ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Cult (The CW) - Series Premiere: Synopsis and Review

Updated on February 20, 2013
Source

Six years after it was originally written by Josh Schwartz and Stephanie Savage (known from writing many other The CW shows such as ‘Gossip Girl’ and ‘Hart Of Dixie’), The CW launches ‘Cult’. The series is about a show named ‘Cult’, which is about a cult. Confusing? Indeed. So let me just rephrase the series to ‘Real-World-Cult’ for the series that we are watching and ‘Cult-World-Cult’ for the series in the series. Right, on with the review.

Real-World-Cult starts with a scene from Cult-World-Cult, in which a woman is trying to find her sister Meadow. She believes her to be kidnapped by or on behalf of the leader, Billy Grimm (Robert Knepper, ‘Prison Break’) of the cult she used to be part of. As Cult-World-Cult ends, the scene switches to a bar where fans of the show are watching and trying to find deeper meaning in the story. A young man called Nate seems to have figured out something important, and he runs out, telling his friend Merriam to go home to her family.

On the set of Cult-World-Cult, a woman called Skye (Jessica Lucas, ‘Friends With Benefits’), who just started working as a researcher for the show, is doing research on websites by fans of Cult-World-Cult. But the websites aren’t ordinary fan sites, they are weird and dark.

Nate meets up with his brother Jeff (Matt Davis, ‘The Vampire Diaries’), a reporter trying to rebuild his career after a scandal. Nate says he is being followed, but Jeff thinks this is just another one of his crazy paranoid ideas. It seems Nate has had those more often in the past. However, that night, Jeff gets a strange call from Nate and goes over to his apartment to check on him. There is a chair covered in blood and Nate is gone.

When the cops are at the scene investigating, Jeff sees his brothers cell phone and steals it. Cult-World-Cult is playing on the TV while the officers investigate, and Jeff recognizes a pair of 3D glasses in the series that his brother also gave to him when they last met. Before he disappeared, Nate asked Jeff to contact the people who made the show, and even though he refused to do so at first, now that his brother is missing Jeff goes over to the set.

Source

On the set, Jeff meets Skye, who is willing to help him and manages to undelete some text messages on Nate’s phone. It turns out Nate was texting with a woman called Meadow, the same name as the woman who was missing on Cult-World-Cult. Skye then takes Jeff to the fan-bar, called fan.dom_ain, where we saw Nate earlier. Online, they find a role playing event and go to the location to find more clues about where Nate could be.

As Jeff and Skye arrive at the role playing event, they find everyone fleeing from a house. Inside the house, a woman called Merriam, the same woman who was on a picture with Nate at the fan-bar, is crying. When asked about Nate, she tells Jeff that Nate is ‘not alright’, and that he will be coming for her next. She then quotes a line from the series people say right before they die: 'Well, hey, these things just snap right off' and shoots herself in the head. Jeff is visibly upset by this part of Cult-World-Cult coming back in the real world, because it was exactly what his brother said at the end of their odd phone conversation.

Back at Nate's apartment, Jeff watches a few clips of Cult-World-Cult and finds a CD in the notes his brother made, the same CD the characters on the show found. He calls Skye and asks her what is on the CD in the series. She tells him the Cult-World-Cult-CD uploads all of the protagonists personal information in the series. Jeff puts the disc in his laptop anyway, hoping that it may lead somewhere. The disc contains images that flash on the screen, and when Jeff puts on the 3D glasses Nate gave him, just as he saw the protagonist do in Cult-World-Cult, he sees blank lines and slashes. Jeff enters the phrase 'Well, hey, these things just snap right off' and presses ‘enter’. Right after he hits ‘enter’, he receives a call from Nate. Nate tells him he never should've put the disc in and that he should walk away and not try to find him. As the laptop reveals an image of Jeff's drivers license and personal information, a scene from the Cult-World-Cult-promotional footage appears: 'You're next'.

Real-World-Cult was quite an enjoyable show. Contrary to this text, it wasn’t hard to keep the two series apart from each other while watching, which is a really good thing because there are a lot of shots from Cult-World-Cult in the story of Real-World-Cult. It’s almost as if you’re watching two shows simultaneously, only big pieces of one of the shows are missing.

I’m still not really sure what this series will be like, because there were so many small pieces that in the future will probably form one big puzzle, but for now it’s still a little vague. It seems however that Jeff’s quest to find Nate will be the storyline that will take us through at least the first season, and it should be an interesting storyline. It does bug me that I still know virtually nothing about what kind of deeper layers these fans are getting from Cult-World-Cult. It is apparent that it must be something important, because it seemed there were people that spent every free minute of their day on it. Which made me wonder what is so great about Cult-World-Cult that so many people become such huge fans, but I’m guessing that will remain a mystery forever.

On the whole, I liked this show enough to see it could become something quite good, but not enough to know for sure that I will be watching past the first three or four episodes. From where I’m standing, it could go either way, depending primarily on the main characters and their actions. But for now, I can definitely recommend this show if you like your series to come with a little mystery.

Cult airs Tuesdays at 9/8c on The CW.

What did you think of 'Cult'?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Robin Oatley profile imageAUTHOR

      Robin Oatley 

      5 years ago

      Haha, good one! I doubt it, though ;)

    • ScarlaBlack profile image

      Haley Booker-Lauridson 

      5 years ago from GA

      Wow! That was short lived. Thanks for the info. Perhaps it will become a cult-classic in time, haha!

    • Robin Oatley profile imageAUTHOR

      Robin Oatley 

      5 years ago

      Hi ScarlaBlack,

      I'm afraid you're a little too late, because Cult just got pulled off the air and cancelled earlier today. Seven episodes have aired up until now. There is no news on whether (and if so, when) the remaining six episodes will air.

      More info about Cult's cancellation and future prospects of other The CW shows can be found here: https://hubpages.com/entertainment/The-CW-Ratings-...

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

    • ScarlaBlack profile image

      Haley Booker-Lauridson 

      5 years ago from GA

      Thanks for the review! I keep seeing ads about it when I sit down to watch Supernatural. Now, after reading this, I might have to give it a shot!

    • NickysMom2003 profile image

      Melissa White 

      5 years ago

      I have my DVR all set. The pilot is on again Friday night. If it wasn't for your reviews I wouldn't know about some of these shows. :)

    • Robin Oatley profile imageAUTHOR

      Robin Oatley 

      5 years ago

      Well I'm confused as well, and I'm not counting on it going away quickly! There are just so many things left open that it's hard to see the big picture. Which is why I'll have to keep watching =P

    • NickysMom2003 profile image

      Melissa White 

      5 years ago

      I am so confused... LOL! Thanks for the great review, now if I can wrap my head around it and still be able to think clearly, I HAVE to watch this show.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)