ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

A Movie Review of: 'Moneyball' (2011)

Updated on July 18, 2019
profile image

My hobby is watching movies and then writing a review about my thoughts about them.

It’s worth watching

So I saw this movie on the internet as one of the most famous Brad Pitt movies that somehow I haven’t seen and after I watched it I decided to review it, cause why not? In this review we’re going to be talking about the Good and the Bad.

This movie is quite old so I suppose a lot of you have heard about it by now. Also before i start I gotta point that since I’m more of a football(soccer)/volleyball fan I haven’t watched a single baseball game in my life and I don’t really know the rules and understand the game so this review is made of a perspective of a non-baseball fan. Feel free to give your opinion of the movie in the comments.

The Good

So let’s talk about the good.

And first of all I must say that Brad Pitt and Jonah Hill totally killed it in this movie. They gave really good performances and made us care about the story but I still gotta say that I liked Jonah Hill more in ‘The Wolf of Wall Street’ and ‘Superbad’ (Jonah Hill movies that are really worth checking out too). I saw that they got a Oscar nominations for their roles and they deserved the nominations although they didn’t deserve the Oscar win because their performances weren’t as impressive as Christian Bale (The Fighter) or Collin Farrell (The King’s Speech). It was also really nice to see Chris Pratt in this movie before his prime years when he starred in Jurassic World, Guardians of the galaxy, Avengers etc.

At the beginning of the movie I couldn’t understand why did they put all of these flashbacks and I found it unnecesserary but as time passed I realized what’s the point of putting them and they really matter to the story, in my opinion, because they show us the conflict that the main character is having throughout the movie. Another plus of this movie is the relantionship between father and daughter which was a little side thing in this movie. The actors had great chemistry and it totally worked. They introduced us to his daughter perfectly with that short song in the beginning and continued with short dialogue which not only made us care more about the main character but it also helped us relax through the scenes as time passes by and the team kept on playing.

The Bad

The biggest issue I had with this movie and I think a lot of people have pointed that out in the internet is the pacing of this movie. I think that it’s a bit too long. Also the first 20-30 minutes of the movie were a bit too slow-paced I think that was In order to get us to know the story well and all the facts that we need In order to understand the movie better. For me, personally, it wasn’t really enjoyable but after that the movie’s getting pretty interesting and way better than the start so that wasn’t really a big problem.

Conclusion

In conclusion, this is a great movie that it’s worth checking out particullary if you’re a baseball fan, if you’re not, the movie’s still worth checking out although as a non-baseball fan I gotta say I didn’t understand everything that they were talking about and sometimes the game as a whole but that didn't really matter to me because the movie is worth watching for other aspects of it. The movie is full of great performances(Brad Pitt, Jonah Hill, Philip Seymour Hoffman etc).

This movie prefers to speak without words at many points and just to show emotion. It’s a slow-paced movie as I pointed out early and that’s not a bad thing when it’s done the right way and I think that it’s okay the way it’s done here. I’m going to give this movie 4/5 because I had some little issues, it was too long and it’s not a perfect movie.

My rating

4 stars for 'Moneyball' (2011)

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • profile imageAUTHOR

      Hris Dimitrov 

      4 weeks ago

      oh okay. I'm looking forward to seeing your thoughts in the review.

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      4 weeks ago

      Yeah i just got done watching the remake.... Wow.

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      5 weeks ago

      Oh wow. Still have to see it on my own to give my honest thoughts. If it is just the same thing over then i will be disappointed

    • profile imageAUTHOR

      Hris Dimitrov 

      5 weeks ago

      well sorry to disapoint but it will be better if you enter the cinema without expecting something new added into the mix.Like that you'll enjoy it more. It's the same movie made mostly for box office sale cause people like me will be hit emotionally and go see it.

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      5 weeks ago

      Im looking forward to the canyon scene. Im nostalgic for the lion king but i dont want it to be too similar. Making everything live action is not enough to make it stand out. Cant wait to see it.

    • profile imageAUTHOR

      Hris Dimitrov 

      5 weeks ago

      well kinda although this movie hits on nostalgic level too no matter its problems especially if you've grown with it like i did.

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      5 weeks ago

      I heard they copy and paste almost everything but delete the good stuff

    • profile imageAUTHOR

      Hris Dimitrov 

      5 weeks ago

      Not much really, there's only like one detail that they changed that pisses me off a little and ruins a really beautiful scene from the original movie.

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      5 weeks ago

      Ah. I heard it was a shot for shot remake. Now im curious what they changed in the movie.

    • profile imageAUTHOR

      Hris Dimitrov 

      5 weeks ago

      yeah, i've watched lion king today and it's exactly what it's expected. Shot to shot remake and i had one big issue with this movie and you'll probably realize it too as you watch the movie(not gonna spoil).

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      5 weeks ago

      I am going to be watching every movie coming to theaters from now on so they will definitely be getting a review from me. I reviewed every movie in theaters so far except for Lion King. Going to be watching that tomorrow! I will be reviewing the original animated version today to prepare for tomorrow's remake.

    • profile imageAUTHOR

      Hris Dimitrov 

      5 weeks ago

      Thanks, man! And yeah, Brad Pitt's a hell of an actor. I'm looking forward to Ad Astra and Once Upon a time in Hollywood to see him in action again.

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      5 weeks ago

      Good review! I am not a fan of baseball either but if the characters are good then that makes it worth sitting through. Brad Pitt has always been a great actor so whatever movie he's in gives the movie a tremendous boost. Keep up the good work!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)