ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Movies & Movie Reviews

WRECK-IT RALPH, Top Gun, and Despicable Me: 3D Releases-Reviews

Updated on October 28, 2014
Four Stars
Four Stars | Source
Three Stars for this Box Office Winner
Three Stars for this Box Office Winner | Source
Dredd could have been much better
Dredd could have been much better | Source

Top Gun

Top Gun

This Tom Cruise film was the #1 box office attraction in 1985. Although it was a hit, it comes across as dated and lacking when compared to the more recent productions that are filled with special effects. The best part of the film is the opening sequence when jets are taking off from a Navy battleship to the beat of the popular “Danger Zone” music. The gawd awful point of the film is Tom Cruse as “Maverick” and his friends singing songs around a piano. None of them can sing the tiniest bit; however this is supposed to have the gals all swooning over the pilots. It is difficult to think much of Maverick as he is irresponsible in all respects however when he shoots up the bad guys in the final scenes all is forgiven. This reissued film is one of the bottom five 3D releases of all time. The 3D is not spectacular at all. ONE AND ONE HALF STARS

WRECK-IT RALPH

WRECK-IT RALPH was released at the box-office on October 29th 2012 and became a hit with audiences and critics alike. The $165 million dollar budget shows in every scene as the settings and the action are first rate. There is something here for all audiences whether it is the eye-popping sets, the loveable characters or the engaging storyline. This could very well be one of the most imaginative animated films of all time.

Candy land will engage the children, while the Alien sci-fi arcade game will appeal to adults. The blend of the various arcade worlds is clever and never ceased to amaze this viewer how well it all came together. There is a racing sequence that compares to the race scene with Luke Skywalker in Star Wars I. In that the final scenes were spectacular and the story line came to a dramatic and heartwarming ending, I must give this FOUR STARS. Plan to view this one many times and enjoy the 3D that could not be more spectacular.

Despicable Me

Here is another top notch animated feature that is sure to entertain any audience. This was produced by Illumination Entertainment located in France. The Despicable character is a Frenchman who is determined to be the top villain in the entire world. He adopts three cute little orphan girls as pawns in a bizarre plot to steal the moon. As you would imagine the children capture his heart and as the curtain comes down he is a changed person because of his love for the children. This film had a $69 million dollar budget and brought in $543 million and was a box office smash. The critics loved it as well. The 3D is excellent as most every animated feature seems to be. It does lack lush settings like "Brave" and the nuances that $100 million dollar budgets can produce. This is much like “Arthur Christmas” where the settings matter much less than the engaging storyline. Three stars are well deserved for this wonderful animated film.


Dredd would have been better with a higher budget

The 3D video year begins with a low budget sci-fi film, “Dredd.” It has been released with the 2D and 3D on one disc. Without a 2D disc to sell off the purchase is expensive for those viewers who like to sell the 2D disc on eBay and recoup the costs. There are a few documentary shorts included and it helps to appreciate the effort that went into the film.

The $45 million dollar film budget resulted in box office receipts of only $36 million. The 1995 film “Judge Dredd” with Sylvester Stallone budgeted at $90 million took in $113 million and was not well received. If we were to compare the two films we could observe that Stallone did a better job in the lead. The higher production values of the earlier film could be one reason to wish this new version had a bigger budget. While the artists worked diligently to produce Mega City as best they could it does fall flat on the first viewing. They do have a few attempts to present a spectacular landscape, but one cannot help but compare the first scene to bigger budgeted Star Wars, Hugo, and others that have spectacular openings. We see a single aircraft flying around the cityscape when there should be a dozen or more.

For those of us who wish to view dynamic 3D, this film falls short in nearly half of the scenes and several scenes appear to be 2D. The 3D is only slightly better than ‘The Lion King” which is the worst use of 3D I have ever witnessed. There is a green tint in nearly every scene that gives the film a cheap appearance. The story is fairly good, although, it could have been better. This should have been a PG movie rather than R as they could very well have earned a profit. The audience is struck with unnecessary vulgarity in the opening scenes and it continues throughout the film. 1 ½ Stars of four is earned for the first 3D release of 2013. If you are a 3D fan and love violent films with no star power, this is for you. If the 3D had been up to par and the green tint not there, this would have earned 2 or 2 1/2 stars.

Read more about last year’s 3D releases and more here. Which films were big money makers in 2012?


Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Reynold Jay profile image
      Author

      Reynold Jay 2 years ago from Saginaw, Michigan

      Thank you DDE for taking time to read a HUb today.

    • DDE profile image

      Devika Primić 2 years ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      I Tweeted! Another interesting read. You have an interesting knowledge on the various topics.

    • Reynold Jay profile image
      Author

      Reynold Jay 3 years ago from Saginaw, Michigan

      Thank you for your comment today. If you need some advice I can easily be hunted u on the internet with Facebook, Twitter and Back Issue Comix.

    • profile image

      David 3 years ago

      I appreciate your kind and gnuorees advice a lot!. I have been trying it hardly and did not get those amazing results!. It is nice to see that you got my comment in a good way!God bless you!VA:F [1.9.10_1130]please wait VA:F [1.9.10_1130](from 0 votes)

    • Reynold Jay profile image
      Author

      Reynold Jay 5 years ago from Saginaw, Michigan

      Thanks for the comment. You won't be missing out on anything to pass it by. I suspect that we may have seen the last of movies with this character as this one lost money. It worked well in the comic book with lots of satire and aside jokes that were not a part of this film.

    • christopheranton profile image

      Christopher Antony Meade 5 years ago from Gillingham Kent. United Kingdom

      Top marks to the review, but the film must be a right "Turkey". I won't be going to see it.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)