ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Music

A Review of the album Shadows by Enemy of the Sun Featuring Vocalist Jules Naveri

Updated on January 14, 2018

About the band Enemy of the Sun and the sucess of the album Shadows

The metal band called Enemy of the Sun has an interesting history. Although the band was formed in Germany, they have members from different countries. Vocalist Jules Naveri is from Finland. Guitarist Waldemar Sorchyta is from Poland. He produced Lacuna Coil’s In a Reverie album. He is also the oldest member in the band having been born in 1967. Alla Fedynitch is a German and Russian bassist. Daniel Zeman plays the drums. The band is described as a combination of thrash metal, sludge metal, and extreme metal. Enemy of the Sun was founded in 2006 and their debut album Shadows is a very good debut. It was released on December 7, 2007 by The End Records. Rock Hard Magazine named Shadows Album of the Month. In the summer of 2008, Enemy of the Sun performed at the famous Wacken Open Air Festival. The band’s name comes from the album by the band called Neurosis.

Track Listing for the album Shadows

  1. Emptiness
  2. Burning Bridges
  3. Lives Based on Conflicts
  4. Clearly Surreal
  5. Carousel
  6. Twenty Three Feet
  7. Feel the Beating
  8. Satisfied By Ego Purposes
  9. Brain Sucking Machine
  10. Weak
  11. Liar
  12. Lost in Time
  13. Enemigo Del Sol (Enemy of the Sun)

Jules Naveri the Front Man for the band Enemy of the Sun

Finnish vocalist Jules Naveri sings for the band called Profane Omen in 2011.
Finnish vocalist Jules Naveri sings for the band called Profane Omen in 2011. | Source

A Review of the album Shadows: the good points

The opening song Emptiness has a hardcore feel to it and it contains fast, pounding drums. Burning Bridges starts with hardcore style vocals and has a guitar sound that is truly international in nature. There is an album by the band Arch Enemy of this same name. After a good song called Lives Based on Conflicts, we hear the song Clearly Surreal. The song is about someone who is surprised because the answer he was seeking has been revealed to him. Feel the Beating is one of the strongest songs in the album and it is an important song because of the message it is trying to get across. The song is about the kind of violence and social unrest that occurs in many different parts of the world as the officials and police challenge the protesters and those that want a better life for themselves and their families. Unfortunately, these protesters end up paying a price as they are killed for trying to speak their minds. It is often said that it takes a long time to change things. However, in some countries, it seems like things will never change for the better. We have to visualize a better world for all of us. The person who is seeing all of this violence and turmoil shuts his eyes and visualizes a more peaceful and just world. If we want to have peace in the world, that is what we must set our intentions on. The catchy Brain Sucking Machine is the first song I heard from these guys and I liked this one right away. And there is a chance that you might like it as well.

Shadows: the weak points of the album and conclusion

One of the weaknesses of the album lies in the fact that since there are so many changes, it sounds kind of weird and out of place. This is evident in the song called Carousel where there are fast vocals, harsh vocals, and vocals of the melodic kind all mixed into one song. The song has an interesting kind of tapping guitar part in it. Another possible weak spot for this album is the song called Liar as it has too many time changes and these changes feel out of place. The hardcore shouting continues unabated followed by a long growl. But overall, Shadows is a good listen in spite of its weaknesses. The strongest songs include Emptiness, Burning Bridges, Feel the Beating, and Brain Sucking Machine. This writer gives this album 80 out of 100 points.

The song called Burning Bridges

The song called Feel the Beating


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.