ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Emily Owens M.D. (The CW) - Series Premiere: Synopsis and Review

Updated on February 21, 2013
Source

‘Emily Owens, M.D.’ is the new medical drama series on The CW. The shows centers around Emily Owens, a first-year intern at Denver Memorial Hospital. Owens is portrayed by Mamie Gummer (‘Off The Map’), whom we all know from her great accomplishment of being Meryl Streep’s daughter. Her high school nemesis Cassandra Kopelson (Aja Naomi King, ‘Four’) and Emily’s med-school crush Will Collins (Justin Hartley, ‘Smallville’) are also first-years.

Emily finished med school and now she starts as an intern at the Denver Memorial Hospital. Emily wanted to work at this particular hospital because her idol, Gina Bandari (Necar Zadegan, ‘24’) works there too. In fact, Bandari is the attending physician. She quickly realizes however, that Bandari isn’t a really nice person. On top of that, Cassandra hasn’t forgotten who Emily is, and Cassandra didn’t plan on being nice this time around. Emily quickly discovers working in a hospital is just like going to high school, and of course Emily is once again the girl who doesn’t fit in.

Emily’s very first patient is a young girl who has fainted during gym class. The case seems straightforward and the girl is about to be discharged. Emily is chit-chatting with the girl about her crush on Will while she finishes up the paperwork. Suddenly the girl experiences heart failure and faints again. Emily (Owens, M.D.) calls out for a doctor, but as one of the nurses rightfully points out, she IS the doctor. Emily finally realizes that she’s the one in charge and that she has to help the girl. Emily is able to save the girl’s life just before Bandari storms in, with the other interns hot on her heels. When Emily leaves the room all the interns tells her she did an amazing job, except of course Cassandra who looks more jealous than pleased.

Later that day Cassandra and Emily have to work together on the same patient. Within 2 seconds they are bickering and they have lost their patient. Not that the woman died, she simply walked out of the room while the girls were arguing. If that isn’t enough drama for a first day, Emily finally decides to tell Will how she feels about him (thank God, otherwise she would have kept whining about it all season). He however, would rather stay friends because he doesn’t feel the same way. Later, Emily catches him flirting with Cassandra. Surprising, right?

‘Emily Owens’ is a medical drama series that basically is a mix between ‘Grey’s Anatomy’ and ‘Mean Girls’. This sounds like it could be a lot of fun, but it really isn’t. Like both Will and Cassandra have pointed out, the hospital is just like high school. Maybe that is why the characters act like they’re 14 years old? Even though they have apparently graduated medical school, I wouldn’t want to be treated by doctors that seem this stupid and childish. Even though they work in a fictional hospital, you have been warned, Denver!

One thing in particular that I really didn’t like about this show was that Emily keeps doing these voice overs. It makes it all so predictable, for example Emily tries to encourage herself in a voice over to talk to Will, saying “Tell him, tell him!”. Of course, she doesn’t tell him how she feels. In my opinion that scene would have been much better without the voice over. It would have been clear that Emily wanted to tell Will she’s in love with him, and it would have been a lot less annoying.

This show is a perfect fit for The CW, it is clearly aimed at girls and young women. However The CW’s girly shows such as ‘Gossip Girl’ and ‘Hart Of Dixie’ have been doing awful in the ratings lately. Perhaps it is time for the network to direct more of their energy towards their fantasy shows, the ones that do get some decent ratings, such as ‘The Vampire Diaries’, ‘Supernatural’ and their newly debuted ‘Arrow’ and ‘Beauty And The Beast’.

What did you think of 'Emily Owens M.D.'?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Bri 

      5 years ago

      So disappointed to see emily Owens be cancelled. Thought it was a great show!

    • Robin Oatley profile imageAUTHOR

      Robin Oatley 

      6 years ago

      Hi angel,

      It's true, if a promo or preview doesn't look like fun there is no way your show gets a high rating. Everything has to be perfect from the beginning or the show's likely to get cancelled. And even when the pilot is great, the next episodes have to deliver what the premiere episode has promised. Awake, for example, had a great premiere but the next few episodes were a little weak. After that, when the main plot was revealed, it was quite amazing, but many people had stopped watching by then.

    • angel4967 profile image

      Cindy Pierre 

      6 years ago from Nevada

      I used to be dedicated to Chicago Hope, ER and daytime General Hospital. Now I really need to be enticed to even give a show a chance. Marketing is everything and as writers we know that if we don't grab people with our first paragraph we chance losing them. It's the same for me with commercials and previews. Your review just sealed the deal for me.

    • Robin Oatley profile imageAUTHOR

      Robin Oatley 

      6 years ago

      Hi Angel,

      If you are really in to this genre you might like the show. Otherwise I think it was the right decision not to watch the show.

    • Robin Oatley profile imageAUTHOR

      Robin Oatley 

      6 years ago

      Hi Rosie,

      I'm glad you liked the show! I do think Mamie and the others did a good job portraying their characters, but I just didn't like the characters. In general this is not a genre I really like anyway.

      Let me know what you think of next week's episode!

    • angel4967 profile image

      Cindy Pierre 

      6 years ago from Nevada

      Thanks Robin. I saw the commercial for it and was immediately turned off. Your review sealed the deal for me. I don't have time to waste on this kind of nonsense. Great hub!

    • Rosie2010 profile image

      Rosie Rose 

      6 years ago from Toronto, Canada

      Hiya Robin, I watched "Emily Owens, M.D." by accident last night. I was flipping through the channels and there it was. I don't even remember what time it was, but I had heard about this new show and I was interested to see Merryl Streep's daughter. So, I watched it. And guess what? I loved it!

      Mamie Gummer did a good job portraying an insecure but talented first year intern. Her character - Dr. Emily Owens - is lovable. I always root for the underdog, and I felt that the other characters were really in to make her life miserable.

      I am going to watch it again next week and see if I still like the show. But for now, I voted "I loved it." Good review. Voted up and definitely useful and interesting. Cheers!

      Have a nice day,

      Rosie

    • Robin Oatley profile imageAUTHOR

      Robin Oatley 

      6 years ago

      Hi Alecia,

      I don't think it will be picked up either. I think it's a bad medical drama and the fact that it's on the CW won't save this show. After all, a network can only have so many bad shows.

    • Alecia Murphy profile image

      Alecia Murphy 

      6 years ago from Wilmington, North Carolina

      It's one thing to be Meryl Streep's daughter and another to be Meryl Streep's daughter who acts. I read the Entertainment Weekly review and the reviewer called it Felicity's Anatomy. Which pretty much sums it up. Not only that but the CW has another doctor show which seems to be along the same lines. It may work since it is the CW but I'm leaning more toward the fact it will get canceled.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)