ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Elvis/Nixon Film Review

Updated on July 27, 2017

Richard Nixon & Elvis Presley

Film Information

Released: 2016

Running Time: 1 hour 26 mins (approx)

Genre: History, Comedy

Director: Liza Johnson

Producer: Holly Wiersma, Cary Elweis, Cassiah Elweise

Budget: $4 million (approx)

Nominations: 3 (2 wins, 1 nomination)

Spacey & Shannon as Nixon & Presley

Elvis & Richard in the film.
Elvis & Richard in the film. | Source

The main characters

Actor
Character
Kevin Spacey
Richard Nixon
Michael Shannon
Elvis Presley
Alex Pettyfer
Jenny Schilling

How two of the most powerful men in the world meet.

The year is 1970 and the date is 21st December. With Christmas just a few days away, something happened that has gone down in history. The king of Rock 'n' Roll, Elvis Presley, shows up at the gates of the White House asking for an urgent meeting with the 37th President of the United States, President Richard Nixon.

To begin with, Nixon is reluctant to meet Elvis, but eventually agrees to meet him. The reason he wants to meet Nixon is because he wants the Undercover Federal Agent-At-Large badge. Elvis wants to become a Drug Enforcement Agent. Of course, meeting the President of the USA is no easy task. There are people to get through to start with, searches to be done and meetings to arrange. It doesn't matter that you are the most famous entertainer in the world. Jerry Schilling is Elvis' right hand man and had been part of the Memphis Mafia since 1954. He, along with a few other men, accompany Elvis to the White House. There are a few moments, however, when he thinks the meeting will not take place and on a couple of occasions has to deliver bad news to the King when the President initially says no to the meeting.

Of course there is that famous photograph of Nixon and Presley, so we know the meeting took place. But this film depicts the run up to that famous meeting and the reasons behind it.

Elvis and Nixon

My Thoughts

As a fan of Elvis Presley, I was intrigued to see this film. I don't know much about the actor Michael Shannon, who played Elvis. But I do like Kevin Spacey. I think Kevin played a good role as Richard Nixon. He portrayed the President well, and came across on screen as a likeable character. Now, I know that there are thousands of people worldwide that impersonate the King, and it takes very few people to look and sound like Elvis. Although Michael played a good role as the King, I think it's always hard to take on Elvis' little ways of talking and the way he walked and body language. He did, however, play him well and come across well. But I think he took on his mannerisms well.

Elvis was definitely a dominant force to be reckoned with in his circle of friends. They may have thought he was insane to even consider a meeting with the President, but Elvis being Elvis, he wanted this to happen. When he turned up on the lawn with a letter requesting a meeting with the President, people who worked there looked at him like he'd lost the plot. And quite rightly so, anyone would think the same. But this is Elvis Presley for goodness sake, no normal man by all means. Of course, with these being 2 of the most influential and important men on the plant, it does make you wonder how much of the 'real world' we all live in they know. With Elvis having to live in his own cocoon in Graceland, he only knows what he sees on the news. And how he thought he can help with drug law and enforcement is something I find questionable. I don't dispute his intentions were in the right place though.

There are one or two comedic scenes in the film. Before he meets the President, he is being searched and is asked if he has any weapons on him. He replies no, but on being searched they find weapons on him, which of course they have to remove from him. And there is the scene where Elvis is showing Nixon some of his Karate moves. (He loved his Karate.) I found this scene amusing watching Elvis making Nixon slap his hands hard. There are also light hearted moments where, for instance, Elvis is at the airport and the girls go wild when they realise who they are talking to.

Would I recommend this film? Well, I think it's the type of film that will be interesting for those that are interested in this type of film, or is a fan of Elvis. It is a unique and intriguing part of our history. Really, who would show up at The White House asking to see the President? On that note though, it was an enjoyable film to watch and think both Kevin Spacey and Michael Shannon played their parts well.

Official Trailer of Elvis & Nixon

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Claire-louise profile image

      Claire Raymond 

      7 months ago from UK

      Quite a strange thing to me, but Elvis died long before I was born. Seems like it could be a watch (Kevin Spacey aside)

    • shprd74 profile image

      Hari Prasad S 

      12 months ago from Bangalore

      I liked the movie. Thanks for the review which made me watch it. :-)

      - hari

    • Blond Logic profile image

      Mary Wickison 

      13 months ago from Brazil

      Why haven't I heard of this film? I was a big Elvis fan but never knew that meeting took place.

      I can't imagine anyone being so ballsy to go to the White House expecting to see the president.

      Perhaps the hierarchy of the King outranks a President.

      I too like Kevin Spacey and he always delivers a fantastic performance.

      Thanks for the review, I'll check it out.

    • PegCole17 profile image

      Peg Cole 

      16 months ago from Dallas, Texas

      Interesting topic for a movie. As one of those who still remembers the day Nixon resigned, it's difficult to think of him in a comedic role, however, the movie trailer was amusing. I wish they could have picked different actors for the starring roles to make it more authentic. I like Kevin Spacey but I just don't see him as the actor to play Nixon.

    • Glenis Rix profile image

      GlenR 

      17 months ago from UK

      I'm an avid and regular visitor to the cinema but missed this one. It looks hilarious. Loved Elvis and love Kevin Spacey. And is that Tom Jones on the soundtrack? Now need to search web to find a dvd copy. Thanks so much!

    • AudreyHowitt profile image

      Audrey Howitt 

      17 months ago from California

      Well this sounds interesting! I love the actors involved, but have never heard of the movie--

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      17 months ago from USA

      It sounds like a good Netflix movie. I'm glad I read your review. I otherwise may not have considered it.

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      17 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

      I've never heard of this movie, but the plot sounds interesting. Thanks for expanding my knowledge!

    • clivewilliams profile image

      Clive Williams 

      17 months ago from Jamaica

      Elvis wanted to be a CIA...

    • always exploring profile image

      Ruby Jean Richert 

      17 months ago from Southern Illinois

      I watched the trailer, and although Shannon didn't look like Elvis, or Spacy didn't look like Nixon, I would love to see this movie. I love Elvis..Sigh.. A great review. Can you imagine anyone trying to get in the white house today? HaHa..Great review!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)