ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Music

Drake Thank Me Later Album Review

Updated on May 22, 2011

Drake Thank Me Later

Thank Me Later

After over a year of internet blogging and radio airplay Drake's debut Thank Me Later fails to live up to the enormous hype surrounding the album. Following his smash hit mixtape So Far Gone Drake fails to deliver the same excitement on a debut album that sounds as tired as his choice of rhyming words. This album seems forced in a way. Even the magnificent production team that includes super producers Kanye West, Timbaland along with producers Boi-da and Noah Shebib seems to be lacking something special at times. Clearly the pressure of super stardom have finally got to Drake and this album is a result of a trying to live up to the unprecedented hype.

"Welcome to Hollywood, don't let this town ruin you" - Drake 'Light Up'

Drake Successful

Where the Album Went Wrong

  • Production- Noah Sheeib aka '40' should have produced the entire album along with some help from producers Kanye West, Timbaland and Boi-1da. There should have not been a single track in which '40' was not involved in production. The chemistry between '40' and Drake is impeccable. It can heard on tracks like 'The Resistance','Shut it Down', and 'Fireworks.'
  • Features- Has there every been an album where an overdose of star studded features actually produces a classic? The over kill of features is something you'd expect to see on a failing artist's album, not and up and coming rap star. The choice to have a Jay-z feature  and allowing him to own the track baffles me. Drake fails to outshine guest artist one after another ranging from Young Jeezy to Nikki Manaj. A guest artist should enhance your song but not take away from your shine. 'Fancy' and 'Shut it Down' are example of what a feature should do, enhance your song as well complimenting your sound.
  • M.I.A- Trey Songz, Kanye West, Nickelus F, Voyce, Little Brother are all artist we would expect to hear on Drake's debut who are no where to be found.
  • Expectations- Comparing Thank Me Later to So Far Gone is unfair. But then again life is unfair, just ask Nas.
  • Rhymes- Drake sounds tired. Like his rhymes were written in a forced fashion. Lyrics are less memorable then previous projections and rhymes are predictable.
  • Identity Crisis - Drake seems to have forgotten who he is as a person and an artist. This is very clear on 'Miss Me'.
  • Too Much Diversity - Drake blended styles and genres effortless on So Far Gone. Thank Me Later, not so much. This album would be best if there was a consistent sound throughout. Songs sound as if they could be on two completely different albums.

Track Listing with Comments and Ratings


1. Fireworks (feat. Alicia Keys) (Produced by Noah “40″ Shebib)-Now is this the timeless music Drake has been trying to create! 8/10

2. Karaoke (Produced by Francis and the Lights)- This track is too empty. 5/10

3. The Resistance (Produced by 40)- The most honest and heartfelt track on the album. Drake delivers some of his best bars as while as a catchy hook. He revels some of a secret that may shock fans. I wish the entire album sounded like this. 9/10

4. Over (Produced by Boi-1da & Al-Khaaliq)- Arrogant, cocky, braggadocio. It grows on you. 7/10

5. Show Me A Good Time (Produced by Kanye West)- Reminds me of classic Drake plus a bigger ego. 7/10

6. Up All Night (feat. Nicki Minaj) (Produced by Boi-1da)- The most street sounding record. 8/10

7. Fancy (feat. T.I. & Swizz Beatz) (Produced by Swizz Beatz)- T.I. complements Drake well as they rap about women. 8/10

8. Shut It Down (feat. The Dream) (Produced by 40 & Omen)- One of the best records on this album, though a bit long almost 7 minutes of play time. 9.5/10

9. Unforgettable (feat. Young Jeezy) (Produced by 40 & Boi-1da)- "All the girls that played me eat your *** heart out"-Drake- 8.5/10

10. Light Up (feat. Jay-Z) (Produced by 40 & Tone Mason)- Highly disappointed by this track. Jay-z monster it though! 7.7/10

11. Miss Me (feat. Lil Wayne) (Produced by Boi-1da & 40) Catchy! Wish they keep Bun B on the track instead of replacing him with Lil Wayne.

Sounds like a mixtape song. "Drake stands for Do Right And Kill Everything". 6.5/10

12. Cece’s Interlude (Produced by 40)- Does anyone listen to interludes? 4/10

13. Find Your Love (Produced by Kanye West) 5/10

14. Thank Me Now (Produced by Timbaland) Slow flow but it goes well with the beat. 8/10

Drake-Find Your Love


Thank Me Later is a good album, but it is not a great album. Maybe it will grow on me and I'll Thank Drake Later. But as Drake raps "later doesn't always come." Drake is only 23 and still has a lot of maturing to do as a person and an artist. Therefore, he still has time to recapture what "thrill is gone" and captivate an audience listening to his every breathe.

Overall Grade:B-

Worth purchasing June 14, 2010 


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • AgesMGMT profile image

      AgesMGMT 6 years ago from New York

      Thank me later is a great album!

    • Drew Breezzy profile image

      Drew Breezzy 6 years ago from somewhere in my mind

      "I hate calling them women b*tches but the b*tches love it"-DRAKE

    • profile image

      drake fake 7 years ago

      any song consisting of lyrics that call women bicthes should be banned.

    • Drew Breezzy profile image

      Drew Breezzy 7 years ago from somewhere in my mind

      Eminem don't even get me started on him.

    • profile image

      Preacharob 7 years ago from Manchester,UK

      this album seems good and i've heard about six track and I like it, I rate drake coz he is real and hasn't sold out we'll have to wait & see, coz even 2pac sold out at 1 point and realised the errors of his ways same with eminem.

    • Drew Breezzy profile image

      Drew Breezzy 7 years ago from somewhere in my mind

      yep it grows on you

    • profile image

      skak 7 years ago

      LOL Drew does that mean you'll be "thanking him later?"

    • Drew Breezzy profile image

      Drew Breezzy 7 years ago from somewhere in my mind

      Thanks Gabs. The album is growing on me.

    • profile image

      gabbywazhere 7 years ago

      hey love this hub its really great oh and by the way i like drake so maybe thats part of the reason why i like it LOL ;) weell great job!! hope i see more like this