ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Horror Film Reviews: 30 Days Of Night

Updated on October 7, 2013

30 Days Of Night DVD Available From Amazon.com

30 Days Of Night Reviewed

I can't ever remember when a film would make me seem just a little bit scared or make me just feel a little bit worried about watching, I read the original graphic novel with which this film is based on and that was a great and original horror concept based on the idea that in Alaska there are 30 days of night that occur in winter and that's when the Vampires arrive to feast on the alaskan inhabitants.

The idea behind it is valid and one which drives the story forward to see who survives and who doesn't, the start of the movie builds a supense and naturally introduces you to the main characters, the day starts off as the last day of sunlight which is reflected in the opening sequence which shows a ship from which an outsider arrives (Ben Foster) and you just know from the look on the crazy fools face that he is up to no good.

Mobile phones are burnt and cute husky dogs have their throats slashed as all contact with the outside world is lost seemingly oblivious to almost everyone in the town of Barrow Alaska, I think the first few scenes build a tension to what's coming quite effectively and when the vampires do arrive there is an almost evil menace to the whole thing, vampires in other films with the classic fangs and all them Nosferatu cliches are blown away with a breath of fresh air here as they have shark like teeth and just black looking almost demon like eyes and as these are or possibly centuries old vampires they have huge talon like finger nails to slash the unlucky sods that live and then die in the film.

Marlow the head vampire (Played by Danny Huston) as it were is quite brutal and vicious and that made it all the more frightening, the vampires in this film don't talk english instead they use some form of tribal language, even though it sounded latin to me I don't think it was, a quite violent film with blood and guts on show and entrails splattered all around the white snow effectively portrays the evil.

After a good amount of the towns population gets slaughtered there are the usual amount of survivors just like any other film and then we cheer a bit later on when a few of the vampires get their heads blown off or ripped to bits by an Industrial chainsaw. The way that the film carries on after certain events in the film is quite notable, everything happens to move the story on quite nicely, for instance a little vampire girl gets her head chopped off with an axe and this brings on some characterization of some of the characters so we get to see their reactions and the story progress with real emotion here.

The film also counts down by staggering the count like it becomes blurred after a while as if it was a real event you would not count down each day instead you would stagger the days so that a tension is built up by you realising how many days they have left until the sun rises and the survivors become less and less.

The ending was great too as it culiminates in the whole subtle love story theme that plays through from the beginning with the sherrif (Josh Hartnett) and Stella (Melissa George) as they had no time to talk before, except when all this stuff is happening.

All in all this was an excellent film adaptation of a much loved and classic graphic novel story and worth watching for the horror and seeing vampires as scary again and not sexy vampire babes in bikinis(Although that sounds quite nice!)

British Director David Slade did a good job working from Steve Niles screenplay and the film was shot in parts of New Zealand and not in Alaska, which makes it all the more brilliant...Watch the making of features as it gives you more insight into the films production.

 

Buy And Read The Complete 30 Days Of Night Trilogy Comic Books Available On Amazon

Evil Head Vampire Marlow

30 Days of Night bad vampire Marlowe....they're evil I tell you Evil!!!!!
30 Days of Night bad vampire Marlowe....they're evil I tell you Evil!!!!!

30 Days Of Night

30 Days - Good, Bad Or Just Plain Ugly?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • animekid profile image

      animekid 

      7 years ago from Upstate NY

      I actually saw this one when it was in the movie theaters and let me tell you, this was a really scary film and what a real vampire film was all about. Plain, all out, scary, vampire gore. No vampiric romances here, no werewolves, just vampires taking control of and terrorizing a small isolated town in Alaska. This was just pure terror, pure evil, the way vampire movies were meant to be..period.And I did not read any of the comics or graphic novels associated with the movie.

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      This movie was a surprise hit for me as I thought it would be just another vampire film and it was, but is had more in it than other typical vampire films and plus I was a fan of the original graphic novella and I remember thinking at the time, this would make a great movie, luckily they got around to making it and a sequel is on the cards too, good job too!

    • mythbuster profile image

      mythbuster 

      8 years ago from Utopia, Oz, You Decide

      I need to find the graphic novel for this title. To tell you the truth waynet, around what I guess was the "twenty-seven days left" marker in this movie (very early on), I nearly abandoned the movie because the stark hopelessness of the situation for the survivors appears so evident very early on in the film. I spent a good half hour, wondering "should I shut this off and just go read a review?" but finally I saw a couple of characters show some awesome true "anti-vampire-smarts" and got interested in seeing the film through again...it started to have a "The Thing" (John Carpenter film) feel to it and some 'plausible' things started showing through. I suppose if I hadn't already read so darned much gothic fiction and vampire lit' - I'd accept some of these movies better when I watch.

      There are some drawbacks to reading too much, kids!

      :)

      Thx for a great review, waynet. I wish I'd have read this review just BEFORE I saw the movie.

    • My Odyssey profile image

      My Odyssey 

      8 years ago from Somerset, Kentucky

      This is in my top 5 favorite movies ever! I just loved it. I say Rate up and good hub!

    • Mavrek's Mayhem profile image

      Mavrek's Mayhem 

      8 years ago

      Loved this movie. To be honest though the vampire language made me laugh.

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      9 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      I just love graphic novels too, there is just something about the writing and the art combined that makes it a hit for me, I have lots of stories that I've written and drawn and it would take me a while to be convinced of sharing them on here but I may do just that because I have been thinking of publishing them or they'll just gather dust on my hard drive.

      Alot of graphic novels get turned into films lately so who knows, if not now maybe in the future a couple of million paid to me for the film rights and I'll keep the merchandising rights to grow more income ....it might just happen!!

      As for horror I love that too, started off watching those old Hammer horror films with Peter Cushing and Christopher Lee and then just liked the genre as it is open to whatever you want to imagine.

    • Julie-Ann Amos profile image

      Julie-Ann Amos 

      9 years ago from Gloucestershire, UK

      O I love graphic novels, and like vampire romance, but HATE horror so this one's not for me!

    • SweetiePie profile image

      SweetiePie 

      9 years ago from Southern California, USA

      There will be a lot of people I am sure that will love this one. I have not read many graphic novels, but I know they are very popular right now.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)