ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

'Battleship' (2012) movie review.

Updated on March 19, 2013

Battleship movie poster.

Source

How I came to see Battleship.

While recently taking a trip to visit family in Fort Worth, Texas, I decided along with my godmother's husband to go see the movie, "Battleship". To be quite honest, I wasn't too interested in seeing this movie in a theater initially. I was going to wait until it was released on DVD. However, the movie was highly recommended from one of the most unlikely sources; my mother. She had previously went and saw the movie about a week and a half earlier. She was so impressed with the film, that she mentioned on several occasions that I should go see it. Did I forget to mention that this was coming from a person that very seldom watches action or adventure movies? Maybe I should have taken that as a hint. At any rate, I decided to take her advice and go watch it in a theater. I'm going to give my thoughts on how I felt about Battleship. These are strictly my own opinions, so there is no right or wrong. If you agree or disagree with my opinions regarding this movie, that is totally fine. Please read on.

Synopsis of movie and actors.

"Battleship" is a science fiction action film that was released on May 18, 2012 in the United States. The film originally was to be released in 2011, and is named after the classic game, "Battleship". The plot of the film deals with a war between Earth, and an alien species from another planet. Sometime in the year 2005, NASA discovers another planet that has similar conditions to that of Earth. Banking on the idea that this planet may contain an intelligent species of people, NASA sends a powerful signal to the planet. A few years later, five alien ships respond to the signal and head towards the Earth. Four of the five ships land in the water near Hawaii where the signal originated from. A fleet of ships are the only hope to stop the possible destruction of the Earth. The fight for the Earth has started, and the battle begins at sea. Battleship stars: Taylor Kitsch as Lieutenant Alex Hopper, Liam Neeson as Admiral Terrance Shane, Alexander Skarsgard as Commander Stone Hopper, Rihanna as weapons specialist Cora Raikes, and Brooklyn Decker as Samantha Shane; physical therapist, daughter of Admiral Shane, and girlfriend of Lieutenant Alex Hopper. The movie Battleship is directed by Peter Berg. Now that I've given a synopsis of the film and it's stars, lets get into my thoughts on the movie.

Thoughts on the movie.

As I previously mentioned, I wasn't too interested in seeing this film originally. However, after some persuasion and seeing an interview on CNN with a character in the movie who actually served in the military, I became a bit more curious. I'll get to that particular character in a bit. Battleship started off pretty good in my opinion. The interaction between Kitsch's character, Alex Hopper, and his older brother, Stone Hopper(Alexander Skarsgard) was well done. However, I felt like this movie had gotten dull as it carried on. Liam Neeson is a terrific actor, and I was expecting to see more of him. However, his screen time in this movie was surprisingly limited. It appears that Taylor Kitsch was expected to somewhat carry this movie. In my opinion he didn't pull it off. I don't have anything against Kitsch, and I like him as an actor. I'm familiar with Kitsch from the television series, "Friday Night Lights". He was terrific on that show. However, I felt that he was a weak leading character in this film. Rihanna's performance didn't impress me either. Her performance just seemed a bit over the top. However, being that she isn't a trained actor, I wasn't too surprised by her performance. Jesse Plemons, who also starred in Friday Night Lights was reunited with Kitsch for this movie. I thought Plemons done very well in this movie. Surprisingly one of the better performances in my opinion came from Gregory D. Gadson. Remember the actual war veteran that I mentioned earlier that I saw interviewed on CNN? Colonel Gregory D. Gadson was that man. Gadson is an above the knee amputee who has severed in the United States Army for over 20 years. Gadson plays the role of Mick Canales in the film. Canales is an Army officer who is trying to recover from the loss of his legs. Although this was Gadson's acting debut on the big screen, I felt his performance was great. He really brought a sense of genuineness and authenticity to the movie.

Have you seen the movie Battleship?

See results

Conclusion.

Normally films that deal with fighting for the planet, or military related films usually make people proud. Because there is so much at stake in this movie, Battleship is a movie that will most likely give someone that proud feeling. Although this movie may give some a sense of pride, I personally was ready for this movie to end about halfway through it. I found myself constantly yawning at one of my favorite theaters that I enjoy visiting while in Fort Worth. I asked my godmother's husband what he thought about the film, and he didn't think it was that good either. Looks like my mom is in the minority on this one huh? If I had to rate Battleship on a scale from 1 to 5, I would rate it a 2. If you have yet to see this movie, I would suggest you don't bother going to see it in a theater. My suggestion would be to wait until it comes out of DVD. Even then you may find the movie disappointing, but at least you would not have spent 8 dollars on a movie ticket. Well those are my thoughts on the movie Battleship. I hope you enjoyed my review. If anyone has seen the movie, feel free to leave your feedback. Also if you saw the movie and have a different opinion, leave your comments as well. Thanks for reading.

References.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battleship_(film)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gregory_D._Gadson

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • prospectboy profile imageAUTHOR

      Bradrick H. 

      5 years ago from Texas

      Hello Lybrah! Thanks for reading and commenting. I did enjoy the patriotic theme to it, but the acting was very weak in my opinion. Thanks for your perspective!

    • profile image

      Lybrah 

      5 years ago

      I actually really liked this movie, it had a real patriotic theme to it. I love when he got all the veterans to start up that old ship.

    • prospectboy profile imageAUTHOR

      Bradrick H. 

      6 years ago from Texas

      Hey how are you samislam. Thanks for reading my review. Yea I didn't care a lot for this movie. I'm probably going to rent it once it comes out again. Sometimes it takes another view to form a real good opinion. Thanks for your feedback, and I hope you have a different opinion from mine once you see the DVD.

    • prospectboy profile imageAUTHOR

      Bradrick H. 

      6 years ago from Texas

      Hey there Kev! Glad to hear that you enjoyed the movie. I personally didn't care much for it as you could tell by my review, but that's what I like about sites like this. They allow us all to share our opinions. Thanks for letting me know about Taken 2. I just watched the trailer, and I'm excited. I loved the first one, and Liam Neeson is a great actor. Thanks for your feedback sir, and for sharing. Best wishes to you my man.

    • prospectboy profile imageAUTHOR

      Bradrick H. 

      6 years ago from Texas

      Thanks a lot Rizza. I'm a big fan of Liam Neeson as well. He is a great actor. Taken definitely has a sequel. I'm glad that you and Kev were able to let me know about it, because I didn't know. I just watched the trailer, and it looks like it's going to be very good. Thanks again for your feedback my friend. Best wishes to you :)

    • samislam profile image

      Sam Islam 

      6 years ago from Vancouver, WA

      I almost saw Battleship out of complete curiosity, but decided against spending full price for theater tickets. After reading your review, I'm probably going to wait for it on Redbox or maybe even Netflix. Great job on your review, and voted up!

    • Arren123 profile image

      Arren123 

      6 years ago from UK

      Thanks for sharing, I went to see the film and through it was really good, better then I thought it was going to be. Answer to Being well question about Taken, yes Taken 2 is out soon in the UK, October I believe. Voted up and tweeted :)

    • beingwell profile image

      beingwell 

      6 years ago from Bangkok

      Voted up, interesting and shared!

      I saw the movie my friend! I like Liam Neeson movies. I'm excited.. I here Taken has a sequel. My hubby and I are sure to watch! Great review, btw! Keep it up!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)