ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

A1's Greatest Hits - A Soundtrack to Remember

Updated on July 6, 2013

Three Brits & One Norwegian who called themselves A1, ruled the millennium pop music. With their charming looks and super gorgeous voices, A1 is still surely my number 1. The article covers all their albums and the year it was released, with amazing music videos.

5 stars for A1 Greatest Hits - 4 Albums
Source

THE BEST OF A1

a1 (with the small a) is an English-Norwegian pop group. Their songs ruled in the hearts of people especially young girls. Their songs achieved so many successes and hit singles.

Unfortunately, the band ended when Paul Marazzi decided to take a break and split with the group. But the remaining three members reformed a1 in 2009 and even made their album "Waiting for Daylight".


Time Travel: Back in 1998

The gorgeous a1, consisting of Ben Adams, Mark Read, Paul Marazzi and Christian Ingebrigsten dominated the pop millennium world and swept away the hearts of girls all over the world. Along with the rise of fame from Westlife, Blue and Backstreet Boys, a1 released their first hit single "Be the First to Believe" which ranked #6 in the UK chart.

Songs of heartbreaks and love smashed the world with the release of their first debut album, "Here We Come". These pop stars write their own material and were very good musicians.

I really love a1 since they first came into limelight and they never left my heart until now; even those times they were disbanded, I still hope that they would reunite and take the world once more. I love Ben Adams. I love his angelic voice, his very gorgeous face, love his hair.... oh I love all about him.

a1's the first band I've taken seriously and no one else. I mean, I bought every magazine and songhits every time their songs in the cover. Downloaded all their pictures, their profiles and knows their songs by heart. Well, who could blame, I'm only thirteen or fourteen by then and Ben Adams' so strikingly dashing!


Recapping their Milestone:


Source

HERE WE COME: December 2, 1999

This album was certified as Gold in the UK

  • Forever In Love
  • Be the First to Believe
  • Summertime of Our Lives
  • Ready or Not
  • Everytime
  • If Only
  • Hey You
  • Like a Rose
  • Walking in the Rain
  • Still Around
  • I Still Believe
  • Heaven by Your Side


Soul-crushing hits of this album made every young teen heart's break and love. Slow and mellow, this first album somewhat portrays the innocent lives of people being in love, being together and cherishing each moment. If there's love, there are heartbreaks. And a1 did great on their songs too about regret and choices.

Source

THE A-LIST: October 30, 2000

This second album was also certified as Gold in the UK

  • Take On Me
  • Same Old Brand New You
  • No More
  • One More Try
  • The Things We Never Did
  • Too Bad Baby
  • Nothing but Trouble
  • Tomorrow
  • She Doesn’t See Me
  • Scared
  • Celebrate Our Love
  • Living the Dream
  • I Wonder Why
  • I'll Take the Tears
  • One in Love

After the massive success of their first album, this second album also marks their transformation. It was combined with rock ballad and more cheery tone and music. Whilst they maintained some other songs with those teary-toned, the songs were more joyous and upbeat. This album charted higher from the first, maybe because of so many success hit singles.

Source

MAKE IT GOOD: April 8, 2002

The album brings their more adult sounds, laden with instruments and guitars

  • Caught in the Middle
  • Make It Good
  • Here Comes the Rain
  • When I'm Missing You
  • This Ain't What Love Is About
  • Crazy for Leaving You
  • Learn to Fly
  • Isn’t It Cheap
  • If I Can’t Have You
  • Make it Through the Night
  • Cherish This Love
  • Do You Remember
  • One Last Song
  • Let It Out


This is their last album being together before Paul decided to split with the band. I was so sad that a1 would never be a1 again. But their songs became more mature and adult-like but retaining all the dramas that their fans love. It's always love and heartbreaks. This album changed in style, removing electro-pop tracks to soft-track tracks. The "Caught in the Middle" track also reached the French Market, with their recorded French version with singer Eve Angeli.

