ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

A Movie Review of : 'Gone Girl' (2014)

Updated on July 28, 2019
profile image

My hobby is watching movies and then writing a review about my thoughts about them.

A breathtaking thriller

So i heard that this movie is one of the best movies of 2014 and that it has so good marketing that a very little is known about it from trailers and stuff. I decided to give it a try because i heard it's a really good Ben Affleck movie. It's needless to say that this movie turned out to be so different than what it looked like it was going to be. More on that on my sections. In this review i'm going to be talking the good and the bad about this movie. I must say there isn't much bad to talk about in the movie, just one little issue that i basically stopped caring about as the movie progressed. Also i'm going to do my best to not get into spoilers because even a little spoiler might ruin the awesomeness hidden in this movie.

The Good

Let's talk about the good in this movie. And starting off i must praise the marketing for the movie because it hides incredibly well what this story truly is about and there is much beyond the things that are shown in the trailer and the plot description. The worst thing about doing this review is that i can't talk much about the movie without revealing too much about the plot.

As you watch this movie you realize that as time passes this movie gets darker to the point when the things that happen are scary. In my previous review of 'Nightcrawler' i said that as the story progresses the characters realized who they are really dealing with and that you can see the horror on their faces. Well, in this movie as it progresses i was the person that felt frightened from what i was seeing and you actually could have see the horror on my face because i was truly afraid of what it was shown on the screen. In this movie they were scenes when i just couldn't even watch the screen and there was scene in particular that made me disgusted from certain character which i won't reveal but i'll just point out that this was the breaking point when you can confirm someone's insane.

This movie also shows us that we should never fully believe what are we told on the news because not everything truly is the way it looks and there is much more going on behind the scenes that we're not informed of.

This movie had so many moments when i was looking at the screen and i was screaming and praying a certain character to stop doing what they were doing(yet again i don't want to spoil anything).

About the ending i should say that i was shocked at the genius and cruel action that a certain character did and after that thing happened it's not really that surprising how the movie ended. There was a certain character that i felt really sad about and as you watch the movie you'll realize who i'm talking about and i want to know how would you feel if you were at his place and what were you going to do about the situation.

The performances in this movie were great especially Ben Affleck and Rosamund Pike. These two really shine in the movie and make it what it is. Also i liked Tyler Perry who was a cool side character to this story. Although Neil Patrick Harris wasn't really a good highlight of this movie and i think was miscast.

The Bad

We've talked about the good. Now, let's talk about the bad in this movie. And to be honest there isn't really something bad to say about this movie except the fact that for me it builds a bit too slowly to the main plot. The first 30 minutes of the movie went really slow for me and i was questioning is this movie really as good as people say it is. As time passed i was happy to find out that all my worries are gone and this movie dragged me into the story.

Conclusion

In conclusion, this is a breathtaking thriller that grabs you from the beginning and keeps you invested in the story and wants you to continue watching because of the shocking things you're seeing on the screen. Some scenes are disturbing and this movie really makes you think a lot about everything. This is a must-watch movie. You need to go and watch it right away. It's not the perfect masterpiece but this movie will win you for other things and it deserves a solid 4 out 5 stars score.

My rating

4 stars for 'Gone Girl' (2014)

© 2019 Hris Dimitrov

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • profile image

      Michael115 

      8 months ago

      I will have to watch it and see. I remember thinking it was fine. I am gonna predict that I am going to think it's fine but nothing too special.

    • profile imageAUTHOR

      Hris Dimitrov 

      8 months ago

      Tom Cruise's an amazing actor and this was one of his very first movies too i suppose.

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      8 months ago

      Alright. I thought it was fine for the most part.

    • profile imageAUTHOR

      Hris Dimitrov 

      8 months ago

      Okay, i'll wait to see your review about it.

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      8 months ago

      It might be dated but I remember having a fun time watching it when I was a kid.

    • profile imageAUTHOR

      Hris Dimitrov 

      8 months ago

      Oh i haven't heard of that one.

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      8 months ago

      No this is a different Legend from the eighties starring Tom Cruise. It's about good versus evil with darkness being played by Tim Curry.

    • profile imageAUTHOR

      Hris Dimitrov 

      8 months ago

      That was the tom hardy movie?

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      8 months ago

      I'll keep that in mind once I watch Legend and see if it still holds up.

    • profile imageAUTHOR

      Hris Dimitrov 

      8 months ago

      You really should watch it, it's very good.

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      8 months ago

      It seems like you are on a Ben Affleck marathon! Haven't seen this one either. Gotta check this film out too sometime.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://maven.io/company/pages/privacy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)