ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Music

Review: Amorphis Tuonela - The Album That Sees Amorphis Shift To A More Progressive Style Of Heavy Metal Music

Updated on December 6, 2017
CELEBSFAN78 profile image

Ara is currently an Accounting student at Glendale Community College in Glendale. CA. His main goal in life is the enjoyment of it.

Tuonela: CD Image

Track Listing for the album Tuonela

  1. The Way
  2. Morning Star
  3. Nightfall
  4. Tuonela
  5. Greed
  6. Divinity
  7. Shining
  8. Withered
  9. Rusty Moon
  10. Summer’s End

A photo of guitarist Esa Holopainen one of the original members of Amorphis

Guitarist Esa Holopainen seen here playing during a festival called Jurassic Rock in 2008.
Guitarist Esa Holopainen seen here playing during a festival called Jurassic Rock in 2008. | Source

The album Tuonela and the origin of the album's title

Tuonela is the 4th studio album by Finnish metal band Amorphis and it was released in 1999. This is one of the band’s weakest albums but it is still good. Amorphis is one of those bands that pretty much every one of their albums will be as good. The album’s title comes from the area or region of the dead in Finnish mythology. This is similar to Hades in Greek mythology.

Tuonela Shows the Greatness of Amorphis

The title track has some piano playing in to make it more creative. The song Greed has sitar in it and Tomi Koivusaari lets out a death metal growl similar to 1994’s Tales From the Thousand Lakes album. Tuonela is largely a more progressive rock kind of effort similar to 2001’s Am Universum album. Am Universum is really solid and the best Amorphis album in the Pasi Koskinen era. Even if Amorphis had chosen to concentrate largely on death metal, they would have been one of the best bands ever. This is a band that has been around since 1990 and has made each one of their albums work out well. Shining is a song about someone who feels that his spirit is bleeding and his body is aching. He wants to get over that rainbow and to be able to shine again and be the person that he once was. He is surrounded by people that he cannot trust. The Way is a song about someone that wonders how far he can go in life as he tries to go through the seas of life, to get calmer after a storm has passed. The song refers that sea as the sea of madness. No matter how many times we fail in life to improve our standing in life, we must persist and stick to that plan to improve ourselves. Life will have peaks and low points and it is never constant. He wants wise advice, on how he can live in the present, live the moment.

Tuonela Is an Album That Is Worth it for the Song Nightfall

No mention of Amorphis can be complete without mentioning the song Nightfall. This song features Pasi’s best and most melodic vocals. It is also the strongest song in the album. Nightfall is a song about a plague that spreads through the land destroying all the crops. The cows can no longer give out milk because they too have been affected by this plague. The man that has sorrow on his face ventures father into the wilderness in search of land that is suitable for crops. Tuonela is the weakest album that I have heard from Amorphis but it is still a good one even for the biggest fans of the band.

Nightfall (classic Amorphis song)

The song Summer's End

The song called The Way

© 2017 Ara Vahanian


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.