ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Beyond the Lights: Film Review

Updated on August 11, 2015

Beyond the Lights

Source

Blackbird

Why you wanna fly Blackbird you ain't ever gonna fly
No place big enough for holding all the tears you're gonna cry
Cos your mama's name was lonely and your daddy's name was pain
And they call you little sorrow cos you'll never love again

So why you wanna fly Blackbird you ain't ever gonna fly
You ain't got no one to hold you, you ain't got no one to care
If you'd only understand dear nobody wants you anywhere
So why you wanna fly Blackbird you ain't ever gonna fly

-Nina Simone

Opening weekend, I chose to catch a matinee of the new film Beyond the Lights. Always making sure I'm on time, I was met by some interesting and a few intriguing previews. Coming to a theatre near you are, of course, The Hunger Games' latest film, Selma (a story of the march in Selma, Alabama led by Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr), The Boy Next Door (starring Jennifer Lopez and Hill Harper), and Focus starring the one and only Will Smith (in a role that we haven't yet seen him play). There were a few other previews that I'm sure will be hitting a television screen, billboard or radio promo near you soon. Feel free to look up these trailers if you are interested.

It's been a while since Gina Prince-Bythewood has pulled on our heartstrings. Her storytelling first captivated me in my teens, when I was nothing but a basketball-crazed teenager. Love & Basketball had my teammates and I flying high once upon a time; hoping that we too could find our love interest on the shiny and competitive floor of the basketball court. Similar to how Prince-Bythewood had everyone stepping into the souls of her characters in previous films, she has you falling hard for the hearts of her new characters, Noni and Kaz. Now, you know I'm not hear to give away the story but I want to help introduce you to the film; like a literary trailer.

Gina Prince-Bythewood, Nate Parker and Gugu Mbatha-Raw
Gina Prince-Bythewood, Nate Parker and Gugu Mbatha-Raw | Source

Almost Doesn't Count

Many people still don't get the struggle that people of color have in the entertainment industry; not only do some not get it but the ones who know still choose to turn a blind eye. Beyond the Lights almost wasn't made but thank goodness almost doesn't count. Prince-Bythewood held strong to what she believed in; her story, her actors and her truth. Below Gina tells us a little bit about what she had to go through to get this film made.

Meet the Characters

Noni Jean (Gugu Mbatha-Raw) and Kaz (Nate Parker) are two young people who have their own voice and their own way of delivery but find themselves being stifled by those around them. Noni is blessed with the gift of song and has something to say but is told that her gift can only be used one way and what she has to say no one wants to hear. "Noni, do you want to be a runner-up or do you want to be a winner?" Kaz just wants to make a difference in the world but is being pushed down a road by others who keep telling him this road is the best one to take. When these two come together they see they have so much to offer each other and by sticking together, they have so much to offer the world. Kaz believes that "Truth is the only safe ground to stand upon."

This film is far from short in star-studded appearances. Danny Glover plays Captain Nicol, Kaz's father, Minnie Driver plays Noni's mother, Chaka Khan and Rosci show their beautiful faces and even BET's own Debra Lee had a part to play. CBS, CNN and President Obama got in a few plugs as well (way to sign those waivers guys!).

In Theaters Now

Beyond the Lights hit theaters around the country November 14, 2014 and is at a theater near you (hopefully). Take the time to treat yourself to a feel good movie that will leave you feeling inspired and full of love. Let's support everyone who put in such hard work into getting this film made. After you see it, come back and tell me what you thought!

Will You Go See This Film?

See results
Source

If you saw the film, did you enjoy it?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      courtney 

      3 years ago

      I loves the movie i was arraun it would get a lil ghetto at some point but the story line was really good! And the factors and actresses Did a great job!

    • profile image

      edlyn5 

      3 years ago

      So many good parts and some listed already, so here goes...

      - meeting Felicia who helped her own her hair

      - taking Kaz on a mile high experience

      - sharing her verses with Kaz

      - I see you!

      - stripping down to the real Noni in Mexico

      - finding her real voice in Mexico

      - stepping up to fire her Mom

      - going home to do things her way

    • profile image

      iman 

      3 years ago

      My favorite part is at the end when she is performing her own black bird song version in her hometown. I thought it was nice. I got teary at the end!

    • profile image

      Stylicia 

      3 years ago

      I could relate to this film in certain aspects. It truly touched my heart!

    • profile image

      Erica 

      3 years ago

      Amazing! One of my favorite movies of all time now!

    • memel03 profile imageAUTHOR

      Melody Lanei 

      3 years ago from Queens, New York

      Okay! FIRED! lol

    • profile image

      Kacey 

      3 years ago

      Great Movie!!! Loved the when Noni found her voice and told her mother how she felt..

    • profile image

      Jonna 

      3 years ago

      greatest part was when she came around the corner of the hotel they got away in, with natural hair stripped from the false purple tracks!

    • profile image

      Scout Wampler 

      3 years ago

      Such an amazing movie!! I really loved when she went back to her roots!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)