Source

WAITING FOR DAYLIGHT: October 11, 2010

  • It Happens Everyday
  • Don't Wanna Lose You Again
  • In Love and I Hate It
  • Bad Enough
  • Nothing in Common
  • Take You Home
  • Six Feet Under
  • Good Things, Bad People
  • Perfect Disaster
  • The Life That Could Have Been
  • Out There
  • Waiting for Daylight


A1 is still A1 for me even with just three of them. Their four singles also hit the Norwegian charts and was a comeback for more than eight long years. This album features more of a1's transformation side, the music classier and rockingly good.


© 2012 Mycee. All Rights Reserved.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • unknown spy profile imageAUTHOR

      IAmForbidden 

      5 years ago from Neverland - where children never grow up.

      HEHEHE! I love it Vespa. yeah, the musics on their last album did actually change to more mature and rock.

    • vespawoolf profile image

      vespawoolf 

      5 years ago from Peru, South America

      They have a nice sound! I'm embarrassed to say I hadn't heard of them before this. I especially like the sound of their last album (with just 3 band members). Thanks for sharing!

    • unknown spy profile imageAUTHOR

      IAmForbidden 

      5 years ago from Neverland - where children never grow up.

      hehe thanks so much Paula! they're really great

    • unknown spy profile imageAUTHOR

      IAmForbidden 

      5 years ago from Neverland - where children never grow up.

      thank you sha.. :)

    • fpherj48 profile image

      Paula 

      5 years ago from Beautiful Upstate New York

      Thank you for the introduction to this fabulous boy band....they are great and appear to have quite a successful career ahead!.....UP+++

    • bravewarrior profile image

      Shauna L Bowling 

      5 years ago from Central Florida

      Nice review, Spy. I'm not familiar with the band, but I enjoyed the videos. BTW, only the last two play in America.

    • unknown spy profile imageAUTHOR

      IAmForbidden 

      5 years ago from Neverland - where children never grow up.

      Hello Rich. Thanks for the time.. i love the 'chosen gods of looks'. suits them well! :)

    • unknown spy profile imageAUTHOR

      IAmForbidden 

      5 years ago from Neverland - where children never grow up.

      Hello maria. :) a1 is really good, been a fan since time immemorial :)

    • rcrumple profile image

      Rich 

      5 years ago from Kentucky

      Myz - OMG... another boy band! Will the world never get enough of these bands that studios put together to make themselves millions, and then cast them aside when they begin to age? Oh well, there's always young women willing to listen and dream of these chosen gods of good looks! lol Interesting hub, but simply seen to many of these come and go over the years! : )

    • marcoujor profile image

      Maria Jordan 

      5 years ago from Jeffersonville PA

      spy, Love this A-1 introduction to a sound I had not yet heard of...will be happy to listen to more. Voted UP and UABI. Hugs, Maria

    • unknown spy profile imageAUTHOR

      IAmForbidden 

      5 years ago from Neverland - where children never grow up.

      yeah..keeping my fingers crossed on that. they just came here in Phils for a concert :)

    • unknown spy profile imageAUTHOR

      IAmForbidden 

      5 years ago from Neverland - where children never grow up.

      Hahaha!! they go for lovesongs, heartbreaks..most teens love to hear. i love them :)

    • Mhatter99 profile image

      Martin Kloess 

      5 years ago from San Francisco

      Thank you for this. My wife's son, Justine, likes this group.

    • teaches12345 profile image

      Dianna Mendez 

      5 years ago

      Thanks for the introduction and background on this new group. It does look like they have the makings to go to the top and beyond. Hope your Thanksgiving was wonderful.

    • kashmir56 profile image

      Thomas Silvia 

      5 years ago from Massachusetts

      Hi my friend M. great hub about this group. I have never heard of this group before. And the reason might be because it is not my type of music.

      Hope you are having a great weekend !

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)