falls down faster than a horse trying to gallop through a salt draw in a flash flood.

Tarantino turns what had been an engaging plot into an attempt to 'out gore' all of the bloodiest works of cinematic history.

Trying to combine Pacino's Scarface with a compilation of every spaghetti western ever made, the final 60 minutes of the film becomes little more than an angry, revenge-blinded Jamie Foxx gunning down every slaver in sight and site.

,

The violence was excessive and non stop. There was so much of it, it quickly became boring. Perhaps this was Tarantino's intention.


For me the movie failed because I was unable to suspend my disbelief. In 1812, the Ancient Mariner's author, Samuel T. Coloridge, laid down the challenge for all writers when he said, “ If a writer could infuse a "human interest and a semblance of truth" into a fantastic tale, the reader would suspend judgement concerning the implausibility of the narrative".


The suspension test is an individual thing. I was unable to suspend, but you may be able to do so, and if so; you will probably think Django a much better film than I do.


Another irritating thing about the movie, is that Director Tarantino thinks he is a disc jockey. He inserts obtrusive songs randomly which interfere with the flow of the story.


Other than “I giorni del'ira (Days of Wrath) from the eponymous 1960's Lee Van Cleef film and Jim Croce's “I Got A Name” - the music reminds me of a crowded super market where an enormous woman in an 800 pound motorized handi-capped shopping cart is playing chicken with everyone else in the aisle. My sympathies are always with handicapped people but having almost been hit by such a person more than once; when I see one, I run the other way! Quentin's over-amped soundtrack had the same effect.


Jamie Looked the Part of a Gunslinger

Jamie Foxx - 3 Thumbs: same as the film

Jamie Foxx was adequate as Django - but no more than that. He read his lines with conviction, squinted properly, and conveyed the anger of his character. But he was unable to fully sell the part.

First choice Will Smith dropped out in the mistaken belief that the eponymous Django was not the lead role. Bad choice for Will. His likeable personna, shown so well in the MIB franchise, would have helped to bring more credibility to the role of Django.

Foxx was a bit too wooden. But I will give him props for horsemanship and even more for using his own horse in the film! I probably should not be critical of Jamie Foxx for being too stiff... that never seemed to hurt Clint Eastwood.

Stellar Performance by Samuel L.

Summing Up

Most of the cast had little to do and was given scant and bland dialogue. The exceptions are the aforementioned Waltz and Foxx ; plus Leonardo DiCaprio and Samuel L. Jackson.


DiCaprio was quite good as the despicable plantation owner Calvin Candie.


Samuel L. Jackson was BRILLIANT as Stephen, Calvin Candie's acid tongued head houseman.

Eerily credible, he portrayed Stephen as a fierce, loyal aide to Candie; who in many situations had more power in the household than even Candie himself.


As with all Tarantino films, there is much inside humor. That's part of the problem. Tarantino is so eager to be 'hip, flip and inside' that he leaves most of us outside. And if I had been watching this film in a theater; outside is where I would have retreated during the anti-climactic climax.

That said. Django is worth a watch. The setting, the costumes, and some of the acting make it better than about 65 per cent of everything else out there. Hence......Three Thumbs to Django Unchained.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Billrrrr profile imageAUTHOR

      Bill Russo 

      4 years ago from Cape Cod

      Thanks for checking in midget38. The price tag of the film was $100 million. It grossed $162 million in the U.S.; and added another $262 million world wide. The final tally of about $425 million was high enough to land it at the number 17 spot of the Biggest Box Office hits of 2012. Marvel's the Avengers was number one with a gross of $1.5 Billion.

    • midget38 profile image

      Michelle Liew 

      4 years ago from Singapore

      Now I will get my hubby the movie buff to watch this!

    • Billrrrr profile imageAUTHOR

      Bill Russo 

      4 years ago from Cape Cod

      Well put Deal. I believe you are spot on.

    • Billrrrr profile imageAUTHOR

      Bill Russo 

      4 years ago from Cape Cod

      Thanks for the comment Shyron. I think your assessment is correct. Tarantino's torrential violence turned what could have been a very good film into a very average one at best.

    • DealForALiving profile image

      Sam Deal 

      4 years ago from Earth

      Thanks for the review. Django was a big letdown, and nowhere near Pulp Fiction or Kill Bill.

    • Shyron E Shenko profile image

      Shyron E Shenko 

      4 years ago from Texas

      I did see Django, but I can't remember much of it. It is suppose to start slowly and build in interest and intensity and Django to me was the oposite.

      Voted your hub up, Interesting and shared.

    • Billrrrr profile imageAUTHOR

      Bill Russo 

      4 years ago from Cape Cod

      Thanks Will. Like you, I appreciate the atmosphere of this genre. Western characters as created by Louis Lamour, Zane Grey, Max Brand and yourself; are to me the most colorful and memorable figures of literature. This genre from the 1800s up until the 1970s was among the most popular of all writing; but readership has sunk in recent decades. Writers like you will help turn the tide. Keep up the great work.

      I had to retype this comment because I had a typo; saying that the genre was popular from the 1800s to the 1870's. Of course I meant the 1970s. I believe the genre is still popular but not wildly so, as it was in the 1950s and 60s.

      Hide

      Status: Visible.

      ip: 50.163.113.181

    • WillStarr profile image

      WillStarr 

      4 years ago from Phoenix, Arizona

      BTW, Bill, we will be watching it, based on your review.

    • Ty Tayzlor profile image

      TT 

      4 years ago from Anywhere

      This is one of my favorite Tarantino films. When he and Christophe Waltz collaborate, they create memorable characters that live on in film history. For me Waltz out did himself as Dr. King Schultz and he deserved the Oscar for best supporting actor. The story itself is original and great. Tarantino's next project "The Hateful Eight" is supposed to be set in that same universe so that will be something to look into.

    • Billrrrr profile imageAUTHOR

      Bill Russo 

      4 years ago from Cape Cod

      I will be checking them out tonight. Thanks

    • WillStarr profile image

      WillStarr 

      4 years ago from Phoenix, Arizona

      Hi Bill,

      Not all of my scribblings are westerns. Try 'The Tourist' or ' Rebirth'.

    • Billrrrr profile imageAUTHOR

      Bill Russo 

      4 years ago from Cape Cod

      Thanks Will. The late Roger Ebert raved about this film, so I was a bit reluctant to give my slant on it. But hey, we Western guys (me West Dennis - You Arizona) have to have the courage of our convictions, yes?

      Thanks for the comment. I will be over to your spread later on today 'cause I need of couple of horses shoed and I love to hear a story while I'm waiting.

    • WillStarr profile image

      WillStarr 

      4 years ago from Phoenix, Arizona

      We had friends who saw it and told us not to waste our money. They too said that it began well, but later became a pointless bloodbath. However, that's typical Tarantino .

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)